Winged "Baikal": what should be a reusable launch vehicle

SpaceX's successes have spawned a particular interest in reusable rocketry and forced many to take projects of yesteryear out of dusty boxes. At the same time, people are not always interested in the reasons why they (these projects) were not implemented. But the reasons for that could be the most serious.




Let's talk about “winged” carriers. Here, however, some distinction needs to be made. The use of a lift wing in the space industry has a long history. Firstly, it was an American shuttle that had not been fully proven in terms of price / efficiency ratio, which was completed in 2011, as well as the Soviet Buran, its close relative. Secondly, the so-called concept of air launch, in which to launch the launch vehicle use an airplane that has risen into the sky, acting as a kind of first stage. Finally, thirdly, we are talking about the return of the first stage of the carrier in airplane mode. In simple terms, imagine if the reusable Falcon 9 on the way back landed at the airfield, much like the Space Shuttle did. Or just any winged car.


The concept is very tempting, because to land the device in airplane mode seems to be a simpler task than returning the first stage in the spirit of SpaceX. However, is such a scheme justified? According to Alexei Rogozin - the son of Dmitry Rogozin, yes. Recall that now Rogozin Jr. heads the S.V. Ilyushin Aviation Complex and, apparently, sees the organization as one of the main (if not the main) designers of Russian reusable missiles. It is the “airplane” principle of return that is now being promoted by IL. “This is the solution that we are implementing at the pre-project level. We handed over this work to Roskosmos, ”said Alexei Rogozin in August last year. Here it is necessary to note several important things at once. Firstly, this statement was made relatively long ago by the standards of Russian rocket science, where plans change with the speed of the Voyager probe. However, on the other hand, let's not forget that Dmitry Rogozin has already become accustomed to the post of head of Roskosmos - we can say that it is he who determines the development of the entire space industry of the Russian Federation.

"Pros and cons"

We will try to understand whether it is worth developing this direction at all. One of the most unusual domestic missile systems of recent decades has become the Baikal-Angara. Strictly speaking, this is just a concept: nothing of the kind has yet been implemented. As the name suggests, it was one of the versions of the Angara rocket, in which the first stage was to receive the reusable Baikal accelerator. This product, after separation from the carrier, was supposed to return to the place of launch, and land on a regular runway, like an airplane. Depending on the class of the Angara launch vehicle, they wanted to use a different number of reusable accelerators: one (light class), two (medium) and four (heavy). The dry mass of the accelerator when using a lightweight launch vehicle was to be almost 18 tons. They wanted to use the RD-191M as an engine.


The range of the accelerator could be approximately 380 km: it would be enough to fly to the operational airfield. However, in general, as you can see, the system looked complicated and cumbersome, especially when it comes to the heavy version of the carrier with four accelerators. It is also worth adding here the well-known thesis that the Angara, in itself, is a rather expensive and technically complex missile consisting of many modules.


What do the West think about this? It is worth saying that many rocket builders from Europe and the USA after the successes of SpaceX were in about the same situation as the Russian ones. That is, they had old missiles and "distant plans for a brighter future." Standing alone is Airbus, which proposed the return of the first stage of the rocket in "airplane" mode. The Adeline module (Advanced Expendable Launcher with INnovative engine Economy) provides for multiple use of the engines of the first stage of the Ariane 6 launch vehicle, which is not yet available. Only the engine compartment will be reusable: they want to equip it with two wings and folding propellers, which will be activated upon landing. Adeline will be able to sit on a regular lane.


Unfortunately, News There is almost no development about Airbus: perhaps they decided to abandon it for reasons that are clearly visible on the example of the Baikal performing slightly different functions.

We will try to understand in more detail. The Falcon 9 rocket has come a long way towards reusability, however, there are not so many alterations in comparison with a conventional single-use rocket, and the first stage can land almost anywhere: even on a land platform, even on a sea platform. A plane landing of a rocket requires work in a slightly different direction: it will be necessary to take into account not only the aerodynamic characteristics of the rocket during horizontal ascent / descent, but also the wing, which creates lift when a reusable stage enters the Earth’s atmosphere. However, even more importantly, in this case, the reusable component of the rocket will have to carry “aircraft” equipment: concealed wings, chassis elements, a complex power plant (as on Adeline). All this increases the mass of the medium and increases its price. We are no longer talking about the difficulties of reusing the components that SpaceX now solves. It seems to be successful.


That is, for now, the concept of Ilona Mask with the horizontal return of the first stage looks preferable to landing the carrier in airplane mode. This is also supported by the fact that Blue Origin, the de facto main competitor of SpaceX for the foreseeable future, has chosen the same scheme. In a broad sense, the new Blue Origin rocket called New Glenn will be an interpretation of the Falcon 9, albeit with other engines and other cargo delivery capabilities.

As for the Russian rocket builders, they, perhaps, need to decide first what they want, outlining several major projects that they will develop over the next decades. Obviously, the country simply will not “pull” all the ideas voiced in recent years, such as the Yenisei superheavy rocket or the creation of a national orbital station instead of an international one.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: https://www.if24.ru
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. businessv Offline businessv
    businessv (Vadim) 9 February 2019 14: 50
    +1
    then, perhaps, they first need to decide what exactly they want,

    And again, Roscosmos recognized as promising something that everyone had abandoned in the last century! Is this another rake dance? request
  2. nov_tech.vrn Offline nov_tech.vrn
    nov_tech.vrn (Michael) 9 February 2019 16: 04
    0
    This is a very objective representation of the author as to the state of the returned units, I love the representatives of the sect of Elon Musk's fans, but so far I have not heard about one fact of reusing the returned stage, only words about a great breakthrough. The correct concept will be the one that will allow you to realize your plans, but for now only artistic chatter
    1. Kristallovich Online Kristallovich
      Kristallovich (Ruslan) 10 February 2019 08: 32
      0
      If you have not heard about something, this does not mean that it was not. SpaceX has repeatedly reused the returning first steps.
      1. Vkd dvk Offline Vkd dvk
        Vkd dvk (Victor) 10 February 2019 10: 34
        +3
        PR campaign- "use" repeatedly. After more than 50 starts, 20 touchdowns, 5 starts of well-restored iron .....
        But tickets to Mars are already on sale.
        Well, the promises to launch 100 times and after 24 hours from landing are huge plans that help to pump out the loot from the budget and paralyze the imagination of the idiots who worship this crook.
      2. 17085 Offline 17085
        17085 (Dmitriy) 10 February 2019 11: 43
        +2
        Quote: IGAR
        If you have not heard about something, this does not mean that it was not. SpaceX has repeatedly reused the returning first steps.

        Lies, the production of booster stages is not reduced, which means that the second time no one uses anything. How do you check a high-tech 20-meter mandiba for hidden defects? Disassemble and probe, and then collect again? Can it be easier to collect immediately check without bothering with disassembly?
        Those. it is originally a chatter for people like you. No offense of course. You just do not know all the loads. Imagine what a device should be like, from one end heating up to 1000С, and from the other cooling down to -100, and when the temperature returns, they drop to ambient. Vibration range - I find it difficult to say vskidku, but PPC how wide. And yet this shit breaks air resistance. If it can still be planted, then reuse is in question.
        Baikal is originally a cruise missile, it’s a little easier here, but because of its price, no one decided to use it.
        As an option to use the Mig-31 as the first step (forgot the name of the project, something was developed together with the Kazakhs). They say it’s like they finally brought the theory of rockets to mind, but I have no idea who will take it. Rumor has it that some kind of suborbital miracle will be launched from Geophysics.
        Trends in creating a special first-stage airplane on the face. And what Musk does is volley.
  3. zed042 Offline zed042
    zed042 (Vasiliy) 10 February 2019 19: 21
    0
    Rogozin. That says it all.
  4. Oleg RB Offline Oleg RB
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 5 March 2019 10: 17
    0
    Something starts more and more. Holes puff out the sky, the atmosphere is burned out. Somehow dumb

Крылатый «Байкал»: какой должна быть многоразовая ракета-носитель

Успехи компании SpaceX породили особый интерес к многоразовой тематике в ракетостроении и заставили многих вынуть из пыльных ящиков проекты прошлых лет. При этом далеко не всегда людей интересуют причины, по которым они (эти проекты) не реализовались. А ведь причины на то могли быть самые серьезные.




Поговорим о «крылатых» носителях. Здесь, впрочем, нужно сделать некоторое разграничение. Применение в космической индустрии крыла, создающего подъемную силу, имеет долгую историю. Во-первых, это не оправдавший себя в плане соотношения цена/эффективность американский шаттл, эксплуатировать который закончили в 2011-м, а также советский «Буран» — его близкий родственник. Во-вторых, так называемая концепция воздушного старта, при которой для запуска ракеты-носителя используют поднявшийся в небо самолет, выступающий своего рода первой ступенью. Наконец, в-третьих, речь идет о возвращении первой ступени носителя в самолетном режиме. Говоря простым языком, представьте себе, если многоразовая ступень «Falcon 9» на обратном пути совершала посадку на аэродром, примерно так же, как в свое время это делал «Спейс шаттл». Или же просто любая крылатая машина.


Концепция очень заманчивая, ведь посадить аппарат в самолетном режиме кажется более простой задачей, чем возвращение первой ступени в духе SpaceX. Однако оправдана ли такая схема? По мнению Алексея Рогозина — сына Дмитрия Рогозина, да. Напомним, сейчас Рогозин-младший возглавляет Авиационный комплекс имени С. В. Ильюшина и, судя по всему, видит организацию одним из главных (если не главным) проектировщиков российских многоразовых ракет. Именно «самолетный» принцип возвращения сейчас продвигают в компании «Ил». «Это то решение, которое мы реализуем на уровне аванпроекта. Сдали эту работу в "Роскосмос"», — заявил Алексей Рогозин в августе прошлого года. Здесь нужно отметить сразу несколько важных вещей. Во-первых, данное заявление было сделано относительно давно по меркам российского ракетостроения, где планы меняются со скоростью полета зонда «Вояджер». Однако с другой стороны не будем забывать, что Дмитрий Рогозин уже освоился на посту руководителя «Роскосмос» — можно сказать, что именно он определяет развитие всей космической индустрии РФ.

«За» и «против»

Постараемся понять, стоит ли вообще развивать это направление. Одной из самых необычных отечественных ракетных систем последних десятилетий стала «Байкал-Ангара». Строго говоря, это всего лишь концепт: ничего подобного пока не реализовали. Как можно догадаться по названию, речь шла об одной из версий ракеты «Ангара», при которой первая ступень должна была получить многоразовый ускоритель «Байкал». Это изделие после отделения от носителя должно было возвращаться к месту старта, и приземляться на обычную взлетно-посадочную полосу, как самолет. В зависимости от класса ракеты-носителя «Ангара» хотели использовать разное количество многоразовых ускорителей: один (легкий класс), два (средний) и четыре (тяжелый). Сухая масса ускорителя при использовании ракеты-носителя легкого класса должна была составлять почти 18 тонн. В качестве двигателя хотели использовать РД-191М.


Дальность ускорителя могла составлять примерно 380 км: было бы вполне достаточно для того, чтобы долететь до оперативного аэродрома. Однако в целом, как можно увидеть, система выглядела сложной и громоздой, особенно, если говорить о тяжелом варианте носителя с четырьмя ускорителями. Сюда также стоит добавить и хорошо известный тезис о том, что «Ангара», сама по себе, является довольно дорогой и технически сложной ракетой, состоящей из множества модулей.


А что по этому поводу думают на Западе? Стоит сказать, что многие ракетостроители из Европы и США после успехов SpaceX оказались примерно в той же ситуации, что и российские. То есть, у них были старые ракеты и «далекие планы на светлое будущее». Особняком стоит Airbus, который предложил возврат первой ступени ракеты в «самолетном» режиме. Модуль Adeline (Advanced Expendable Launcher with INnovative engine Economy) предусматривает многоразовое применение двигателей первой ступени ракеты-носителя Ariane 6, которой пока нет. Многоразовым будет только двигательный отсек: его хотят оснастить двумя крыльями и складными пропеллерами, которые будут активироваться при приземлении. Садиться Adeline сможет на обычную полосу.


К сожалению, новостей про разработку Airbus почти нет: возможно, от нее решили отказаться по причинам, которые хорошо видны на примере выполняющего несколько иные функции «Байкала».

Постараемся разобраться более детально. Ракета Falcon 9 на пути к многоразовости прошла долгий путь, однако, переделок в сравнении с обычной одноразовой ракетой не так-то много, а садиться первая ступень может практически везде: хоть на наземную платформу, хоть на морскую. Самолетная же посадка ракеты требует работ в несколько другом направлении: придется учитывать не только аэродинамические характеристики ракеты при горизонтальном подъеме/спуске, но и работу крыла, создающего подъемную силу при вхождении многоразовой ступени в атмосферу Земли. Однако еще более важно то, что в этом случае многоразовому компоненту ракеты придется нести «самолетное» снаряжение: скрываемые крылья, элементы шасси, сложную силовую установку (как на Adeline). Все это увеличивает массу носителя и повышает его цену. Мы уже не говорим про трудности повторного использования компонентов, которые сейчас решает SpaceX. Вроде бы успешно.


То есть, пока что концепция Илона Маска с горизонтальным возвращением первой ступени смотрится предпочтительней, нежели посадка носителя в самолетном режиме. В пользу этого говорит и то, что компания Blue Origin — де-факто главный конкурент SpaceX в обозримом будущем — выбрала такую же схему. В широком смысле, новая ракета от Blue Origin под названием New Glenn будет интерпретацией Falcon 9, пусть и с другими двигателями и другими возможностями по доставке на орбиту грузов.

Что касается российских ракетостроителей, то им, пожалуй, нужно для начала определиться, чего именно они хотят, обозначив несколько основных проектов, которые и будут развивать в течение последующих десятков лет. Очевидно, что страна просто «не потянет» все озвученные за последние годы идеи, такие как сверхтяжелая ракета «Енисей» или создание национальной орбитальной станции вместо международной.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.if24.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. businessv Офлайн
    businessv (Вадим) 9 февраля 2019 14:50
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    то им, пожалуй, нужно для начала определиться, чего именно они хотят,

    И снова в Роскосмосе признали перспективным то, от чего все отказались ещё в прошлом веке! Это что, очередная пляска на граблях? request
  2. nov_tech.vrn Офлайн
    nov_tech.vrn (Михаил) 9 февраля 2019 16:04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    это очень объективное представление автора по состоянию с возвращаемыми юнитами, люблю представителей секты поклонников Илона Маска, но пока не слышал не об одном факте повторного использования возвращенной ступени, только слова о великом прорыве. Правильной будет та концепция, которая позволит реализовать задуманное, а пока только художественный треп
    1. Кристаллович (Руслан) 10 февраля 2019 08:32
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Если вы о чем-то не слышали – это не значит, что этого не было. SpaceX уже множество раз повторно использовала вернувшиеся первые ступени.
      1. Вкд Двк Офлайн
        Вкд Двк (Виктор) 10 февраля 2019 10:34
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        Пиар акция- "использование" повторно. После более, чем 50 стартов, 20 приземлений, 5 стартов хорошо отреставрированного железа.....
        Но билеты на Марс уже продаются.
        Ну, а обещания запускать по 100 раз и через 24 часа от приземления- это планов громадьё, помогающее выкачивать бабло из бюджета и парализующее воображение недоносков, поклоняющимся этому жулику.
      2. 17085 Офлайн
        17085 (Dmitriy) 10 февраля 2019 11:43
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Цитата: IGAR
        Если вы о чем-то не слышали – это не значит, что этого не было. SpaceX уже множество раз повторно использовала вернувшиеся первые ступени.

        Вранье, производство разгонных ступеней не снижается, а значит второй раз никто и ничего не использует. Как вы проверите высокотехнологичную 20-ти метровую мандыбу на скрытые дефекты? Разберете и прощупаете, а потом опять соберете? Может легче собирая сразу проверять, не заморачиваясь с разборкой?
        Т.е. это изначально треп для таких как вы. Не в обиду конечно. Вы просто не знаете всех нагрузок. Представляете, каким должно быть устройство с одного конца нагревающееся до 1000С, а с другого остывшее до -100, а по возвращении температуры падают до окружающей. Диапазон вибраций - затрудняюсь на вскидку сказать, но ппц какой широкий. А еще эту хреновину ломает воздушным сопротивлением. Если ее еще можно посадить, то повторное использование под вопросом.
        Байкал - изначально крылатая ракета, тут немного проще, но из-за цены ее так никто и не решился использовать.
        Как вариант использования Миг-31 в качестве первой ступени (запамятовал название проекта, вместе с казахами разрабатывали что-то). Говорят вроде наконец теорию ракеты довели до ума, но понятия не имею, кто за это возьмется. Ходят слухи, какое-то чудо суборбитальное будут с Геофизики запускать.
        Тенденции на создания специального самолета-первой ступени на лицо. А то, чем занимается Маск - залепа.
  3. zed042 Офлайн
    zed042 (Vasiliy) 10 февраля 2019 19:21
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Рогозин. Этим всё сказано.
  4. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 5 марта 2019 10:17
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Что-то стартов всё больше и больше. Истыкают небо дырками, атмосферу выжгут. Как-то стрёмно