Russia and the US will discuss the future of the INF Treaty

Russian-American consultations began in Geneva on the Treaty on the Elimination of Intermediate-Range and Shorter-Range Missiles (INF Treaty). They are held in an interdepartmental format.




As reported by the Russian agency TASS, vehicles with US diplomatic numbers drove into the territory of the permanent mission of Russia to the Swiss UN office.

Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Sergei Ryabkov led the Russian delegation at these consultations. And the head of the American delegation is Andrea Thompson, Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security. Ryabkov and Thompson meet at these talks for the first time. The negotiations themselves are held behind closed doors; the press was not allowed to speak to them.

Ryabkov said earlier that Moscow was ready to seriously work with the American side to maintain the Treaty. He called on the US leadership to abandon the ultimatum to Russia and to put forward any preconditions.

Last year, US President Donald Trump announced his intention to unilaterally withdraw from the INF Treaty, because, according to him, Russia still does not comply with it. On December 4, 2018, the head of the U.S. foreign department Mike Pompeo actually presented an ultimatum to Moscow. He gave her 60 to “return to fulfillment of the treaty,” threatening that otherwise Washington would leave it.

The Russian leadership categorically disagrees with the American accusations of violating the Treaty.
  • Photos Used: nsn.fm
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Россия и США обсудят будущее ДРСМД

В Женеве начались российско-американские консультации по поводу Договора о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности (ДРСМД). Они проходят в межведомственном формате.





Как сообщило российское агентство ТАСС, на территорию постоянного представительства России при швейцарском отделении ООН въехали автомашины с американскими дипломатическими номерами.

Заместитель главы МИД России Сергей Рябков возглавил на этих консультациях российскую делегацию. А главой американской делегации является Андреа Томпсон, заместитель госсекретаря по контролю над вооружениями и международной безопасности. Рябков и Томпсон встречаются на этих переговорах впервые. Сами же переговоры проходят в закрытом режиме, прессу на них не допустили.

Ранее Рябков говорил, что Москва готова серьезно работать с американской стороной над сохранением Договора. Он призвал руководство США отказаться от ультимативного тона в адрес России и от выдвижения каких-либо предварительных условий.

В прошлом году президент США Дональд Трамп заявил о намерении в одностороннем порядке выйти из ДРСМД, поскольку, по его словам, Россия все равно его не соблюдает. 4 декабря 2018 года глава внешнеполитического ведомства США Майк Помпео фактически предъявил Москве ультиматум. Он отвел ей 60 на «возвращение к выполнению договора», пригрозив, что в противном случае Вашингтон из него выйдет.

Руководство России категорично не согласно с американскими обвинениями в нарушении Договора.
Использованы фотографии: nsn.fm
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти