Another evidence of the existence of the CIA torture prison in Lithuania

The fact that there was a secret CIA prison in Lithuania where torture was applied to prisoners was reported earlier. Now another evidence has appeared. Saudi Arabian citizen Mustafa Ahmed Adam al-Hawsawi filed a petition to the European Court of Human Rights. The ECHR, in turn, sent a document to the Lithuanian government, as reported by the press service of the Ministry of Justice of the Baltic state.




The petition refers to the fact that this citizen was held in a CIA prison located in Lithuania from 2005 to 2006. Moreover, the CIA officers tortured him. Then the prison ceased to exist. It was impossible to provide medical assistance to prisoners on its territory.

The European Court of Human Rights, as a way to resolve the situation, invited the Lithuanian government and Saudi Arabian to conclude a peace agreement before March 22. If this does not happen, then the Lithuanian leadership will be obliged to give the court answers to questions on this case. According to the Minister of Justice of Lithuania Elvinas Jankevičius, the government intends to consider this issue in the near future and make a decision.

The CIA prison was allegedly located near Vilnius, in the village of Antavilyai. But the authorities claimed that she was not there.

There is one caveat in this matter. Mustafa Ahmed Adam al-Hawsawi filed a similar complaint against Poland. According to him, there he was also in a secret CIA prison. But when many documents were declassified in the USA, it turned out that the indicated citizen was being held in Afghanistan at that time. After that, the ECHR dismissed the case against Poland.

But it’s probably difficult to accuse the applicant of intentional lying - it is possible that he was simply not informed in which country he was then imprisoned in.

In May last year, the ECHR ruled that there was indeed a secret CIA prison on Lithuanian territory in 2005-2006, where there were terror suspects. Prisoners were brutally treated and tortured. At that time, another Saudi citizen - Abu Zubaydy - filed a complaint in connection with these circumstances. He was accused of involvement in the terrorist attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001.

Lithuania was supposed to pay this person 130 thousand euros in accordance with the ECHR verdict. But the authorities said that it was practically impossible to enforce this decision - there was no evidence of the very existence of this person. He was later discovered in Guantanamo.

Last July, the UN Human Rights Committee called on the Lithuanian authorities to publish data on the existence of an American secret prison on the territory of this country.
Photos used: thedailybeast.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Появилось еще одно доказательство существования пыточной тюрьмы ЦРУ в Литве

О том, что на территории Литвы существовала секретная тюрьма ЦРУ, где к заключенным применялись пытки, сообщалось и ранее. Теперь появилось еще одно доказательство. Гражданин Саудовской Аравии Мустафа Ахмед Адам аль-Хавсави составил петицию в Европейский суд по правам человека. ЕСПЧ, в свою очередь, направил документ литовскому правительству, о чем сообщила пресс-служба министерства юстиции прибалтийского государства.





В петиции речь идет о том, что данный гражданин содержался в тюрьме ЦРУ, находящейся на территории Литвы, с 2005 по 2006 г. При этом сотрудники ЦРУ применяли к нему пытки. Затем тюрьма прекратила свое существование. На ее территории невозможно было оказывать заключенным медицинскую помощь.

Европейский суд по правам человека в качестве способа разрешения ситуации предложил правительству Литвы и гражданину Саудовской Аравии заключить мирное соглашение до 22 марта. Если этого не произойдет, то литовское руководство обязано будет дать суду ответы на вопросы по данному делу. Как заявил министр юстиции Литвы Элвинас Янкявичюс, правительство намерено в ближайшее время рассмотреть этот вопрос и принять решение.

Предположительно, тюрьма ЦРУ находилась недалеко от Вильнюса, в поселке Антавиляй. Но власти страны утверждали, что ее не было.

Есть в этом деле один нюанс. Мустафа Ахмед Адам аль-Хавсави подал аналогичную жалобу в отношении Польши. По его словам, там он тоже находился в секретной тюрьме ЦРУ. Но, когда в США рассекретили множество документов, оказалось, что указанный гражданин в это время содержался в Афганистане. После этого ЕСПЧ прекратил дело в отношении Польши.

Но обвинять заявителя в намеренной лжи, пожалуй, трудно — не исключено, что ему просто не сообщили, в какой именно стране он тогда содержался за решеткой.

В мае прошлого года ЕСПЧ постановил, что на литовской территории в 2005-2006 годах действительно была секретная тюрьма ЦРУ, где находились подозреваемые в терроризме. С заключенными жестоко обращались и подвергали их пыткам. В то время другой гражданин Саудовской Аравии — Абу Зубайды — подал жалобу в связи с этим обстоятельствам. Его обвиняли в причастности к терактам в США 11 сентября 2001 года.

Литва должна была выплатить этому человеку 130 тысяч евро в соответствии с вердиктом ЕСПЧ. Но власти страны заявили, что исполнить это решение практически невозможно — нет доказательств самого существования этого человека. Позже его обнаружили в Гуантанамо.

Комитет ООН по правам человека в июле прошлого года призвал литовские власти обнародовать данные о существовании на территории этой страны американской тайной тюрьмы.
Использованы фотографии: thedailybeast.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти