Who is behind the arrest of an American investor in Moscow?

One of the main American investors in the economy Russia - Michael Calvey, founder of Baring Vostok - was detained on February 15, and then arrested in Moscow. His fund has been operating for more than 20 years and has attracted $ 850 million into the Russian economy. But the investor was suspected of embezzlement of two and a half billion rubles from Vostochny Bank. He faces up to 10 years in prison.


The time of arrest coincided with the holding of an investment forum in Sochi, during which foreign business was urged to invest in Russia. On this occasion, informational noise has risen. In addition, the arrest of such a significant person may lead to additional anti-Russian sanctions.

However, the detention of the American coincided not only with the investment forum, but also with the decision of three world rating agencies to raise the investment rating of the Russian Federation. One and a half times more investors came to Sochi than last year. So the situation around Calvi should not entail terrible consequences for the economy. If he is guilty, then his punishment will protect other investors from fraud. Calvi himself expressed hope for a fair trial.

Perhaps this story is connected with the cleansing of the banking sector. The American investor is the main shareholder of the Russian bank Vostochny. Its second shareholder is Artem Avetisyan. This person leads one of the directions of the Agency for Strategic Initiatives. The media claim that he is patronized by the presidential adviser on economics, Andrei Belousov.

Calvi wanted to increase his stake in Vostochny Bank. At the same time, a conflict broke out between him and Avetisyan. The American investor believes that this situation was the reason for his detention.

In the Calvi case, the court will have to investigate. Russia is preparing for the implementation of large-scale national projects. Enormous funds will go through Russian banks. It is important that they do not leak abroad. Vostochny Bank leads the Far East, an important region where many national projects will be implemented. And if its main shareholder is really guilty of embezzlement, it should be punished, regardless of citizenship and influence. Yes, this may indeed entail new restrictive measures, but the fact is that there is always a reason for sanctions without it.

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 20 February 2019 10: 53
    0
    The liberal community will yell. It is understandable. We need investments from foreign investors, supposedly for the development of the economy. Their grandmothers go for the cordon, you can’t invest yours in your people. These are the theft reserves. Browder investors, and they are all about this: they make funds (with a capital of 2–3 billion) so that they can plunder at least tens of billions by robbing our enterprises and banks.
  2. master3 Offline master3
    master3 (Vitali) 21 February 2019 18: 14
    0
    Calvey hopes for a fair trial

    - ha, naive, fair, in Russia, this is from a fairy tale.
    1. PSih2097 Offline PSih2097
      PSih2097 (Alexander Latvian) 21 February 2019 21: 50
      +1
      Quote: master3
      ha, naive, fair, in Russia, this is from a fairy tale.

      Well, our justice is initially punitive and only if your position is at least the governor and higher - then you win, if lower, then forget ...
  3. weddu Offline weddu
    weddu (Kolya) 1 March 2019 19: 23
    0
    Michael Calvey will be in jail, or will be exchanged, either, or.

Кто стоит за арестом в Москве американского инвестора?

Одного из главных американских инвесторов в экономику России — Майкла Калви, основателя компании Baring Vostok — 15 февраля задержали, а затем и арестовали в Москве. Его фонд работает более 20 лет и привлек в российскую экономику 850 миллионов долларов. Но инвестора заподозрили в хищении двух с половиной миллиардов рублей у банка «Восточный». Ему грозит до 10 лет лишения свободы.

Время ареста совпало с проведением в Сочи инвестиционного форума, в ходе которого зарубежный бизнес призывали вкладываться в Россию. По этому поводу поднялся информационный шум. Кроме того, арест столь значительного лица может привести к дополнительным антироссийским санкциям.



Однако задержание американца совпало не только с инвестиционным форумом, но и с решением трех рейтинговых агентств мира поднять инвестиционный рейтинг РФ. В Сочи приехало в полтора раза больше инвесторов, чем в прошлом году. Так что ситуация вокруг Калви не должна повлечь за собой страшных последствий для экономики. Если он виновен, то его наказание защитит других инвесторов от мошенничества. Сам же Калви выразил надежду на справедливое судебное разбирательство.

Возможно, эта история связана с зачисткой банковского сектора. Американский инвестор является главным акционером российского банка «Восточный». Второй его акционер — Артем Аветисян. Этот человек руководит одним из направлений Агентства стратегических инициатив. В СМИ утверждают, что ему покровительствует советник президента РФ по экономике Андрей Белоусов.

Калви пожелал увеличить свою долю в банке «Восточный». При этом между ним и Аветисяном вспыхнул конфликт. Американский инвестор полагает, что именно эта ситуация послужила причиной его задержания.

В деле Калви предстоит разбираться суду. Россия же готовится к реализации масштабных нацпроектов. Через российские банки будут идти огромные средства. Важно, чтобы они не утекли за рубеж. Банк «Восточный» лидирует на Дальнем Востоке — важном регионе, где будут воплощаться в жизнь многие нацпроекты. И если его главный акционер действительно виновен в хищении средств, его следует наказать, независимо от гражданства и влиятельности. Да, это действительно может повлечь за собой новые ограничительные меры, но дело в том, что повод для санкций и без этого всегда найдется.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. kriten Офлайн
    kriten (Владимир) 20 февраля 2019 10:53
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Либеральное сообщество будет орать. Оно и понятно. Нужны инвестиции от иностранных инвесторов якобы для развития экономики. Свои бабки отправляются за кордон, инвестировать свои в свой народ нельзя. Это резервы на разворовывание. Инвесторы Браудеры, а все они примерно такие: делают фонды (с капиталом 2-3 млрд), чтобы с помощью них, грабя наши предприятия и банки, уволочь минимум десятки миллиардов.
  2. master3 Офлайн
    master3 (Виталий) 21 февраля 2019 18:14
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Калви выразил надежду на справедливое судебное разбирательство

    - ха, наивный, справедливое, в России, это из сказки.
    1. PSih2097 Офлайн
      PSih2097 (Александр Латыш) 21 февраля 2019 21:50
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Цитата: master3
      ха, наивный, справедливое, в России, это из сказки.

      ну у нас правосудие изначально карательное и только если ваша должность как минимум губернатор и выше -- то вы в выигрыше, если ниже, то забудьте...
  3. weddu Офлайн
    weddu (Коля) 1 марта 2019 19:23
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Майкл Калви будет сидеть в тюрьме, или будет обменян, либо, либо.