Why Germany refuses to pay Greece 300 billion euros of compensation

On January 10, 2019, the two-day visit of German Chancellor Angela Merkel to Greece began. On the same day in Athens, she held talks with Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras.




The next day, January 11, 2019, Angela Merkel met with the President of Greece Prokopis Pavlopoulos in his palace. There, the Greek president said that his country intends to resolve the issue of reparations and other compensations following the Second World War through the courts.

We believe that Greek claims are legally valid and can be collected through the courts. This issue can be settled in international courts.

- said Pavlopoulos.

The thing is that Athens estimates its losses from the German occupation of 1941-1944, including damage from a loan forcibly taken by the Germans - in the amount of 278 to 340 billion euros (according to the Treasury of Greece). At the same time, Angela Merkel, during the mentioned negotiations, although she recognized the moral responsibility for the crimes of the Nazis, she completely ignored the demand of Greece to pay damages and return the so-called "occupation" loan. She pretended that she simply did not hear these requirements, and therefore did not begin to talk about the material side of the issue.

We are responsible and acknowledge the crimes of the National Socialists. We support Greece for the benefit of two countries

- she emphasized.

It must be clarified that Berlin considers the issue of military reparations and any compensation for damage caused by the Nazis during the Second World War a long-closed and settled case. This was reminded to the world community, on the eve of the chancellor’s visit to Athens, the deputy official representative of the German government, Martin Fitz. She said that constantly arising demands of various "beggars" are useless - this issue is closed "finally legally and politically."

Moreover, Berlin rejects all the demands of Athens. German officials claim that their country has already fulfilled its obligations by paying 115 million marks back in the 1960s. And it was serious money at that time.
  • Photos used: http://www.makeleio.gr/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Eduard Aplombov Offline Eduard Aplombov
    Eduard Aplombov (Eduard Aplombov) 11 January 2019 17: 35
    +2
    I did not understand why some German beggars raise the question of returning a culture of values ​​from Russia to Germany, if the issue is closed. I lost my maternal grandfather in the first months of the war, millions of compatriots were killed, tortured, and no one wondered among our authorities: why the Germans, whom we allowed to reunite, do not bring material compensation to Russia and its people?
    1. Hayer31 Online Hayer31
      Hayer31 (Kashchei) 11 January 2019 20: 29
      0
      Nu esli rukavodstvo raspradaet ostrava na dalnom vastoke, No i tcennosti toje logichno peredat prejnim xazyaevam, za konkretnie koneshno garantiii, chto ixnie deti mogut jit s milionami na shitax v Germany.

Почему Германия отказывается платить Греции 300 миллиардов евро компенсации

10 января 2019 года начался двухдневный визит канцлера Германии Ангелы Меркель в Грецию. В тот же день в Афинах она провела переговоры с премьер-министром Греции Алексисом Ципрасом.



На следующий день, 11 января 2019 года, состоялась встреча Ангелы Меркель с президентом Греции Прокописом Павлопулосом в его дворце. Там президент Греции заявил, что его страна намерена через суды решать вопрос о репарациях и прочих компенсациях по итогам Второй Мировой войны.


Мы считаем, что греческие претензии юридически действуют и могут быть взысканы через суд. Этот вопрос может быть урегулирован в международных судах

- заявил Павлопулос.

Все дело в том, что Афины оценивают свои потери от немецкой оккупации 1941-1944 годов, включая ущерб от принудительно взятого немцами займа - в сумму от 278 до 340 миллиардов евро (по данным казначейства Греции). При этом Ангела Меркель, в ходе упомянутых переговоров, хоть и признала моральную ответственность за преступления нацистов, однако полностью проигнорировала требование Греции возместить ущерб и вернуть так называемый «оккупационный» заем. Она сделала вид, что просто не услышала этих требований, поэтому и не стала говорить о материальной стороне вопроса.

Мы несем ответственность и признаем преступления национал-социалистов. Мы поддерживаем Грецию на благо двух стран

- подчеркнула она.

Нужно уточнить, что Берлин считает вопрос военных репараций и любых компенсаций за ущерб причиненный нацистами во время Второй Мировой войны давно закрытым и решенным делом. Об этом напомнила мировой общественности, накануне визита канцлера в Афины, заместитель официального представителя правительства Германии Мартина Фиц. Она сообщила, что постоянно возникающие требования различных «попрошаек» бесполезны – этот вопрос закрыт «окончательно юридически и политически».

Более того, Берлин отвергает все требования Афин. Немецкие чиновники утверждают, что их страна уже выполнила свои обязательства, выплатив 115 миллионов марок еще в далеком 1960 году. И это были серьезные деньги в то время.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.makeleio.gr/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Эдуард Апломбов (Эдуард Апломбов) 11 января 2019 17:35
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    я не понял ,а почему какие-то немецкие попрошайки поднимают вопрос о возвращении культуры ценностей из россии в германию, если вопрос закрыт. у меня пропал дед по материнской линии в первых месяцах войны у миллионов соотечественников убиты, замучаны, и никто не задался вопросом среди нашей власти: а почему немцы, которым мы разрешили воссоединиться, не несут материальных возмещений россии и ее народу?
    1. Hayer31 Офлайн
      Hayer31 (Mher) 11 января 2019 20:29
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Nu esli rukavodstvo raspradaet ostrava na dalnom vastoke , No i tcennosti toje logichno peredat prejnim xazyaevam , za konkretnie koneshno garantiii, chto ixnie deti mogut jit s milionami na shitax v Germany.