Details of US Cyber ​​Attack on Russian Troll Factory Revealed

It became known that in November 2018, the US Cyber ​​Command (US Cyber ​​Command), which is behind the US National Security Agency (NSA), allegedly carried out a hacker attack on the Russian Federal Agency News (FAN) The editorial office of the FAN itself spoke in detail about this after the American publication The Washington Post distributed untrue information on February 26, 2019.




The Washington Post announced the disconnection from the Internet of a certain Internet Research Agency (according to the Pentagon classification - IRA) or the Troll Factory (according to the classification of the Western press), allegedly associated with businessman Yevgeny Prigozhin. In this regard, the FAN editorial office said that it had decided to disclose information about what had happened to counter speculation on this topic.

So, on November 5, 2018, about 22 hours Moscow time. the RAID controller on the FAN intra-office server was destroyed and 2 out of four hard drives were disabled. Winchesters were also formatted on servers rented in Sweden and Estonia, which were used to service USAReally site mirrors, which were specially created in case the main server was blocked.

The Americans were unable to block the USAReally project and he continued his work as usual, covering violations in the US election. Then, on November 8, 2018, a Russian citizen and chief editor of the portal, Alexander Malkevich, was detained at a U.S. airport, who was later released due to the absence of any violations of U.S. law in his work.

It is noted that a few days before the attack on the personal mail of one of the employees of the FAN received a letter with an attachment. It pointed out some important information about the U.S. elections scheduled for November 6, 2018. After unpacking, the computer was infected with a virus that used the hidden features of the Windows operating system, so the Americans got full remote control over one of the computers in the editorial office of the FAN. The Americans failed to infect the entire FAN network and take control of other computers. After an attack was discovered, the FAN IT department conducted an audit of the office’s Wi-Fi networks.

Moreover, initially at the FAN in general, everything that was happening was perceived as yet another unprofessional attempt by self-taught hackers to get in somewhere and “pioneer” something. The thing is that since the formation of the agency, i.e. since 2014, various DDOS attacks, hacking attempts and other misfortunes have regularly rained on him. In short, the agency will not surprise anyone. FAN employees regularly receive SMS messages in broken Russian from African mobile numbers and other elements of ineffective and low-professional trolling. But FAN reporters are not used to it.

As it turned out, the main source of infection was the regular Apple iPhone 7 Plus of one of the FAN employees, who was connected by cable to the USB port of a personal computer that does not have access to the Internet. The gadget automatically downloaded malicious files and provided attackers with remote access. After that, the editorial office of the FAN banned the use of Apple phones to connect to computers.

As for the access of Americans to the above servers in Europe (Sweden and Estonia), they received it in a generally primitive way. Even without cyber operation. European companies simply provided US Cyber ​​Command with everything they requested.

In this regard, the editorial office of the FAN believes that, despite the statements of the Western media about the victory over the “Troll Factory”, in fact the Americans did not achieve any success. Actually the operation of the Americans on technical FAN infrastructure was a failure. And the US Cyber ​​Command itself is “courageously” silent about this.
  • Photos used: https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bakht Online Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 February 2019 10: 01
    0
    These moments are the biggest concern:

    Who used hidden features Windows operating system.
    Gadget automatically downloaded malicious files and provided attackers with remote access.
    European companies just provided us cyber command all that they demanded.
  2. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 28 February 2019 11: 21
    0
    Some kind of nonsense. If the PC is specially always disconnected from the network, how was the employee able to connect an iPhone to it? What kind of mess in this place?

Раскрыты подробности кибератаки США на российскую «Фабрику троллей»

Стало известно, что в ноябре 2018 года Киберкомандование США (US Cyber Command), за которым стоит Агентство национальной безопасности (АНБ) США, якобы провело хакерскую атаку на российское Федеральное агентство новостей (ФАН). Об этом подробно рассказала сама редакция ФАН, после того как 26 февраля 2019 года американское издание The Washington Post распространило неправдивую информацию.




The Washington Post сообщила об отключении от сети Интернет некого «Агентства интернет-исследований» (по классификации Пентагона – IRA) или «Фабрики троллей» (по классификации западной прессы), якобы связанного с бизнесменом Евгением Пригожиным. В связи с этим, редакция ФАН заявила, что приняла решение раскрыть информацию о случившемся для противодействия спекуляциям на данную тему.

Итак, 5 ноября 2018 года около 22 часов по мск. был уничтожен RAID контроллер на внутриофисном сервере ФАН и выведено из строя 2 жестких диска из четырех. Были также отформатированы винчестеры на арендованных в Швеции и Эстонии серверах, использовавшихся для обслуживания зеркал сайта USAReally, которые были специально созданы на случай блокировки основного сервера.

Американцам не удалось заблокировать работу проект USAReally и он продолжил свою работу в штатном режиме, освещая нарушения на американских выборах. После чего 8 ноября 2018 года в одном из аэропортов США был задержан гражданин России и главный редактор портала Александр Малькевич, которого позже отпустили, в связи с отсутствием в его работе каких-либо нарушений законодательства США.

Отмечается, что за несколько дней до атаки на личную почту одного из работников ФАН пришло письмо с вложением. Там было указано на некую важную информацию о выборах в США, назначенных на 6 ноября 2018 года. После распаковки компьютер был заражен вирусом, который использовал скрытые возможности операционной системы Windows, таким образом, американцы получили полный удаленный контроль над одним из компьютеров в редакции ФАН. Заразить всю сеть ФАН и взять под контроль другие компьютеры, американцам не удалось. После обнаружения атаки IT-департамент ФАН провел аудит Wi-Fi сетей офиса.

Более того, первоначально в ФАН вообще все происходящее восприняли за очередную непрофессиональную попытку хакеров-самоучек куда-нибудь залезть и что-нибудь «спионерить». Все дело в том, что начиная с момента образования агентства, т.е. с 2014 года, на него регулярно сыпятся различные ДДОС-атаки, попытки взломов и прочие напасти. Короче, в агентстве этим никого не удивишь. Сотрудникам ФАН регулярно приходят на телефоны смс на ломаном русском языке с африканских мобильных номеров и прочие элементы малоэффективного и низкопрофессионального троллинга. Но, журналистам ФАН не привыкать.

Как выяснилось, основным источником заражения стал обычный Apple iPhone 7 Plus одного из сотрудников ФАН, который был подключен кабелем к USB разъему персонального компьютера не имеющему доступ к сети Интернет. Гаджет автоматически загружал вредоносные файлы и предоставил злоумышленникам удаленный доступ. После этого в редакции ФАН запретили использовать телефоны компании Apple для подключения к компьютерам.

Что касается доступа американцев к вышеуказанным серверам в Европе (Швеции и Эстонии), то они его получили вообще примитивным способом. Даже без кибероперации. Европейские компании просто предоставили US Cyber Command все, что те потребовали.

В связи с этим редакция ФАН считает, что, несмотря на заявления западных СМИ о победе над «Фабрикой троллей», по факту американцы не добились никакого успеха. Фактически операция американцев на техническую инфраструктуру ФАН была провальной. Да и само US Cyber Command «мужественно» молчит по данному поводу.
Использованы фотографии: https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 февраля 2019 10:01
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Вот эти моменты и вызывают самое большое беспокойство:

    Который использовал скрытые возможности операционной системы Windows.
    Гаджет автоматически загружал вредоносные файлы и предоставил злоумышленникам удаленный доступ.
    Европейские компании просто предоставили US Cyber Command все, что те потребовали.
  2. kriten Офлайн
    kriten (Владимир) 28 февраля 2019 11:21
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Какой-то бред. Если ПК специально всегда отключен от сети, то как работник смог подключить к нему Айфон? Что за бардак в этом заведении?