What made Iran’s chief diplomat leave his post?

Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Jawad Zarif announced his resignation. This event will inevitably have certain consequences, since Zarif was a symbolic figure not only for the Iranian, but also for the world policy.




Mohammad Zarif is considered one of the initiators of Iran’s agreements with the world community regarding the fate of the Iranian nuclear program. Zarif held the post of head of the Iranian diplomatic department for almost six years - since August 2013.

What is the reason for the resignation of the head of the Iranian Foreign Ministry is not reported. But it is known that the 59-year-old diplomat himself apologized for his "inability to continue serving." Also, the reaction to the resignation of Iranian President Hassan Rouhani is still unknown.

Zarif caused quite negative emotions among the American leadership. So, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo called Mohammad Zarif the puppet of the "religious mafia" that rules Iran.

However, Pompeo also characterizes the current Iranian president, Hassan Rouhani, emphasizing that the fullness of political decision-making is in the hands of Ayatollah Ali Khamenei and his entourage, consisting of Shiite theocrats.

Recall that not so long ago, US President Donald Trump announced the withdrawal of the American state from a nuclear deal with Iran. It is possible that this circumstance, and it was Zarif who was one of the architects of the deal, influenced the political fate of the Iranian diplomat.

But, on the other hand, for a long time after the United States withdrew from the deal, he continued to fulfill his duties, and Washington’s behavior was never the basis for Tehran to make any personnel decisions.

Therefore, if some external factors could affect the resignation of Zarif, then not the United States. Most likely, we can talk about some contradictions within the Iranian elite, including between representatives of secular authorities and religious circles, which have the authority to control secular authority.
  • Photos used: http://www.irna.ir
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Что заставило уйти со своего поста главного дипломата Ирана?

Министр иностранных дел Ирана Мохаммад Джавад Зариф объявил о своей отставке. Это событие неизбежно будет иметь определенные последствия, поскольку Зариф был фигурой знаковой не только для иранской, но и для мировой политики.





Мохаммада Зарифа считают одним из инициаторов договоренностей Ирана с мировым сообществом относительно судьбы иранской ядерной программы. Пост главы иранского дипломатического ведомства Зариф занимал почти шесть лет – с августа 2013 года.

С чем связана отставка главы иранского МИД пока не сообщается. Но известно, что сам 59-летний дипломат принес извинения за свою «неспособность продолжать службу». Также неизвестна пока и реакция на отставку президента Ирана Хасана Роухани.

Зариф вызывал довольно негативные эмоции у американского руководства. Так, госсекретарь США Майк Помпео назвал Мохаммада Зарифа марионеткой «религиозной мафии», которая управляет Ираном.

Впрочем, также Помпео характеризует и действующего иранского президента Хасана Роухани, подчеркивая, что вся полнота принятия политических решений находится в руках аятоллы Али Хаменеи и его окружения, состоящего из шиитских теократов.

Напомним, что не столь давно президент США Дональд Трамп заявил о выходе американского государства из ядерной сделки с Ираном. Возможно, что это обстоятельство, а ведь именно Зариф и был одним из архитекторов сделки, повлияло на политическую судьбу иранского дипломата.

Но, с другой стороны, он уже длительное время после выхода США из сделки продолжал выполнять свои обязанности, да и поведение Вашингтона никогда не было для Тегерана основанием для принятия каких-то кадровых решений.

Поэтому, если какие-то внешние факторы и могли повлиять на отставку Зарифа, то никак не США. Скорее всего, речь может идти о каких-то противоречиях внутри самой иранской элиты, в том числе и между представителями светской власти и религиозных кругов, которые обладают полномочиями контроля над светской властью.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.irna.ir
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти