11 Russian sailors arrested with ten tons of cocaine

On January 31, 2019, authorities of the island state of Cape Verde (Cape Verde Islands), located in the Atlantic Ocean 600 kilometers off the coast of Africa, discovered more than 9,5 tons of cocaine in the port of Praia on the ESER ship (Panama flag). On suspicion of drug smuggling, 11 Russian sailors, crew members of the vessel, were detained.




The Russian Embassy in Cape Verde said that the Russians are feeling normal, they are being treated without violations. Diplomats clarify that they are in contact, both with the investigating authorities and with compatriots, i.e. they "keep their finger on the pulse."

It should be added that the ESER was heading from Panama to Morocco (the city of Tangier). However, the ship had to make an emergency stop and call at the port of Praia due to the death of one of the crew members for unknown reasons. After that, the local police boarded and began its search, as a result of which 260 bales were discovered (with a total weight of 9,57 tons). Inside them is a white powder, and according to local law enforcement authorities, the samples (tests) show that it is cocaine.

It should be noted that the 1985 ESER vessel, allegedly owned by the Turkish company GEMICILER DENIZCILIK. However, according to this company, the ship was sold on November 6, 2018 to Ecolive de Panama.


At the same time, the Cape Verde police said that the authorities were informed by the Maritime Center for Analysis and Operation (coordinating the drug control of seven EU countries) that the ship was suspected of transporting prohibited substances. According to preliminary data, the court on choosing a preventive measure for 11 Russians (including the captain of the vessel) should be held on February 2, 2019. However, it is doubtful that the detainees will be released until their attitude to the prohibited cargo is clarified.
  • Photos used: http://pj.gov.cv/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ROBIN-SON Offline ROBIN-SON
    ROBIN-SON (VLADIMIR SHAPOVALOV) 2 February 2019 12: 34
    +2
    What does the crew have to do with it? They do not check the cargo being transported. It is necessary to look for the sender and recipient of the goods ....
    1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 2 February 2019 13: 51
      0
      I think they’ll figure out who is to do with it.
  2. Valmich Offline Valmich
    Valmich (Valmich) 2 February 2019 20: 39
    0
    if you are to blame, you must answer

11 российских моряков арестованы с десятью тоннами кокаина

31 января 2019 года власти островного государства Кабо-Верде (Острова Зелёного Мыса), расположенного в Атлантическом океане в 600 километрах от побережья Африки, обнаружили в порту Прая на судне ESER (флаг Панамы) более 9,5 тонн кокаина. По подозрению в контрабанде наркотиков задержаны 11 российских моряков, членов экипажа судна.





Посольство России в Кабо-Верде сообщило, что россияне чувствуют себя нормально, с ними обращаются без нарушений. Дипломаты уточняют, что находятся на связи, как со следственными органами, так и с соотечественниками, т.е. они «держат руку на пульсе».

Нужно добавить, что судно ESER направлялось из Панамы в Марокко (город Танжер). Однако судну пришлось сделать вынужденную остановку и зайти в порт Прая из-за смерти одного из членов экипажа по невыясненным причинам. После чего местная полиция поднялась на борт и начала его досмотр, в результате которого были обнаружены 260 тюков (общей массой 9,57 тонны). Внутри них находится порошок белого цвета, и как утверждают местные правоохранители, пробы (анализы) показывают, что это кокаин.

Нужно отметить, что судно ESER 1985 года постройки, якобы принадлежит турецкой компании GEMICILER DENIZCILIK. Однако, как утверждает эта компания, судно было продано 6 ноября 2018 года компании Ecolive de Panama.


При этом полиция Кабо-Верде уточнила, что власти страны были проинформированы Морским центром анализа и эксплуатации (координирует действия по борьбе с наркотиками семи стран Евросоюза), что судно подозревают в перевозке запрещенных веществ. По предварительным данным суд о выборе меры пресечения для 11 россиян (включая капитана судна) должен состояться 2 февраля 2019 года. Однако сомнительно, что задержанных отпустят на свободу до выяснения их отношения к запрещенному грузу.
Использованы фотографии: http://pj.gov.cv/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Читайте также
3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. ROBIN-SON Офлайн
    ROBIN-SON (VLADIMIR SHAPOVALOV) 2 февраля 2019 12:34
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    При чем тут экипаж? Они не проверяют груз который везут. Надо искать отправителя и получателя груза....
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 2 февраля 2019 13:51
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Думаю разберутся, кто там при чем.
  2. Валмих Офлайн
    Валмих (Валмих) 2 февраля 2019 20:39
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    если виноваты, то должны ответить