NATO will extend the stay of its ships in the Black Sea

The Alliance intends to increase its presence in the Black Sea. Moreover, this process is already underway: the duration of the presence of NATO ships in the Black Sea is increasing.




So, NATO Deputy Secretary General Rose Gotemüller in her speech to the Atlantic Committee of Norway, said that only in the last two years, the Alliance’s warships have been in the Black Sea for 40 days longer. If earlier they stayed there for 80 days, now this period has been increased to 120 days.

From 2017 to 2018, we increased the presence of our ships in the Black Sea from 80 to 120 days

- she said.

Gotemüller believes that at present the scale of presence in the Black Sea is quite sufficient, but NATO is still considering ways to intensify activities in the region. The stake is placed on the "main partners" of the alliance - Ukraine and Georgia. According to the Deputy Secretary General of NATO, it is necessary to "improve their capabilities" in the Black Sea. She also pointed out the importance of holding joint military exercises.

In December last year, countries belonging to the North Atlantic Alliance, after a meeting at the level of heads of foreign ministries, announced their desire to maintain their presence in the Black Sea.

In September 2018, Gotemüller visited Tbilisi, after which she expressed concern that Russia's influence in the Black Sea is growing. And recently, at the end of January, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said that intensification of cooperation with Georgia, including in the field of the Navy, is needed because of the "concern" with the presence of Russia in the Black Sea.
  • Used photos: ria.ru
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

НАТО продлит срок пребывания своих кораблей в Черном море

Североатлантический альянс намерен наращивать свое присутствие в Черном море. Причем, этот процесс уже идет: срок присутствия кораблей НАТО в черноморской акватории увеличивается.





Так, заместитель генерального секретаря НАТО Роуз Гетемюллер в своем выступлении на Атлантическом комитете Норвегии заявила, что только за два последних года военные корабли альянса стали находиться в Черном море дольше на 40 суток. Если ранее они пребывали там в течение 80 дней, то теперь этот срок увеличен до 120 дней.

С 2017 по 2018 годы мы увеличили нахождение наших кораблей в Черном море с 80 до 120 дней

— сказала она.

Гетемюллер полагает, что в настоящее время масштаб присутствия в Черном море является вполне достаточным, однако в НАТО все же рассматривают пути активизации деятельности в регионе. Ставка при этом делается на «главных партнеров» альянса — Украину и Грузию. По словам заместителя генсека НАТО, нужно «улучшить их возможности» в Черном море. Она также указала на важность проведения совместных военных учений.

В декабре прошлого года страны, входящие в Североатлантический альянс, после встречи на уровне глав министерств иностранных дел заявили о стремлении сохранить свое присутствие в Черном море.

Еще в сентябре 2018 года Гетемюллер посетила Тбилиси, после чего выразила обеспокоенность тем, что влияние России в Черном море растет. А недавно, в конце января, генеральный секретарь НАТО Йенс Столтенберг заявил, что активизация сотрудничества с Грузией, в том числе и в сфере Военно-морских сил, нужна из-за «озабоченности» присутствием России в Черном море.
Использованы фотографии: ria.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти