The sky will be Chinese: big plans for the Comac C919

Not taking into account the Chinese factor in the global aircraft manufacturing market means only one thing: to give it up to competitors.




Third went

The end of the year was remembered by motorists of at least one important news. On December 28, the third flight specimen of the Chinese narrow-body airliner C919 took off for the first time in Shanghai. According to the Business Aviation Portal, the first flight lasted one hour and 38 minutes. As it became known, then the plane was supposed to overtake in the city of Xi'an, in the province of Shaanxi. There it should be used for flutter testing - spontaneous vibration of the wing, tail, or other elements that sometimes lead to the destruction of the structure. They will also check handling and a number of other important characteristics.

Recall that the first flight of the first prototype C919 took place on May 5, 2017, and the second - on September 28, 2017. During this rather long break in the Russian-speaking segment of the Internet, the plane has already been “buried” under loud exclamations about the prospects of its direct competitor, the Russian narrow-body MS-21. Which, like the Chinese "colleague" is the main hope of the aircraft industry. Only already Russian.



It is worth recalling that the MS-21, like the C919, so far only exists in triplicate. However, only two cars were in the air, although the first flight of the third car should be expected soon. In general, as far as one can judge, there are not so many complaints about the characteristics of the C919 and MS-21. Well, or at least they are not critical and are more suitable for the category of “childhood diseases” that cannot be avoided. This is important: in this case, the aircraft structure does not have to be redone and tested again. Recall that the C919 will be the largest serial airliner designed and built in China. In the C919-High Density variant, it can accommodate more than 170 passengers. The maximum flight range of the C919-All ECO modification should be 5555 kilometers, and the declared cruising flight speed is 834 kilometers per hour. In general, as we see, the characteristics of the aircraft fully comply with the requirements for this category of winged vehicles. But possible problems may lie in wait for the aircraft not in terms of technical characteristics, but in the plane of its advancement in the world aircraft market. And more on that later.


We shared an orange

If we talk about aircraft manufacturing, the first thing you need to know is that we live in an era of global competition between Airbus and Boeing. The numbers sound very impressive: from 2005 to 2016, Airbus received 11830 orders and delivered 6456 aircraft. At the same time, Boeing received 11024 orders and delivered 6406 winged vehicles. A very close fight, I must admit. And dangerous for both companies if something goes wrong. The remaining manufacturers, as you might guess, until they even try to "squeeze" between the giants.

From time to time, the Brazilian Embraer makes one speak about itself: by the way, a fairly demanded brand in the world market. Yes, only its independence is already relative. Recall, December 17, Embraer and Boeing agreed on the terms of the transaction on the creation of a joint venture. According to her, 80% of the shares of the joint venture will belong to Boeing, and 20% - to Embraer. Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaru even expressed concern about the possible loss of the national aircraft industry - one of the main pride of the Latin American country.

What do we see in the Chinese C919? On the one hand, the numbers are simply remarkable: as of the end of 2017, COMAC already had a portfolio of orders for 787 promising aircraft. This is a lot, despite the fact that competitors include such “monsters” as the Airbus A320 and Boeing 737, or rather, their latest modifications. For comparison, by the spring of last year, the Russian airliner MS-21 could boast of solid contracts for only 185 cars, which is infinitely far from the project's self-sufficiency.

What is the Chinese secret? Perhaps - at a fantastically low compared to analogues, the announced price of the aircraft at $ 50 million (the new A320 and Boeing 737 may cost more than 100 million per unit). But the real reason is seen in another. Almost all COMAC C919 customers are Chinese airlines. In other words, in the case of the new machine, there is a protectionism similar to that which we see in the Russian aircraft industry. However, it cannot be considered useless. After all, the Chinese air transportation market is so large that COMAC may have to produce more than one thousand new aircraft. In this case, the project can no longer be considered meaningless: it will give the Chinese both profit and extensive experience in designing new machines, and knowledge in promoting markets.


By the way, capturing foreign markets is task number two. It is complex, but not impossible for the Chinese. Even if the price of the aircraft rises from the said amount from $ 50 million (frankly, dubious) to 70-80, it must be assumed that the machine has every chance of finding its customers. They, for example, can become the so-called third world countries. Recall that now China is rapidly gaining ground on the African continent. Thus, according to unconfirmed reports, already three-quarters of African countries use Chinese weapons. The reason for such popularity of the developments of the Middle Kingdom is seen as political factor (the influence of the PRC on African elites is growing), and purely economic (Chinese weapons are cheaper than western ones).

The only thing that can become a real problem on the way to gaining the S919 share of the world market is its operation. Roughly speaking, an airliner can be cheaper than its competitors, but more complicated and more expensive to maintain. It is important to say that it is useless to sell an airplane as such. It is also necessary to draw up transactions that will provide everything necessary for its operation for many years or even decades. Otherwise, for example, if there are no necessary details, air carriers will have to resort to a terrible phenomenon for them, which is called "cannibalization of the fleet."

This is a loss of time, money and even prestige: both for the carrier and for the manufacturer of winged cars. For example: not so long ago, the Mexican company Interjet launched four SSJ-100s for spare parts for other aircraft. According to Interjet CEO Jose Louis Garza, there were problems with the maintenance of the SSJ-100: lack of parts and very long delivery times for aircraft parts. Needless to say, the prestige of Sukhoi Civil Aircraft JSC did not increase after that. And given the previous difficulties, the project cannot be called a failure otherwise.


To avoid this kind of problems, you need to invest billions of dollars in creating a branched infrastructure literally around the world. It must be assumed that in China they understand this and will do everything possible to ensure that customers are satisfied with the new product. The Chinese are born entrepreneurs who manage to enter almost any market.
Author:
Photos used: https://twimg.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 10 January 2019 09: 30
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Our government must be sent for an internship in China!
    1. faiver Offline
      faiver (Andrei) 25 January 2019 19: 31
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      laughing I’m afraid they won’t go - there they’ll shoot for theft laughing

Небо будет китайским: большие планы на Comac C919

Не учитывать китайский фактор на мировом рынке авиастроения означает только одно: уступить его конкурентам.





Третий пошел

Конец года запомнился автолюбителям, как минимум, одной важной новостью. 28 декабря в Шанхае впервые взлетел в небо третий летный экземпляр китайского узкофюзеляжного авиалайнера С919. Как сообщил Деловой авиационный портал, первый полет продлился один час и 38 минут. Как стало известно, затем самолет должны были перегнать в город Сиань, что в провинция Шэньси. Там его должны задействовать для испытаний на флаттер — самопроизвольно появляющиеся вибрации крыла, хвостового оперения или других элементов, которые иногда ведут к разрушению конструкции. Проверят также управляемость и целый ряд других важных характеристик.

Напомним, что первый полет первого прототипа С919 состоялся 5 мая 2017 года, а второй — 28 сентября 2017 года. За время этого довольно долгого перерыва в русскоязычном сегменте Интернета самолет уже успели «похоронить» под громогласные возгласы про перспективы его прямого конкурента — российского узкофюзеляжного МС-21. Который, подобно китайскому «коллеге» является главной надеждой авиастроения. Только уже российского.



Здесь стоит напомнить, что МС-21, как и С919, пока существует только в трех экземплярах. Однако в воздухе побывали лишь две машины, хотя первый полет третьей машины стоит вскоре ожидать. В целом, насколько можно судить, претензий к характеристикам С919 и МС-21 не так много. Ну, или, по крайней мере, они не критичны и больше подходят под разряд «детских болезней», которых избежать нельзя. Это важно: в таком случае конструкции самолетов не придется переделывать и испытывать вновь. Напомним, что С919 будет крупнейшим серийным авиалайнером, спроектированным и построенным в Китае. В варианте C919-High Density он сможет вмещать более 170 пассажиров. Максимальная дальность полета модификации C919-All ECO должна составлять 5555 километров, а заявленная крейсерская скорость полета равна 834 километрам в час. В целом, как мы видим, характеристики самолета вполне соответствуют требованиям к данной категории крылатых машин. Но возможные проблемы могут подстерегать самолет не в плане технических характеристик, а в плоскости его продвижения на мировом рынке авиастроения. И об этом далее.


Мы делили апельсин

Если говорить об авиастроении, то первое, что нужно знать — то, что мы живем в эпоху глобальной конкуренции Airbus и Boeing. Цифры звучат очень внушительно: за период с 2005 по 2016 годы Airbus получил 11830 заказов и поставил 6456 самолетов. В то же время Boeing получил 11024 заказов и поставил 6406 крылатых машин. Очень тесная борьба, нужно признать. И опасная для обеих компаний, если что-то пойдет не так. Остальные производители, как несложно догадаться, пока даже не пытаются «втиснуться» между гигантами.

Периодически заставляет о себе говорить бразильский Embraer: кстати, довольно востребованная марка на мировом рынке. Да вот только ее независимость уже относительна. Напомним, 17 декабря Embraer и Boeing согласовали условия сделки о создании совместного предприятия. Согласно ей, 80% акций СП будут принадлежать Boeing, а 20% — Embraer. Президент Бразилии Жаир Болсонару даже выразил опасение по поводу возможной потери национального авиастроения — одной из главных гордостей латиноамериканской страны.

Что же мы видим на примере китайского C919? С одной стороны, цифры просто замечательны: еще по состоянию на конец 2017 года компания COMAC уже имела портфель заказов на 787 перспективных самолетов. Это очень много, при том, что в числе конкурентов такие «монстры» как Airbus A320 и Boeing 737, а вернее — их новейшие модификации. Для сравнения, к весне прошлого года российский лайнер МС-21 мог похвастаться твердыми контрактами только на 185 машин, что бесконечно далеко до самоокупаемости проекта.

В чем же китайский секрет? Возможно — в фантастически низкой на фоне аналогов озвученой цене самолета в 50 миллионов долларов (новые A320 и Boeing 737 могут стоить более 100 миллионов за единицу). Но настоящая причина видится в другом. Почти все заказчики COMAC C919 — китайские авиакомпании. Иными словами, в случае с новой машиной имеет место протекционизм, похожий на тот, который мы видим в российском авиастроении. Однако его нельзя считать бесполезным. Ведь китайский рынок авиаперевозок настолько большой, что COMAC-у, возможно, придется произвести более одной тысячи новых самолетов. В этом случае проект уже нельзя считать бессмысленным: он даст китайцам и прибыль, и большой опыт проектирования новых машин, и знания в деле продвижения на рынках.


К слову, захват внешних рынков — задача номер два. Она сложная, но не невозможная для китайцев. Даже если цена самолета вырастет с названной суммы с 50 миллионов долларов (честно говоря, сомнительной) до 70-80, нужно полагать, машина имеет все шансы найти своих заказчиков. Ими, например, могут стать так называемые страны третьего мира. Напомним, что сейчас Китай стремительно укрепляется на африканском континенте. Так, по неподтвержденным данным, уже три четверти стран Африки используют китайское оружие. Причиной такой популярности разработок Поднебесной видится как политический фактор (растет влияние КНР на африканские элиты), так и чисто экономический (китайской оружие дешевле западного).

Единственное, что может стать реальной проблемой на пути к завоеванию С919 доли мирового рынка — его эксплуатация. Грубо говоря, авиалайнер может быть дешевле своих конкурентов, но сложней и дороже в обслуживании. Важно сказать, что бесполезно продавать самолет, как таковой. Нужно также оформить сделки, которые обеспечат все необходимое для его эксплуатации на протяжении долгих лет или даже десятилетий. В противном случае, например, если не будут нужных деталей, авиаперевозчикам придется прибегнуть к страшному для них явлению, которое называется «каннибализация флота».

Это потеря времени, денег и даже престижа: причем как для перевозчика, так и для производителя крылатых машин. Для примера: не так давно мексиканская компания Interjet пустила четыре SSJ-100 на запчасти для других самолетов. По словам гендиректоро Interjet Хосе Луи Гарсы, имели место проблемы с техобслуживанием SSJ-100: нехватка деталей и очень продолжительные сроки поставки запчастей для самолетов. Стоит ли говорить, что престиж АО «Гражданские самолеты Сухого» после этого не вырос. А с учетом прежних трудностей проект иначе как провалом назвать нельзя.


Чтобы избежать проблем такого рода, нужно вкладывать миллиарды долларов в создание разветвленной инфраструктуры буквально по всему миру. Нужно полагать, в Китае это понимают и сделают все возможное, чтобы заказчики остались довольны новым изделием. Китайцы — прирожденные предприниматели, которым удается выйти почти на любые рынки.
Использованы фотографии: https://twimg.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 10 января 2019 09:30
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Наше правительство надо отправить на стажировку в Китай!
    1. faiver Офлайн
      faiver (Андрей) 25 января 2019 19:31
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      laughing , боюсь они не поедут - там за воровство расстреливают laughing