Is the US ready to lose its fleet in the Arctic?

The dominance of American military power is undeniable. Everywhere, except for one region, which unexpectedly for the United States was again incredibly important in strategic importance. It is, of course, about the Arctic.




During the Cold War, the Arctic was a place of active confrontation between the USSR and the United States, as the shortest distance for the flight of strategic bombers and intercontinental ballistic missiles passed through the Far North. In the nineties, the Russian authorities abandoned the Arctic military infrastructure, leaving airfields, radar stations and a navigation system to freeze and collapse. The Americans wrote off Russia and divided the Arctic into zones of responsibility between their allies: the Danes, Norwegians, Canadians, and the British, believing that they could come back at any time.

But since then, much has changed. It turned out that due to the melting of the ice, the Northern Sea Route has every chance to make real competition to the Suez Canal. Thanks to the advent of modern of technologies huge reserves of hydrocarbons in the Arctic shelf became available for development. And after the Crimean Spring, US relations with the Russian Federation again returned to the state of the Cold War. And then it turned out extremely unpleasant moments for the Pentagon.

At first, Russia was able to preserve its unique icebreaker fleet, which is a happy exception to the general attitude to the Soviet legacy. Perhaps this is due to the fact that our oligarchs needed icebreakers for the development and subsequent transportation of hydrocarbons in the Far North. At present, oil and gas companies in Russia are actively interested in building new icebreakers and ice-class tankers. Leader-class icebreakers will be able to navigate ships through the NSR even in winter. Therefore, we can say that in this matter the interests of large business coincided with the national interests of the state.

In addition, it is worth mentioning the development in our country of combat icebreakers of Project 23550, equipped with artillery systems and Caliber cruise missiles, as well as a fire control radar. It is assumed that the first such vessel called "Ivan Papanin" can be launched in 2021.

Secondly, it turned out that the US Navy is not corny adapted to warfare in the Far North. Aircraft carriers, frigates and destroyers of the US Navy are good, but without an icebreaker they simply won’t get into the Arctic. Washington currently has only two outdated icebreakers, which regularly break due to a high degree of wear. The construction of new ones is planned, but it may take ten years.

Due to the lack of steam installations for cleaning ships from ice, American sailors will have to manually repel ice from all metal surfaces. And it’s scary to think what will happen to the US carrier strike group in the Arctic if for some reason it loses an icebreaker escort. It literally freezes into ice, and the Pentagon will have to ask these Russians to help release the fleet before the hummocks damage the aircraft carrier.

However, the United States could not but declare its claims to the Arctic. According to the head of the US Navy, Spencer, “the situation is under control”:

Yes, the concept is to head there.


True, the "Arctic campaign" of the United States will somewhat resemble the "Kerch breakthrough" of the Navy. The Americans are ready to risk a warship by sending it to the Arctic. One ship.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 14 January 2019 09: 42
    +5
    In the nineties, the Russian authorities abandoned the Arctic military infrastructure, leaving airfields, radar stations and a navigation system to freeze and collapse.

    "Thank you" to the liberals who ruled the country in the 90s. But now they are the main opponents and critics of Putin. Who rakes the Augean stables after the EBN gang.

    Perhaps this is due to the fact that our oligarchs needed icebreakers for the development and subsequent transportation of hydrocarbons in the Far North

    And for the sake of this stupid phrase had to write a generally quite patriotic article?
  2. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 14 January 2019 10: 25
    -1
    Quote: gorbunov.vladisl
    And for the sake of this stupid phrase had to write a generally quite patriotic article?

    Do you judge what is stupid?
  3. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 14 January 2019 10: 29
    0
    Quote: gorbunov.vladisl
    And for the sake of this stupid phrase had to write a generally quite patriotic article?

    The trouble with people like you is that you don’t know how to distinguish between patriotism and cheer-patriotism.
  4. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 14 January 2019 10: 34
    +3
    Quote: gorbunov.vladisl
    "Thank you" to the liberals who ruled the country in the 90s. But now they are the main opponents and critics of Putin. Who rakes the Augean stables after the EBN gang.

    You know, enemies - primarily abroad, but also some enemies inside Russia - believe that Putin is rather a conservative and a statesman who is alien to the word "freedom". But Putin is an absolute liberal by nature, and much more liberal than the so-called liberals who call themselves the "opposition," Peskov said in an interview with Mir TV. According to him, the president is "absolutely liberal in his economic approaches, social policy and so on.

    https://rg.ru/2016/12/21/peskov-putin-gorazdo-bolshij-liberal-nezheli-nazyvnye-liberaly.html

    Gang EBNA?
    Is this Yeltsin’s son-in-law Yumashev, who is Putin’s adviser to this day? Or son-in-law of Yumashev Deripaska, who is a court oligarch?
    did you write something about stupid phrases there?
    1. skaychat Offline skaychat
      skaychat (Andrey Sokolovsky) 14 January 2019 11: 12
      +5
      Putin got what he got. And he acts according to the situation. True, it’s not clear, and here, since Russia had kept its atomic and diesel icebreaker fleet before him? Don’t put bagels and meat in one basket ... And the article is essentially correct.
    2. businessv Offline businessv
      businessv (Vadim) 14 January 2019 16: 55
      +3
      Quote: UralRep
      Gang EBNA?
      Is this Yeltsin’s son-in-law Yumashev, who is Putin’s adviser to this day? Or son-in-law of Yumashev Deripaska, who is a court oligarch?

      I see no contradictions in what you and your opponent, colleague, wrote! If the country was plundered and sold by people who are not in power now, but with the help of the individuals you have designated, then who are they? The gang is! And the fact that they are still at the "court" could be one of the conditions for the continuity of the GDP, right? hi
    3. businessv Offline businessv
      businessv (Vadim) 14 January 2019 16: 58
      +4
      Quote: UralRep
      But Putin is an absolute liberal by nature, and a much larger liberal than call liberals,

      Who can argue with that? Yes, he is a liberal, but he is also a patriot, which also cannot be argued with, because otherwise our precious "partners" would not have snapped at him. smile
    4. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 14 January 2019 17: 32
      +2
      This is Yeltsin’s son-in-law Yumashev, who to this day is Putin’s adviser ...

      And what is the dirt? Yeltsin's son-in-law is responsible for the fact that his father-in-law is a scoundrel and drunk who has pissed off everything that is possible? So why can't he be an advisor to the president, "smart" you are ours?
  5. businessv Offline businessv
    businessv (Vadim) 14 January 2019 17: 15
    +1
    Thanks to Sergey for the article, plus I enjoyed it! good
  6. Georgievic Offline Georgievic
    Georgievic (Georgievic) 14 January 2019 21: 38
    0
    Who shared what? Who claims what, documented. Media is not counted.
  7. bratchanin3 Offline bratchanin3
    bratchanin3 (Gennady) 15 January 2019 08: 58
    +2
    If an American warship enters our Arctic waters, then do not drown it. If you forbid calling at our northern ports, it will freeze in the ice, at least the Russians should try to make this happen.
  8. pafegosoff Offline pafegosoff
    pafegosoff (Arkhip Pafegosov) 15 January 2019 14: 44
    +1
    Well, the Arctic, the Arctic is discord. Norway, Iceland - quite tolerable rare ice. And it seems already - the Arctic Ocean. Here off the coast of Canada from the north - stress.

Готовы ли США потерять свой флот в Арктике?

Доминирование американской военной мощи неоспоримо. Везде, кроме одного региона, который неожиданно для США оказался вновь невероятно важным в стратегическом значении. Речь идет, разумеется, об Арктике.





Во времена «Холодной войны» Арктика была местом активного противостояния СССР и Соединенных Штатов, поскольку через Крайний Север проходила кратчайшая дистанция для полета стратегических бомбардировщиков и межконтинентальных баллистических ракет. В девяностые годы российские власти бросили арктическую военную инфраструктуру, оставив промерзать и разрушаться аэродромы, РЛС и систему навигации. Американцы списали Россию со счетов и поделили Арктику на зоны ответственности между своими союзниками: датчанами, норвежцами, канадцами, англичанами, полагая, что в любой момент могут вернуться обратно.

Но с тех пор многое изменилось. Оказалось, что из-за таяния льдов Северный морской путь имеет все шансы составить реальную конкуренцию Суэцкому каналу. Благодаря появлению современных технологий стали доступны для разработки огромные запасы углеводородов в арктическом шельфе. А после «Крымской весны» отношения США с Российской Федерации вновь вернулись к состоянию «Холодной войны». И тут выяснились крайне неприятные для Пентагона моменты.

Во-первых, Россия смогла сохранить свой уникальный ледокольный флот, что является счастливым исключением из общего отношения к советскому наследству. Возможно, это связано с тем, что ледоколы понадобились нашим олигархам для разработки и последующей транспортировки углеводородов в условиях Крайнего Севера. В настоящее время в России нефтяные и газовые компании проявляют активный интерес к строительству новых ледоколов и танкеров ледового класса. Ледоколы класса «Лидер» смогут проводить суда через СМП даже в зимнее время. Поэтому можно говорить о том, что в данном вопросе интересы крупного бизнеса совпали с национальными интересами государства.

Кроме того, стоит упомянуть про разработку в нашей стране боевых ледоколов проекта 23550, оснащенных артиллерийскими установками и крылатыми ракетами «Калибр», а также радаром управления огнем. Предполагается, что первое такое судно под названием «Иван Папанин» может быть спущено на воду в 2021 году.

Во-вторых, оказалось, что американский военно-морской флот банально не приспособлен к ведению боевых действий в условиях Крайнего Севера. Авианосцы, фрегаты и эсминцы ВМС США хороши, но без ледокола они просто не пройдут в Арктику. Вашингтон в настоящий момент располагает всего двумя устаревшими ледоколами, которые регулярно ломаются из-за высокой степени износа. Строительство новых запланировано, но оно может занять лет десять.

Из-за отсутствия паровых установок для очистки судов ото льда, американским морякам придется вручную отбивать лед от всех металлических поверхностей. И страшно подумать, что будет с авианосной ударной группой США в Арктике, если она по какой-то причине потеряет ледокол сопровождения. Она буквально вмерзнет в лед, и Пентагону придется просить этих русских помочь с высвобождением флота, пока торосы не повредили авианосец.

Тем не менее, США не могли не заявить о своих претензиях на Арктику. По словам главы ВМС США Спенсера, «ситуация под контролем»:

Да, концепция состоит в том, чтобы направиться туда.


Правда, «арктический поход» США будет в чем-то напоминать «керченский прорыв» ВМСУ. Американцы готовы рискнуть военным кораблем, отправив его в Арктику. Одним кораблем.
Использованы фотографии: https://pinimg.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

12 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн
    gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 14 января 2019 09:42
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    В девяностые годы российские власти бросили арктическую военную инфраструктуру, оставив промерзать и разрушаться аэродромы, РЛС и систему навигации.

    "Спасибо" либералам правившим страной в 90-е. Зато теперь они главные оппоненты и критики Путина. Который разгребает авгиевы конюшни после банды ЕБНа.

    Возможно, это связано с тем, что ледоколы понадобились нашим олигархам для разработки и последующей транспортировки углеводородов в условиях Крайнего Севера

    И ради этой глупой фразы пришлось писать в общем достаточно патриотичную статью?
  2. Маржецкий Онлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 14 января 2019 10:25
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Цитата: gorbunov.vladisl
    И ради этой глупой фразы пришлось писать в общем достаточно патриотичную статью?

    Вам ли судить о том, что есть глупо?
  3. Маржецкий Онлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 14 января 2019 10:29
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Цитата: gorbunov.vladisl
    И ради этой глупой фразы пришлось писать в общем достаточно патриотичную статью?

    Беда подобных вам в том, что вы не умеете различать патриотичность и ура-патриотичность.
  4. Маржецкий Онлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 14 января 2019 10:34
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Цитата: gorbunov.vladisl
    "Спасибо" либералам правившим страной в 90-е. Зато теперь они главные оппоненты и критики Путина. Который разгребает авгиевы конюшни после банды ЕБНа.

    Вы знаете, недруги - в первую очередь за рубежом, но и некоторые недруги внутри России - считают, что Путин, скорее, консерватор и такой государственник, которому чуждо слово "свобода". Но Путин абсолютный либерал по своей натуре, и гораздо больший либерал, нежели назывные либералы, которые именуют себя "оппозицией", - сказал Песков в интервью телеканалу "Мир". По его словам, президент "абсолютно либерален в своих экономических подходах, социальной политике и так далее.

    https://rg.ru/2016/12/21/peskov-putin-gorazdo-bolshij-liberal-nezheli-nazyvnye-liberaly.html

    Банда ЕБНА?
    Это зять Ельцина Юмашев, который по сей день является советником Путина? Или зять Юмашева Дерипаска, который является придворным олигархом?
    вы что-то там про глупые фразы писали?
    1. skaychat Офлайн
      skaychat (Андрей Соколовский) 14 января 2019 11:12
      +5
      • 5
      • 0
      Путину досталось то, что досталось. И действует он сообразно ситуации. Правда, не понятно, причем тут он, раз Россия и до него сохранила свой атомный и дизельный ледокольный флот? Не надо класть в одну корзину бублики и мясо... А статья по сути правильная.
    2. businessv Офлайн
      businessv (Вадим) 14 января 2019 16:55
      +3
      • 3
      • 0
      Цитата: УралРеп
      Банда ЕБНА?
      Это зять Ельцина Юмашев, который по сей день является советником Путина? Или зять Юмашева Дерипаска, который является придворным олигархом?

      Не вижу противоречий в том, что написали Вы и Ваш оппонент, коллега! Если страну разграбили и распродали люди, которых сейчас нет во власти, но при помощи означенных Вами личностей, то кто они? Банда и есть! А то, что они до сих пор при "дворе", то это могло быть одним из условий преемственности ВВП, верно? hi
    3. businessv Офлайн
      businessv (Вадим) 14 января 2019 16:58
      +4
      • 4
      • 0
      Цитата: УралРеп
      Но Путин абсолютный либерал по своей натуре, и гораздо больший либерал, нежели назывные либералы,

      Кто с этим может спорить? Да, он либерал, но от также и патриот, с чем также не поспоришь, ведь противном случае на него не окрысились бы наши драгоценные "партнёры". smile
    4. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн
      gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 14 января 2019 17:32
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Это зять Ельцина Юмашев, который по сей день является советником Путина...

      И в чём компромат? Зять Ельцина ответственен за то, что его тесть негодяй и алкаш просравший всё, что можно? Так почему он не может быть советником президента, "умный" вы наш?
  5. businessv Офлайн
    businessv (Вадим) 14 января 2019 17:15
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сергею спасибо за статью, плюсанул с удовольствием! good
  6. Georgievic Офлайн
    Georgievic (Georgievic) 14 января 2019 21:38
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Кто что поделил? Кто на что претендует, документально. СМИ не в учёт.
  7. bratchanin3 Офлайн
    bratchanin3 (Геннадий) 15 января 2019 08:58
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Если военный корабль американцев войдёт в наши арктические воды, то не топить же его. Если запретить заход в наши северные порты, то он замёрзнет во льдах, по крайней мере русские должны постараться, что бы это случилось.
  8. pafegosoff Офлайн
    pafegosoff (Архип Пафегосов) 15 января 2019 14:44
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ну, Арктика Арктике - Рознь. Норвегия, Исландия - вполне терпимый редкий лёд. А вроде уже - Северный Ледовитый Океан. Вот у берегов Канады с севера - напряжёнка.