Is Putin ready to fall into a geopolitical trap?

On January 21, the next, already 25th, meeting of the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin and the Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe will take place. It will certainly touch upon the issue of the disputed islands that belong to Russia. Moscow considers them part of its Kuril ridge, and Tokyo calls it “northern territories” and native Japanese lands.




Shortly before that, on November 14, 2018, representatives of Russia at a meeting in Singapore agreed with Tokyo's proposal to take the 1956 Soviet-Japanese declaration as the basis for further negotiations. Peskov, commenting on this decision, said that Russia would not conduct any automatic transfer of territories. In other words, the transmission will be non-automatic?

Although it is difficult for an ordinary citizen to understand all these subtleties, people understood the very essence of the issue: the country's leadership decided to give away or sell part of the Russian territory abroad. Therefore, in December 2018, protest rallies against the transfer of the South Kuril Islands to Japan were held in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk. They were supported in Moscow and some other regions of the country.

But what is the essence of the 1956 declaration, and how is it related to the distribution of the islands?

Soviet-Japanese declaration of 1956 and its consequences

The document was signed in Moscow. He proclaimed the end of hostilities between the USSR and Japan in World War II, as well as the resumption of cooperation and good neighborly relations. Diplomatic contacts were also restored.

The document also indicated that the USSR refused Japanese reparations, applied for this country to join the UN, freed all Japanese prisoners and sent them to their homeland.

The parties agreed to refuse all territorial and other claims from each other. In addition, the USSR was supposed to return the island of Shikotan and the Habomai Islands to the Japanese immediately after the conclusion of a peace treaty, which they were going to draft immediately after signing the joint declaration.

But then everything went not according to plan. Under US pressure, Japan refused to conclude a peace treaty, as it began to demand the return of not only the territories indicated in the declaration, but also the islands of Kunashir and Iturup.

Then in 1960 there was a chain of events that put an end to the Soviet-Japanese declaration. Moscow hoped that Japan would become a neutral, demilitarized state, but it wasn’t there.

On January 19, 1960, the Japanese sign an Interaction and Security Treaty with the United States, in which they allow Americans to deploy troops and military bases on their territory. A week later, the USSR announced that it would not resume negotiations on the transfer of the Shikotan and Khabomai islands, as American troops could be deployed there, threatening the security of the Soviet Union.

And in February of the same year, a memorandum appeared by the Japanese government stating Tokyo’s intention to get the Soviet Union to transfer not only Shikotan and Habomai, but also other lost territories. It was the last nail in the coffin of the Soviet-Japanese declaration of 1956.

What are Putin and Abe agreeing to

It would seem that the issue of the disputed islands has long been settled, but it seems that everything is just beginning. It should be borne in mind that at the moment, due to some misunderstanding, the Soviet-Japanese declaration of 1956 is still considered a valid document. And although the Japanese side grossly and regularly violates the provisions of the document, making territorial claims, it is she who refers to him in further negotiations. Of course, she is only interested in the clause on the transfer of Habomai and Shikotan.

The most flagrant violation of the declaration can be considered the series of constitutional amendments adopted in 2009 by the Japanese parliament, which clearly indicates the belonging of the South Kuril Islands to Japan. These actions of Tokyo can be considered a return to the Land of the Rising Sun of the spirit of Japanese militarism.

The Russian Foreign Ministry reacted to them in the most severe terms. In his statement, he not only “drew attention”, but also recognized the steps of the Japanese as “inappropriate and unacceptable.” It's almost as tough as “expressing concern.”

Tokyo was so impressed with this “attention” that the upper house of the Japanese parliament immediately ratified the adopted amendments, and unanimously.

And after Japan actually crushed the joint declaration of 1956, she turned to Russia with a proposal to take it as a basis for future negotiations. And a miracle happens - Russia agrees with the Japanese proposal.

If we go along this path, then the next steps will be the signing of a peace treaty with Japan, and then the transfer of the Shikotan and the Habomai Islands to it. For starters, since Tokyo has officially proclaimed a course for the return of all lost territories.

Of course, the absence of a peace treaty with Japan is a big gap that needs to be urgently filled. And then proceed to conclude the remaining peace treaties. For example, with Germany, giving her Kaliningrad. Then with the successors of the Golden Horde, returning to them what they will ask. There is no end to work here.

This begs the question. Does Putin really not understand what kind of geopolitical trap he might fall into, or has he developed a cunning plan? After giving the islands to the Japanese (and that’s all), he will create a very dangerous precedent that could lead to a real catastrophe.

In addition, such a step would be an insult to the memory of the millions who died in World War II, because we are talking about revising its results.

Or maybe it would be more correct for the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation to denounce the joint declaration of 1956 as having lost force due to systematic violations by the Japanese side, moreover, urgently? So Moscow will close this question forever.

And such a decision will not only be beneficial for Russia, but also fully consistent with international legal standards.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 10 January 2019 11: 33
    +5
    What can be negotiations with an occupied country? The United States considers the Russian Federation its strategic adversary, and giving up the islands means giving way to the enemy and losing the war. Return to the negotiations as soon as the last Yankees leave Japan. Not earlier!
  2. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 10 January 2019 11: 45
    +7
    After giving the islands to the Japanese (and everything goes to that)

    What does it mean giving ??? He generally has no right to give anything. Islands what is his property? Did he win their cards? Our grandfathers shed their blood for them. His task is to lead the country for the benefit of the Russians (frankly, he is not very successful yes so far only for the benefit of their friends and oligarchs) If so, then we must hold a referendum on whether the Russians want to give the islands to Japan.
  3. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 10 January 2019 12: 43
    +1
    They wanted to bargain .... It seemed that they entered into a negotiation process, but it turned out (as always) - in ....
  4. Foxmara Offline Foxmara
    Foxmara (Dmitriy) 10 January 2019 14: 52
    +1
    You make incorrect assumptions and from them incorrect conclusions. And to ask and ask a question - why does Japan behave in such a way as to complicate the negotiation process as much as possible? Answer this question and everything will become less confusing. At the same time, it becomes clear whose mill you are pouring water on. )))
  5. businessv Offline businessv
    businessv (Vadim) 10 January 2019 15: 28
    -2
    And such a decision will not only be beneficial for Russia, but also fully consistent with international legal standards.

    Thanks to the author for the article and the topic raised! But it is a little inconsistently stated IMHO, explanations are really needed for us. VVP understands everything perfectly, so yesterday our Foreign Ministry explained everything to the Japanese ambassador in a popular way. Nobody is going to give anything to anyone, this has been said repeatedly and not only by government officials, but still the Japanese "partners" raise dust on this matter. So, someone needs it. Most likely to their curators, whose bases have been on Japanese territory since 1960, which completely crossed out the agreements and the 1956 declaration! Therefore, we are not worried and are waiting for how Abe will do sepuku after the talks on January 21. hi
  6. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) 10 January 2019 18: 54
    +3
    Then let's take back Alaska, the former German Democratic Republic, Ukraine, Moldova, the Baltic States, Finland, everything that was part of the Russian Empire. The United States occupied all of Europe, Japan, the Republic of Korea, and much more, where their military bases are located. The Yankees deliberately set the Japanese, Finns, Poles and Germans, Ukrainians against us, they need a war with Russia, on its own territory, and it will certainly be if Russia does not give our "partners" a mouthful, so much so that they do not know poke your nose into our affairs. Many foreign political scientists wrote that Japan was already going to seize the layer of these disputed islands, but this was prevented by the Fukushima tragedy at the nuclear power plant, so everything is still ahead.
  7. Vladimir Khrebtov (Vladimir Khrebtov) 11 January 2019 06: 56
    +3
    Either skis do not go, or there are a lot of corrupt idiots in the government. Isn't it time to apply high treason law for negotiations on transferring the Kuril Islands? To even stutter about it they were afraid.
    1. Hayer31 Offline Hayer31
      Hayer31 (Kashchei) 11 January 2019 12: 17
      +2
      The Russian Foreign Ministry reacted to them in the most severe terms. In his statement, he not only “drew attention”, but also recognized the steps of the Japanese as “inappropriate and unacceptable.”

      It's almost as tough as “expressing concern”

Путин готов угодить в геополитическую ловушку?

21 января состоится очередная, уже 25-я по счету, встреча Президента РФ Владимира Путина и премьер-министра Японии Синдзо Абэ. На ней обязательно затронут вопрос спорных островов, которые принадлежат России. Москва считает их частью своей Курильской гряды, а Токио называет «северными территориями» и исконно японскими землями.



Незадолго до этого, 14 ноября 2018 года, представители России на встрече в Сингапуре согласились с предложением Токио взять за основу для дальнейших переговоров советско-японскую декларацию от 1956 года. Песков, комментируя это решение, заявил, что никакой автоматической передачи территорий Россия проводить не будет. Другими словами, передача будет неавтоматической?


Хотя обычному гражданину трудно разобраться во всех этих тонкостях, люди поняли самую суть вопроса: руководство страны решило отдать или продать за рубеж часть российской территории. Поэтому в декабре 2018 года в Южно-Сахалинске прошли митинги протеста против передачи Южных Курил Японии. Их поддержали в Москве и некоторых других регионах страны.

Но в чем суть декларации от 1956 года, и как она связана с раздачей островов?

Советско-японская декларация от 1956 года и ее последствия

Документ был подписан в Москве. Он провозглашал окончание военных действий между СССР и Японией во Второй Мировой войне, а также возобновление сотрудничества и добрососедских отношений. Восстанавливались и дипломатические контакты.

В документе также указывалось, что СССР отказывается от японских репараций, ходатайствует о вступлении этой страны в ООН, освобождает всех заключенных-японцев и отправляет их на Родину.

Стороны договорились отказаться от всех территориальных и прочих претензий друг у другу. Кроме того, СССР должен был вернуть японцам остров Шикотан и острова Хабомаи сразу после заключения мирного договора, составлением которого собирались заняться сразу после подписания совместной декларации.

Но дальше все пошло не по плану. Под давлением США Япония отказалась заключать мирный договор, так как начала требовать возврата не только указанных в декларации территорий, но также островов Кунашир и Итуруп.

Затем в 1960 году произошла цепь событий, поставивших крест на советско-японской декларации. Москва рассчитывала, что Япония станет нейтральным, демилитаризованным государством, но не тут то было.

19 января 1960 года японцы подписывают с США Договор о взаимодействии и безопасности, в котором они разрешают американцам размещение войск и военных баз на своей территории. Спустя неделю СССР заявил, что не будет возобновлять переговоры о передаче островов Шикотан и Хабомаи, так как там могут быть размещены американские войска, угрожающие безопасности Советского Союза.

А в феврале того же года появилась памятная записка японского правительства, где заявлялось о намерении Токио добиваться от СССР передачи не только Шикотана и Хабомаи, но и других утерянных территорий. Она стала последним гвоздем в крышку гроба советско-японской декларации от 1956 года.

О чем договариваются Путин и Абэ

Казалось бы, вопрос спорных островов давно исчерпан, но, похоже, все только начинается. Следует учитывать, что на данный момент по какому-то недоразумению советско-японская декларация 1956 года до сих пор считается действующим документом. И хотя японская сторона грубо и регулярно нарушает положения документа, выступая с территориальными претензиями, именно она ссылается на него в дальнейших переговорах. Разумеется, ее интересует только пункт о передаче Хабомаи и Шикотана.

Самым грубым нарушением декларации можно считать принятую в 2009 году японским парламентом серию поправок к конституции, где четко указывается на принадлежность Южных Курил Японии. Эти действия Токио вполне можно считать возвращением в Страну Восходящего Солнца духа японского милитаризма.

МИД РФ отреагировал на них в самых жестких выражениях. В своем заявлении он не только «обратил внимание», но и признал шаги японцев «неуместными и неприемлемыми». Это почти так же жестко, как «выразить озабоченность».

Токио настолько проникся этим «вниманием», что верхняя палата японского парламента незамедлительно ратифицировала принятые поправки, причем единогласно.

И после того, как Япония фактически растоптала совместную декларацию от 1956 года, она обращается к России с предложением взять ее за основу для будущих переговоров. И случается чудо – Россия соглашается с предложением японцев.

Если идти по этому пути, то дальнейшими шагами будут подписание мирного договора с Японией, а затем передача ей Шикотана и островов Хабомаи. Для начала, так как Токио официально провозгласил курс на возврат всех утерянных территорий.

Конечно, отсутствие мирного договора с Японией – это большой пробел, который нужно срочно заполнить. А потом приступить к заключению остальных мирных договоров. Например, с Германией, отдав ей Калининград. Потом с правопреемниками Золотой Орды, вернув им, что попросят. Тут работы – непочатый край.

Отсюда возникает вопрос. Путин, действительно, не понимает, в какой геополитический капкан он может попасть, или у него созрел какой-то хитроумный план? Ведь отдав острова японцам (а к тому все идет), он создаст очень опасный прецедент, который может привести к настоящей катастрофе.

Кроме того, такой шаг станет оскорблением памяти миллионов погибших во Второй мировой войне, ведь речь идет о пересмотре ее результатов.

А, может, правильнее было бы Федеральному собранию РФ денонсировать совместную декларацию 1956 года как утратившую силу из-за систематических нарушений ее японской стороной, причем, срочно? Так Москва закроет этот вопрос навсегда.

И такое решение будет не только выгодным для России, но и полностью соответствующим международным правовым нормам.
Использованы фотографии: https://akcenty.com.ua
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 10 января 2019 11:33
    +5
    • 5
    • 0
    Какие могут быть переговоры с оккупированной страной? США считают РФ своим стратегическим противником, и отдать острова - значит уступить противнику и проиграть войну. К переговорам вернуться, как только последний янки покинет Японию. Не раньше!
  2. Афиноген Онлайн
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 10 января 2019 11:45
    +7
    • 7
    • 0
    Ведь отдав острова японцам (а к тому все идет)

    Что значит отдав ??? Он вообще не имеет никакого права что либо отдавать. Острова что его собственность ? Он что их в карты выиграл ? За них пролили свою кровь наши деды. Его задача руководить страной на благо Россиян (откровенно говоря у него не очень получается yes пока только во благо своих друзей и олигархов) Если уж так, то надо провести референдум, хотят ли Россияне отдать острова Японии.
  3. kriten Офлайн
    kriten (Владимир) 10 января 2019 12:43
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Хотели торгануть....Казалось вступили в процесс переговоров, а оказалось (как всегда) - в ....
  4. Foxmara Офлайн
    Foxmara (Дмитрий) 10 января 2019 14:52
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Вы делаете неверные предположения и из них неверные выводы. А взять и задаться вопросом - почему Япония ведет себя так, чтобы максимально усложнить переговорный процесс? Ответьте на этот вопрос и все станет менее запутанным. Заодно станет понятно на чью мельницу вы льете воду. ))
  5. businessv Офлайн
    businessv (Вадим) 10 января 2019 15:28
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    И такое решение будет не только выгодным для России, но и полностью соответствующим международным правовым нормам.

    Спасибо автору за статью и поднятую тему! Но немного непоследовательно изложено ИМХО, действительно нужны пояснения для нас. ВВП всё прекрасно понимает, поэтому вчера в нашем МИДе японскому послу всё популярно объяснили. Никто никому ничего не собирается отдавать, об этом уже неоднократно и не одним гос служащим было сказано, но всё равно японскими "партнёрами" поднимается пыль по этому поводу. Значит, кому-то это нужно. Скорее всего их кураторам, чьи базы стоят на японской территории с 1960 года, что полностью перечеркнуло договорённости и декларацию 1956! Поэтому не беспокоимся и ждём, как Абэ будет делать сепуку после переговоров 21 января. hi
  6. Валентин Офлайн
    Валентин (Валентин) 10 января 2019 18:54
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Тогда давайте вернём себе Аляску,бывшую ГДР,Украину,Молдавию,Прибалтику,Финляндию,всё,что находилось в составе Российской империи.США оккупировали всю Европу,Японию,Республику Корея,и много чего другого,где стоят их военные базы. Янки специально натравливают японцев, финнов, поляков и немцев, украинцев на нас, им нужна война с Россией, на её же территории, и она обязательно будет, если Россия не даст по зубам нашим "партнёрам", да так, чтобы им было не повадно совать нос в наши дела. О том,что Япония уже собиралась захватить слой эти спорные острова,писали многие зарубежные политологи,но этому помешала фукусимская трагедия на АЭС,так что всё ещё впереди.
  7. Владимир Хребтов (Владимир Хребтов) 11 января 2019 06:56
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    То ли лыжи не едут, то ли в правительстве много продажных идиотов. А не пора применять закон о государственной измене за переговоры о передаче Курил? Чтоб даже заикаться об этом боялись.
    1. Hayer31 Офлайн
      Hayer31 (Mher) 11 января 2019 12:17
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      МИД РФ отреагировал на них в самых жестких выражениях. В своем заявлении он не только «обратил внимание», но и признал шаги японцев «неуместными и неприемлемыми».

      Это почти так же жестко, как «выразить озабоченность»