Russia suspends a missile treaty: global media reaction

The world media could not get around such a burning topic as the situation around the Treaty on the Elimination of Intermediate-Range and Shorter-Range Missiles. They reacted particularly sharply to the fact that Russia announced the suspension of its participation in the INF Treaty. Many of them even “forgot” that on the part of Moscow it was just a response to similar US actions.




In general, the reaction of Western newspapers, portals and television channels can be evaluated as follows: they present the point of view of Washington. As for the position of Moscow, it is either distorted or ignored.

So, in the British tabloid Daily Express, the headline reads: "Third World War: the nuclear arms race has already begun, because Russia is violating a key nuclear treaty."

The title of the article alone says a lot: firstly, panic is being raised before the threat of war, secondly, it is emphasized that only Russia is to blame for such a situation, and thirdly, it is unproven that it violates the agreements. And the article itself says that only the position of the Russian Federation poses a threat to peace, but not the position of the United States.

Another British tabloid, The Sun, claims that the United States does not have missiles that are based in Europe and have nuclear capabilities. The last such missiles were allegedly launched just by the INF Treaty.

In fact, the United States began to violate the Treaty back in 1999, testing unmanned aerial vehicles, which by their characteristics fell under the ban. And, starting in 2014, the United States began deploying Mk 41 launchers in Europe, from which it is possible to launch Tomahawks. This was stated by Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov.

The newspaper DenníkN, published in Slovakia, also believes that it is Russia that places medium- and short-range missiles in Europe. This is supposedly a military and political challenge. But the author of the material did not indicate in which state Moscow places the missiles. It turns out that the journalist is dissatisfied with the fact that the Russian Federation places them on the European part of its own territory.

Overseas (and not only in the United States), the media also accuse Russia of this situation. Thus, the Canadian agency La Presse Canadienne said that the United States made "fruitless" diplomatic efforts, trying to convince the Russian side to comply with the Treaty. Of course, the agency did not report that Russia did everything possible to convince the United States that the 9M729 missile does not violate the INF Treaty. The Russian Ministry of Defense even organized a special briefing on the missile, but Washington ignored it. However, this is not supposed to be discussed either in Europe or in North America.
  • Photos used: novorossia.vision
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
    A.Lex (Secret information) 3 February 2019 20: 48
    +3
    Xha! And history repeats itself! Not so long ago (in historical sequence) Russia was accused of having conspired with the Nazis (M.-R. Pact), forgetting that BEFORE this all European filth participated in the "Munich Agreement"! So it is here!

Россия приостанавливает ракетный договор: реакция мировых СМИ

Мировые средства массовой информации не могли обойти столь животрепещущую тему, как ситуация вокруг Договора о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности. Особенно остро они отреагировали на то, что Россия объявила о приостановке своего участия в ДРСМД. Многие из них даже «забыли», что со стороны Москвы это была всего лишь ответная мера на аналогичные действия США.





В целом, реакцию западных газет, порталов и телеканалов можно оценить так: в них представлена точка зрения Вашингтона. Что же касается позиции Москвы, то она либо искажается, либо игнорируется.

Так, в британском таблоиде Daily Express заголовок гласит: «Третья мировая война: гонка ядерных вооружений уже началась, поскольку Россия нарушает ключевой ядерный договор».

Одно лишь название статьи говорит о многом: во-первых, нагнетается паника перед угрозой войны, во-вторых, подчеркивается, что в такой ситуации виновата только Россия, в-третьих, бездоказательно утверждается, что именно она нарушает договоренности. Да и в самой статье говорится о том, что угрозу миру представляет лишь позиция РФ, но никак не позиция США.

Другой британский таблоид, The Sun, утверждает, что у США нет ракет, которые базируются в Европе и обладают ядерным потенциалом. Последние такие ракеты якобы были выведены как раз по ДРСМД.

На самом деле, США начали нарушать Договор еще в 1999 году, испытывая беспилотные летательные аппараты, которые по своим характеристикам попадали под запрет. А, начиная с 2014 года, США начали размещение в Европе пусковых установок Mk 41, с которых возможно запускать «Томагавки». Об этом говорил министр иностранных дел РФ Сергей Лавров.

Газета DenníkN, издающаяся в Словакии, также считает, что именно Россия размещает ракеты средней и малой дальности на территории Европы. Это якобы является и военным, и политическим вызовом. Но автор материала не указал, в каком именно государстве Москва размещает ракеты. Получается, что журналист недоволен тем, что РФ размещает их на европейской части своей собственной территории.

За океаном (и не только в США) СМИ также обвиняют в сложившейся ситуации Россию. Так, канадское агентство La Presse Canadienne заявило, что США прикладывали «бесплодные» дипломатические усилия, пытаясь убедить российскую сторону выполнять Договор. Разумеется, при этом агентство не сообщило, что Россия сделала все возможное, чтобы убедить США в том, что ракета 9М729 не нарушает ДРСМД. Министерство обороны РФ даже организовало специальный брифинг по поводу данной ракеты, но Вашингтон проигнорировал его. Об этом, однако, говорить ни в Европе, ни в Северной Америке не полагается.
Использованы фотографии: novorossia.vision
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. A.Lex Офлайн
    A.Lex (Секретная информация) 3 февраля 2019 20:48
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Хха! А история-то повторяется! Не так давно (в исторической последовательности) Россию обвиняли в том, что она сговорилась с нацистами (пакт М.-Р.), забывая о том, что ПРЕД этим вся европейская гнусь участвовала в "Мюнхенском сговоре"! Так и тут!