Poland voluntarily “swallowed the hook” of gas dependence

Warsaw intends to challenge Berlin in its plans to become a major European gas hub. So, Germany expects to receive an additional 55 billion cubic meters of gas from Russia, which will make it the economy more competitive and will allow re-export of “blue fuel” to neighboring countries. Poland is one of the main opponents of Nord Stream-2 in the Old World, and that's why.




U.S. Ambassador to Poland Georgette Mosbacher promised Warsaw that it would become the main center for re-exporting American LNG to the European Union:

Poland will become the center of re-export in this region.


What are the reasons for the Poles to hope to pull the palm from the Germans to their side?

First of all, you need to understand that Poland itself is a country dependent on external gas supplies. It is easy to guess that it is supplied from the Russian Federation under an old contract concluded already in 1996. So, Gazprom accounts for 67% in Poland. Warsaw periodically tries to bargain for more favorable terms under a long-term contract with a domestic monopolist. So what then do the Poles expect?

At first, this country has its own gas production, which produces about 4 billion cubic meters of a little more than 19 billion consumed annually.

Secondly, Warsaw has planned the construction of its own gas pipeline called Baltic Pipe, which will have to supply about 10 billion cubic meters of gas per year from Norway. True, there is a possibility that Sweden and Denmark may also connect to the pipe, which will reduce the amount of “blue fuel” reaching Polish consumers.

Thirdly, Poland built its own regasification LNG terminal in иноwinoujцеcie. According to some estimates, the total cost of the project with all associated costs amounted to about 1 billion euros. The launch took place in 2015, and the Polish authorities then announced:

Poland has reached its strategic goal: we are independent in the gas issue.


Well, speaking objectively, we are only talking about replacing one dependency with another. So, at the end of last year, the Polish gas company signed a long-term contract for 24 years on the supply of LNG with the American company Cheniere Marketing International. At the same time, an agreement was signed on the purchase of liquefied natural gas from another company from the United States Venture Global LNG for 20 years. Centrica Britons also made a sign, signing a supply agreement for the next 5 years.

Thus, Warsaw voluntarily swallowed the hook of energy dependence on the Anglo-Saxons. But where does the status of a regional gas hub?

Both the European Commission and, in particular, Germany agreed to purchase LNG from the United States under pressure from Donald Trump. There are already unloaded LNG terminals in Europe, and construction of new ones is planned. In this situation, it is completely incomprehensible how Warsaw intends to become a regional gas distribution hub in the economic and, especially, technical aspect.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Польша добровольно «заглотила крючок» газовой зависимости

Варшава намерена бросить вызов Берлину в его планах стать крупным европейским газовым хабом. Так, ФРГ рассчитывает получать дополнительные 55 миллиардов кубометров газа из России, что сделает ее экономику более конкурентоспособной и позволит производить реэкспорт «голубого топлива» в соседние страны. Польша же является одной из главных противниц «Северного потока-2» в Старом свете, и вот почему.





Посол США в Польше Джорджетт Мосбахер пообещала Варшаве, что именно она станет главным центром реэкспорта американского СПГ в Европейском союзе:

Польша станет центром реэкспорта в данном регионе.


Какие же есть основания у поляков надеяться перетянуть пальму первенства от немцев на свою сторону?

Прежде всего, необходимо понимать, что Польша сама является страной, зависящей от поставок газа извне. Нетрудно догадаться, что поставляется он из Российской Федерации по старому контракту, заключенному аж в 1996 году. Так вот, на долю «Газпрома» в Польше приходится 67%. Варшава периодически пытается выторговать более выгодные условия по долгосрочному договору с отечественным монополистом. Так на что же тогда рассчитывают поляки?

Во-первых, в этой стране ведется собственная добыча газа, которая дает около 4 миллиардов кубов из чуть более 19 миллиардов, потребляемых ежегодно.

Во-вторых, Варшава запланировала строительство собственного газопровода под названием Baltic Pipe, который должен будет поставлять порядка 10 миллиардов кубометров газа в год из Норвегии. Правда, есть вероятность, что к трубе могут подсоединиться также Швеция и Дания, что уменьшит количество «голубого топлива», доходящего до польских потребителей.

В-третьих, Польша построила собственный регазификационный СПГ-терминал в Свиноуйсьце. По некоторым оценкам, общая стоимость проекта со всеми сопутствующими издержками составила около 1 миллиарда евро. Запуск состоялся в 2015 году, и польские власти тогда заявили:

Польша достигла своей стратегической цели: мы независимы в газовом вопросе.


Ну, если говорить объективно, то речь идет лишь о замене одной зависимости на другую. Так, в конце прошлого года польская газовая компания заключила долгосрочный договор на 24 года о поставках СПГ с американской компанией Cheniere Marketing International. Тогда же было подписано соглашение о закупках сжиженного природного газа и у другой компании из США Venture Global LNG на 20 лет. Подсуетились и англичане из Centrica, подписав договор о поставках на ближайшие 5 лет.

Таким образом, Варшава добровольно заглотила крючок энергетической зависимости от англосаксов. Но причем тут статус регионального газового хаба?

И Еврокомиссия, и, в частности, Германия согласились на закупку СПГ из США под давлением Дональда Трампа. В Европе уже имеются незагруженные СПГ-терминалы, запланировано строительство еще и новых. При таком раскладе совершенно непонятно, как Варшава намеревается становиться региональным газораспределительным хабом в экономическом и, тем более, техническом аспекте.
Использованы фотографии: https://karatec.com.au
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти