The UN called on Moscow and Washington to reduce nuclear arsenals

A bilateral agreement between Russia and the United States on measures to further reduce and limit strategic offensive arms, called START-3, was signed in Prague (Czech Republic) in April 2010. In February 2011, it entered into force. START-3 is designed for 10 years, with the possibility of its extension (by mutual agreement of the parties) for 5 years.




But considering that strategic the line that the US Administration has been pursuing in recent years, many have serious doubts about whether Washington might want to extend START-3. And it doesn’t matter if Donald Trump remains for a second term or a new inhabitant appears in the Oval Office of the White House.

Therefore, it is not surprising that UN Secretary General António Guterres, on February 25, 2019, called on Moscow and Washington to extend START III before 3. Calling it the only international legal instrument to limit the size of the two largest nuclear arsenals. He stated this in Geneva, speaking at the winter session of the Conference on Disarmament.

In addition, he urged the parties to think about a new, even greater reduction in their nuclear arsenals. In his opinion, Moscow and Washington will have enough time for this - as much as five years after the extension of START-3.

He added that the mutual inspections envisaged by START-3 are an extremely important confidence-building measure between Russia and the United States. And he dreams of the day when such bilateral treaties become multilateral.
  • Photos used: https://sm-news.ru/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Tatyana Offline Tatyana
    Tatyana 25 February 2019 23: 30
    +1
    The UN is not the organization that was originally.
    They do not enter the same water twice.
    The USA will not change. Therefore, Russia has no reason to step twice on the same rake of unilateral, namely Russian, disarmament.
    Enough for the UN to fool Russia's head!
    The UN is sitting near Washington - let it be sitting next to Washington!
    The UN of Russia is no longer a decree!

В ООН призвали Москву и Вашингтон к сокращению ядерных арсеналов

Двухсторонний договор между Россией и США о мерах по дальнейшему сокращению и ограничению стратегических наступательных вооружений, именуемый СНВ-3, был подписан в Праге (Чехия) в апреле 2010 года. В феврале 2011 года он вступил в силу. СНВ-3 рассчитан на 10 лет, с возможностью его продления (по взаимному согласию сторон) на 5 лет.



Но учитывая ту стратегическую линию, которую проводит Администрация США в последние годы, у многих возникают серьезные сомнения по поводу того, что у Вашингтона может возникнуть желание продлить СНВ-3. Причем не важно, останется Дональд Трамп на второй срок или в Овальном кабинете Белого дома появится новый обитатель.


Поэтому не удивительно, что генсек ООН Антониу Гутерреш, 25 февраля 2019 года, призвал Москву и Вашингтон продлить действие СНВ-3 еще до наступления 2021 года. Назвав его единственным международным легальным инструментом по ограничению размеров двух самых крупных ядерных арсеналов. Об этом он заявил в Женеве, выступая на зимней сессии Конференции по разоружению.

Кроме того, он призвал стороны подумать о новом, еще большем, сокращении своих ядерных арсеналов. По его мнению, у Москвы и Вашингтона будет достаточно времени на это - целых пять лет, после продления СНВ-3.

Он добавил, что предусмотренные СНВ-3 взаимные инспекции являются крайне важной мерой построения доверия между Россией и США. И он мечтает о том дне, когда такие двусторонние договоры станут многосторонними.
Использованы фотографии: https://sm-news.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Татьяна Офлайн
    Татьяна 25 февраля 2019 23:30
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    ООН - это уже не та организация, которая была изначально.
    Дважды в одну и ту же воду не входят.
    США не изменятся. Поэтому и России не к чему дважды наступать на одни и те же грабли одностороннего, а именно российского, разоружения.
    Хватит ООН дурить России голову!
    Сидит ООН под Вашингтоном - вот и пусть сидит под Вашингтоном и дальше!
    ООН России - больше не указ!