U.S. House of Representatives Votes Against Wall On Mexico Border

The domestic political struggle in the United States continues to escalate and the closer the date of the next presidential election (November 3, 2020), the more tense the situation. It became known that on February 26, 2019, the House of Representatives (lower house of the U.S. Parliament) voted to repeal the decree of the current U.S. President Donald Trump on the introduction of the state of emergency on the border with Mexico.




It should be noted that before this, on February 15, 2019, Trump announced a state of emergency to take advantage of the $ 6,4 billion budget money he needs to build a wall and other barriers (protective and engineering structures) at the mentioned border. Congress objected, but Trump decided to circumvent the ban by introducing an emergency, after which, according to the US Constitution, any budget expenses (at the request of the president) would have to be approved by lawmakers. Trump explained his actions by the need to combat crime and illegal migration.

The reaction of parliamentarians and Trump rivals was instant. They challenged the president’s actions in court because they did not want him to fulfill his election promise in 2015, which was just about building a wall on the border with Mexico. As for voting in the House of Representatives, 245 deputies voted for the annulment of Trump's decision, against 182. For the Democratic Party (opposition Trump), this vote was not difficult, since it controls the House of Representatives. With the upper house of Congress, the Senate, where the Republican party (Trump supporters) has the majority, things will not be so simple.

At the same time, Trump had already stated on the eve that if his actions (construction of the wall) were banned, he would use the veto. Then parliamentarians will need two-thirds of the vote to overcome the president’s veto.

It must be recalled that the dispute between Trump and lawmakers did not start yesterday. And it has already led to a 35-day shutdown (budget crisis), when, due to lack of funding, various federal departments partially suspended their work, and 800 thousand civil servants ended up on unpaid leave.
  • Photos used: https://surfingbird.ru/
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Палата представителей США проголосовала против стены на границе с Мексикой

Внутриполитическая борьба в США продолжает обостряться и чем ближе дата очередных президентских выборов (3 ноября 2020 года), тем обстановка становится более напряженной. Стало известно, что 26 февраля 2019 года Палата представителей (нижняя палата парламента Конгресса США) проголосовала за отмену указа действующего президента США Дональда Трампа о введении на границе с Мексикой режима чрезвычайного положения (ЧП).



Нужно отметить, что перед этим, 15 февраля 2019 года, Трамп объявил о режиме ЧП, чтобы воспользоваться $6,4 млрд. бюджетных денег, которые ему нужны для строительства стены и прочих заграждений (защитных и инженерных сооружений) на упомянутой границе. Конгресс возражал, но Трамп решил обойти запрет введением ЧП, после этого, по конституции США, любые расходы бюджета (по требованию президента) должны были бы быть одобрены законодателями. Трамп объяснил свои действия необходимостью борьбы с преступностью и нелегальной миграцией.


Реакция парламентариев и конкурентов Трампа была моментальной. Они оспорили действия президента в суде, так как не хотят, чтобы он исполнил свое предвыборное обещание, данное в 2015 году, которое как раз касалось строительства стены на границе с Мексикой. Что касается голосования в Палате представителей, то за отмену решения Трампа проголосовало 245 депутатов, против - 182. Для Демократической партии (оппозиционной Трампу) это голосование было не сложным, так как она контролирует Палату представителей. С верхней палатой Конгресса, Сенатом, где большинство у Республиканской партии (сторонников Трампа), все будет не так просто.

При этом Трамп накануне уже заявил, что в случае, если на его действия (строительство стены) будет наложен запрет, то он воспользуется правом вето. Тогда для преодоления вето президента парламентариям потребуется две трети голосов.

Нужно напомнить, что спор между Трампом и законодателями начался не вчера. И он уже привел к 35-дневному шатдауну (бюджетному кризису), когда из-за отсутствия финансирования частично приостановили работу различные федеральные ведомства, а 800 тыс. государственных служащих оказались в неоплачиваемом отпуске.
Использованы фотографии: https://surfingbird.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти