Erdogan erupted in large-scale criticism of the West

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan on the Turkish television channel A Haber sharply criticized the United States and European countries, and the European Union as a whole. So, according to him, the EU does not want to accept its country into its membership solely for religious reasons, since Turkey is a Muslim state. He called on the EU to state this explicitly.




The Turkish leader accused Washington of acting “insincerely”, refusing to extradite religious leader Fethullah Gulen. Ankara accuses him of organizing a coup attempt on July 15-16, 2016. It should be recalled that then Erdogan was almost overthrown from his post, and later in the media there was information that he had been warned in time from Russia.

In addition, the Turkish president accused the CIA of not wanting to investigate the high-profile case of the murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi in the building of the Saudi Arabian consulate in Istanbul. Although, according to him, Turkish law enforcement authorities shared with the American intelligence all available information about this crime. In this regard, Erdogan said, his country intends to transfer the case to international courts.

Another controversial issue between Turkey and the West, which is rooted in history and concerns far not only the West, is the attitude to the massacre of Armenians in the Ottoman Empire in 1915. Then, according to various estimates, from 700 thousand to one and a half million people died. It is not surprising that the Turkish authorities view these events differently than many others. In this speech, Erdogan criticized the decision of French President Emmanuel Macron, who in early February decided to declare April 24 as the Day of Remembrance of the Armenian Genocide.

He is new to policylet him learn history better. There was no genocide in our history

- said the President of Turkey to Macron.

It should be noted that the first extermination of Armenians in the Ottoman Empire was recognized by Uruguay (back in 1965). France declared the events of 1915 the Armenian Genocide in 2001. In the summer of 2016, Germany did this, and in February last year, the Netherlands. To date, it is officially recognized in 23 countries, including Russia. But in the United States, such recognition was not made, but US President Donald Trump said in April last year that the destruction of the Armenians was "one of the worst mass atrocities of the twentieth century."
  • Photos used: sia.az
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Эрдоган разразился масштабной критикой в адрес Запада

Президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган в эфире турецкого телеканала A Haber выступил с резкой критикой в адрес США и стран Европы, да и Европейского союза в целом. Так, по его словам, ЕС не желает принимать его страну в свой состав исключительно по религиозным причинам, так как Турция является мусульманским государством. Он призвал ЕС заявить об этом прямо.



Турецкий лидер обвинил Вашингтон в том, что он ведет себя «неискренне», отказываясь выдавать религиозного деятеля Фетхуллаха Гюлена. Анкара обвиняет его в организации попытки государственного переворота 15-16 июля 2016 года. Следует напомнить, что тогда Эрдоган едва не был свергнут со своего поста, а позже в СМИ появилась информация, что его вовремя предупредили из России.


Кроме того, президент Турции обвинил ЦРУ в нежелании расследовать громкое дело об убийстве журналиста Джамаля Хашогги в здании консульства Саудовской Аравии в Стамбуле. Хотя, по его словам, турецкие правоохранительные органы поделились с американскими спецслужбами всей имеющеся информацией по поводу этого преступления. В связи с этим, заявил Эрдоган, его страна намерена передать дело в международные судебные инстанции.

Еще один спорный вопрос между Турцией и Западом, который уходит корнями в историю и касается далеко не только Запада, — отношение к массовому убийству армян в Османской империи в 1915 году. Тогда погибли, по разным оценкам, от 700 тысяч до полутора миллиона человек. Нет ничего удивительного, что турецкие власти смотрят на эти события иначе, чем многие другие. В данном выступлении Эрдоган раскритиковал решение президента Франции Эмманюэля Макрона, который в начале февраля постановил объявить 24 апреля Днем памяти геноцида армян.

Он новичок в политике, пусть лучше учит историю. В нашей истории не было геноцида

— сказал президент Турции в адрес Макрона.

Следует отметить, что первым истребление армян в Османской империи было признано Уругваем (еще в 1965 году). Франция объявила события 1915 года геноцидом армян в 2001 году. Летом 2016 года это сделала Германия, в феврале прошлого года — Нидерланды. К настоящему моменту он официально признан в 23 странах, включая Россию. А вот в США такого признания сделано не было, однако американский президент Дональд Трамп в апреле прошлого года сказал, что уничтожение армян являлось «одним из наихудших массовых зверств ХХ века».
Использованы фотографии: sia.az
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти