Star Wars Robot R2-D2 May Come True

Few are willing to argue with the statement that NASA and Star Wars out of the general only have a cosmic context. If the first is a government organization that deals with complex tasks in space exploration, the second is a science fiction fairy tale about space wizards, with extremely specific ideas about how physical laws work. However, NASA engineers managed to see some benefit in all this.




Chris Wardain (Kris Vardeyen), the man who worked for many years on the NASA Valkyrie humanoid robot project, argues that NASA should take a closer look at the concept of repair robots from Star Wars, like R2-D2 or BB-8. According to the scientist, robots of this type can be of great benefit in space.

The engineer notes that robots are already taking part in the work of people in space. So in 2011, the humanoid Robonaut 2 was launched on the ISS, whose tasks include the automatic change of air filters of the space station. In the future, such machines will be able to replace living astronauts in conditions associated with a serious risk to life. According to Vardein, Star Wars repair robots have some interesting features that might prove useful. For example, droids include a huge range of different devices and tools. So, R2-D2 is able to quickly solder wires while on the wing of an aircraft under laser fire, as well as extinguish a fire using the built-in fire extinguisher.

And although it is obvious that NASA is still aimed at creating humanoid machines, rather than mobile tool boxes, equipping them with functionality similar to R2-D2 may not be such a bad idea. In addition, the Engineer notes the independence of these robots from human exposure - they themselves are able to find out the cause of the problem, and then eliminate it. They have a full range of knowledge in matters of necessary repairs, which is part of their functionality.

Despite the fact that R2-D2 and BB-8 are much more realistic than you might think, their construction is not yet possible. However, NASA is already working on the issue of embedding intelligence in robots. One of the possible solutions could be combining projects such as Robonaut and IBM Watson - databases with artificial intelligence.
  • Photos used: https://www.sideshowtoy.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Locksmith Offline Locksmith
    Locksmith (Sergei) 16 March 2018 19: 42
    +1
    So, R2-D2 is able to quickly solder wires while on the wing of an aircraft under laser fire, as well as extinguish a fire using the built-in fire extinguisher.

    This sounds especially strong when the robot works in a vacuum ..... epic firefighter wink
    1. Boris Kuzichev Offline Boris Kuzichev
      Boris Kuzichev (ALTARF) 23 March 2018 20: 51
      0
      It does not say where the fire occurs. The fire inside the station / ship with an oxygen atmosphere is completely real.

Сайту «Репортёр» требуются авторы. Требования: грамотность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение анализировать и писать сжато и интересно. Работа оплачивается. Образцы своих свежих материалов высылайте по адресу: topcor.ru@gmail.com

Робот R2-D2 из «Звёздных войн» может стать реальностью

Мало кто готов поспорить с утверждением что у NASA и "Звёздных Войн" из общего только космический контекст. Если первое это правительственная организация, занимающаяся решением сложных задач по исследования космоса, то второе это научно фантастическая сказка про космических волшебников, с крайней специфическими представлениями о том как работают физические законы. Однако некую пользу во всём этом инженеры NASA всё же умудрились увидеть.



Крис Вардейн (Kris Vardeyen), человек который много лет работал над проектом NASA по созданию человекоподобного робота Валькирии, утверждает что NASA следует присмотреться к концепту ремонтных роботов из Звёздных Войн, вроде R2-D2 или BB-8. По словам ученого роботы подобного типа могут принести большую пользу в условиях космоса.


Инженер отмечает, что роботы уже принимают участие в работе людей в космосе. Так в 2011 году на МКС был запущен человекоподобный Robonaut 2, в чьи задачи входит автоматическая смена воздушных фильтров космической станции. В будущем такие машины смогут заменять живых астронавтов в условиях связанных с серьёзным риском для жизни. По словам Вардейна, роботы-ремонтники из Star Wars обладают некоторым интересными функциями, которые могут оказаться полезными. К примеру, дроиды включают в себя огромный спектр различным приспособлений и инструментов. Так, R2-D2 способен быстро запаять провода, находясь на крыле летательного аппарата под лазерным обстрелом, а так же потушить пожар с помощью встроенного огнетушителя.

И хотя очевидно что в NASA нацелены всё же на создание человекоподобных машин, а не передвижных ящиков с инструментами, но снарядить их функционалом подобным R2-D2 может оказаться не такой уж и плохой затеей. Кроме этого Инженер отмечает независимость этих роботов от воздействия человека - они сами способны выяснить причину проблемы, а затем её устранить. Они обладают всем спектром знаний в вопросах необходимых ремонта, входящего в их функционал.

Несмотря на то что R2-D2 и BB-8 куда более реалистичны чем можно было бы подумать, их постройка пока не представляется возможной. Однако в NASA уже работают над вопросом встраивания интеллекта в роботов. Одним из возможных решений может стать объединения таких проектов как Robonaut и IBM Watson - базы данных с искусственным интеллектом.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.sideshowtoy.com/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Слесарь Офлайн
    Слесарь (Сергей) 16 марта 2018 19:42
    +1
    Так, R2-D2 способен быстро запаять провода, находясь на крыле летательного аппарата под лазерным обстрелом, а так же потушить пожар с помощью встроенного огнетушителя.

    Особенно сильно это звучит когда робот работает в вакууме .....эпическая борьба пожарного wink
    1. Борис Кузичев (ALTARF) 23 марта 2018 20:51
      0
      Там не сказано где происходит пожар. Пожар внутри станции/корабля с кислородной атмосферой это совершенно реально.