US is preparing a thermonuclear breakthrough

It is difficult to overestimate the benefits that the energy of the processes occurring inside the stars, which are based on thermonuclear fusion, could bring to mankind, and according to the physicists at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), this may soon cease to be fantastic. MIT scientists, together with Commonwealth Fusion Systems, have announced that they are ready to build a fusion reactor within 15 years.




In the 20th century, mankind was able to curb the energy of nuclear fission, in which the atomic nucleus is divided into two nuclei with close masses, which is accompanied by the release of energy. Nuclear fusion is the reverse process, consisting in the fusion of heavier atomic nuclei from lighter ones. So some stars, including our Sun, release energy from the conversion of lighter hydrogen to heavier helium. The synthesis is accompanied by the release of a colossal amount of thermal energy, which people have long learned to turn into electrical energy.

The first attempts to build thermonuclear reactors began in the 40s of the twentieth century, but the main obstacle to progress was the inability to create a reactor capable of withstanding the process of thermonuclear fusion. MIT physicists are sure that they have found a solution - it will become a compact SPARC tokamak (toroidal chamber with a powerful magnetic field inside), which will allow holding a hot plasma, thereby ensuring the synthesis process. According to scientists, the resulting reactor will be able to generate 100 MW of thermal energy, which will be used to create 10-second pulses. According to the developers, this energy is enough to power a small city. The next step with a positive result will be the construction of a 200 megawatt reactor.

The magnetic field for the reactor will be generated by yttrium-barium-copper oxide superconductors magnets, which make it possible to maintain an enormous magnetic field. A magnet of this type, built by National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, can create a 32 T field (Tesla). For comparison, the magnetic field that creates a spot on the Sun is 15 T, and the standard MRI apparatus is 1,5 T.

It should be noted that MIT scientists are not the first to try to curb the energy of stars. The ITER reactor of the same company is planned to be commissioned in 2025, and the British Tokamak Energy is working on the development of ideas for creating even more powerful reactors.
  • Photos used: https://i.pinimg.com/
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. sxfRipper Offline sxfRipper
    sxfRipper (Alexander) 14 March 2018 15: 56
    0
    compact tokamak

    Well, at least they explained what TOKAMAK is. Who and where invented and implemented it once.
    1. Boris Kuzichev Offline Boris Kuzichev
      Boris Kuzichev (ALTARF) 15 March 2018 05: 59
      0
      What is this?
      ... toroidal chamber with a powerful magnetic field inside

      Move on
      MIT physicists are sure that they have found a solution - it will become a compact tokamak

      Obviously, we are not able to search for information in the material.
      Well, and if you need special details, you should go further to the Internet. This is still a news resource, not an encyclopedia.
      1. sxfRipper Offline sxfRipper
        sxfRipper (Alexander) 17 March 2018 00: 07
        +1
        Boris, I know what a tokamak has been for 50 years. But you obviously have problems with humor and sarcasm.
    2. ALEXANDER ABDRAKHMANOV_2 (ALEXANDER ABDRAKHMANOV) 16 March 2018 09: 16
      0
      "TOKAMAK" is a fat dog that lives overseas and urgently needs a lot of money for a grand project. Where else can the mafia take money from, only from taxpayers, so that they can then saw it.
    3. Vasya Svoyakov Offline Vasya Svoyakov
      Vasya Svoyakov (Vasiliy ) April 18 2018 10: 02
      +1
      Soviet scientists came up with. In Russia, work is also underway on controlled thermonuclear fusion! For some reason it seems to me that people do not need cheap energy, in any case, the global oil and gas lobby is very, very against it!
  2. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 15 March 2018 07: 29
    0
    Yes Yes Yes. Of course. I believe. This song is about 60 years old.
  3. gridasov Offline gridasov
    gridasov 15 March 2018 11: 07
    0
    All the principles and technologies for the production and further conversion of nuclear energy or cold gas are fundamental reasons for the impossibility of further progress. The whole problem lies in the fact that in all processes there is no ideology of energy concentration, its phased transformation without significant loss of potential in the transition stages.
    1. Boris Kuzichev Offline Boris Kuzichev
      Boris Kuzichev (ALTARF) 16 March 2018 13: 26
      +1
      Since when is low efficiency with high performance relative to analogs a reason to abandon development? According to this logic, it is urgent to abandon the use of nuclear power plants. Can we only warm the water? Well then, this nuclear reactor is in the furnace!
    2. NordOst16 Offline NordOst16
      NordOst16 (Vladislav) April 2 2018 16: 22
      +1
      With the D + T reaction, direct conversion will not work because the vast majority of the energy is carried away by neutrons.
      "The whole problem lies in the fact that in all processes there is no ideology of concentration of energy, its stage-by-stage transformation without significant loss of potential during the transitional stages." And today, tomorrow, not everyone can watch ...
      You will never achieve less than one conversion.
  4. Mactruman Offline Mactruman
    Mactruman (MrMacTruman) 17 March 2018 00: 33
    0
    Give me money, and there either donkey or padish will die ...
    1. NordOst16 Offline NordOst16
      NordOst16 (Vladislav) April 2 2018 16: 18
      0
      Oh, you have described all fundamental science
  5. Hedgehog Offline Hedgehog
    Hedgehog 17 March 2018 05: 08
    +1
    All this hype for the money. Although the fusion is tamed, it is partially true, the whole trick is that you need to spend four to five times more energy on it than it can give. So for now, all this can be used only for fundamental scientific purposes. And for commerce, if only under the cut laughing then yes.
    1. NordOst16 Offline NordOst16
      NordOst16 (Vladislav) April 2 2018 16: 17
      +1
      Well, well, it takes about 0,1 MeV to overcome the Coulomb repulsion forces, and 17,6 MeV stands out. Losses, losses spoil everything.

США готовят термоядерный прорыв

Сложно переоценить пользу, которую могла бы принести человечеству энергия процессов происходящих внутри звёзд, в основе жизни которых лежит термоядерный синтез, и по словам ученых-физиков из Массачусетского технологического института (MIT) вскоре это может перестать быть фантастикой. Ученые MIT, вместе с компанией Commonwealth Fusion Systems объявили о том, что готовы построить термоядерный реактор в течение 15 лет.





В 20 веке человечество смогло обуздать энергию ядерного деления, при котором атомное ядро делится на два ядра с близкими массами, что сопровождается выделением энергии. Ядерный же синтез — это обратный процесс, заключающийся в слиянии более тяжелых атомных ядер из более лёгких. Так некоторые звёзды, в том числе и наше Солнце, выделяют энергию из превращения более лёгкого водорода в более тяжёлый гелий. Синтез сопровождается выделением колоссального количества тепловой энергии, которую люди уже давно научились превращать в энергию электрическую.

Первые попытки строительства термоядерных реакторов начались в 40-х годах двадцатого века, но главным препятствием на пути прогресса была невозможность создания реактора способного выдержать процесс термоядерного синтеза. Физики MIT уверены что нашли решение - им станет компактный токамак SPARC (тороидальная камера с мощным магнитным полем внутри), который позволит удерживать раскалённую плазму, тем самым обеспечивая процесс синтеза. По расчётам ученых получившийся реактор сможет вырабатывать 100 МВт тепловой энергии, которую будут пускать на создание 10-секундных импульсов. По словам разработчиков, этой энергии хватит для питания небольшого города. Следующим шагом при положительном результате станет строительство 200 мегаваттного реактора.

Генерировать магнитное поле для реактора будут магниты-сверхпроводники из оксида иттрия-бария-меди, позволяющие поддерживать магнитное поле огромной силы. Магнит такого типа, построенный в компании National High Magnetic Field Laboratory может создать поле силой 32 Тл (теслы). Для сравнения магнитное поле которое создаёт пятно на Солнце равно 15 Тл, а стандартный аппарат МРТ - 1,5 Тл.

Следует отметить, что ученые MIT не первые кто пытается обуздать энергию звёзд. Реактор ITER одноименной компании планируется ввести в эксплуатацию в 2025 году, а над разработкой идей создания ещё более мощных реакторов трудится британская Tokamak Energy.
Использованы фотографии: https://i.pinimg.com/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. sxfRipper Офлайн
    sxfRipper (Александр) 14 марта 2018 15:56
    0
    компактный токамак

    Ну хоть бы объяснили, что такое ТОКАМАК. Кто и где его придумал и реализовал когда-то.
    1. Борис Кузичев (ALTARF) 15 марта 2018 05:59
      0
      А это что?
      ...тороидальная камера с мощным магнитным полем внутри

      Идём дальше
      Физики MIT уверены что нашли решение - им станет компактный токамак

      Искать информацию в материале, очевидно, не умеем.
      Ну а уж если подробности особенные нужны - вам путь дальше в интернет. Это всё же новостной ресурс, а не энциклопедия.
      1. sxfRipper Офлайн
        sxfRipper (Александр) 17 марта 2018 00:07
        +1
        Борис, что такое токамак я знаю уже лет 50. А вот у Вас явно проблемы и с юмором, и с сарказмом.
    2. АЛЕКСАНДР АБДРАХМАНОВ_2 (АЛЕКСАНДР АБДРАХМАНОВ) 16 марта 2018 09:16
      0
      "ТОКАМАК " это жирная собака, которая живет за океаном и ей надо срочно большие деньги, на грандиозный проект. Откуда можно еще мафии деньги взять, только с налогоплательщиков, чтобы потом распилить.
    3. Вася Свояков (Василий ) 18 апреля 2018 10:02
      +1
      Советские учёные придумали. В России тоже ведутся работы по управляемому термоядерному синтезу! Мне почему то кажется, что дешёвая энергия людям не нужна, во всяком случае мировое нефтегазовое лобби очень, очень против этого!
  2. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 15 марта 2018 07:29
    0
    Да, да, да. Конечно. Верю, верю. Этой песне лет 60 уже.
  3. gridasov Офлайн
    gridasov 15 марта 2018 11:07
    0
    Все принципы и технологии получения и дальнейшего преобразования ядерной энергии или ХЯС имеют фундаментальную причину невозможности дальнейшего прогресса. Вся проблема кроется в том, что во всех процессах отсутствует идеология концентрации энергии поэтапное ее преобразование без значительных утрат потенциала на переходных этапах.
    1. Борис Кузичев (ALTARF) 16 марта 2018 13:26
      +1
      С каких пор низкий КПД при высокой производительности относительно аналогов является причиной отказываться от разработки? По этой логике надо срочно отказаться от использования АЭС. Можем только воду греть? Ну тогда в топку этот ядерный реактор!
    2. NordOst16 Офлайн
      NordOst16 (Владислав) 2 апреля 2018 16:22
      +1
      С D+T реакцией прямое преобразование не получится ибо подавляющую часть энергии уносят нейтроны.
      "Вся проблема кроется в том, что во всех процессах отсутствует идеология концентрации энергии поэтапное ее преобразование без значительных утрат потенциала на переходных этапах." А сегодня в завтрашний день не все могут смотреть...
      Меньше одного преобразования вы не достигнете никогда.
  4. MacTruman Офлайн
    MacTruman (MrMacTruman) 17 марта 2018 00:33
    0
    Дайте денег, а там либо ишак, либо падишах помрет...
    1. NordOst16 Офлайн
      NordOst16 (Владислав) 2 апреля 2018 16:18
      0
      О, вы описали всю фундаментальную науку
  5. ЁжИум Офлайн
    ЁжИум 17 марта 2018 05:08
    +1
    Вся эта шумиха ради денег. Термояд хоть и приручен, частично правда, но вся фишка в том, что на него надо в четыре-пять раз энергии больше потратить, чем он сможет отдать. Так что пока это все только в фундаментальных научных целях использовать можно. А для коммерции если только под распил laughing тогда да.
    1. NordOst16 Офлайн
      NordOst16 (Владислав) 2 апреля 2018 16:17
      +1
      Ну, ну, на преодоление сил кулоновского отталкивания надо около 0,1МэВ, а выделяется 17,6МэВ. Потери, потери всё портят.