Hubble's legendary telescope is preparing a powerful replacement

NASA Aerospace Agency intends to make a breakthrough in the study of space and the nature of our universe as a whole. For this, the innovative WFIRST Wide-Range Infrared Telescope will be created. According to an article published by the Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series, scientists believe that the new device will be able to detect up to 1,4 thousand previously unknown exoplanets. Plus, it is possible that the telescope will contribute to the search for extraterrestrial life, the existence of which many researchers are eager to prove.




It is worth noting that the concept of Wide Field Infrared Survey Telescope was first considered back in 2011. After this, the characteristics of the device underwent many changes. And finally, NASA approved the development of a new telescope in 2016. And in 2018, the latter underwent an expert assessment and entered the design phase. The launch of WFIRST is scheduled for the mid-2020s, right after its “colleague” called “James Webb”. At the same time, the budget allocated for the creation of the apparatus, according to the documentation, will amount to 3,2 billion dollars.

In addition to discovering new worlds, which will be a continuation of the mission of the Kepler Observatory, the Wide-Range Infrared Telescope is designed to study outer space in more detail, trying to find out the nature of hitherto unknown dark matter. Search for exoplanets WFIRST will be through the method of gravitational microlensing. This approach will determine not only the mass of the celestial body, but also the remoteness of the latter from its star. According to scientists, the camera of the new telescope will be able to scan our galaxy 100 times faster than the legendary Hubble.
  • Photos used: https://hi-news.ru
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Легендарному телескопу «Хаббл» готовят мощную замену

Аэрокосмическое агентство NASA намерено совершить прорыв в изучении космоса и природы нашей Вселенной в целом. Для этого будет создан инновационный «Широкодиапазонный инфракрасный телескоп» WFIRST. Как говорится в статье, опубликованной изданием Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series, ученые считают, что новый аппарат сможет обнаружить до 1,4 тыс. ранее неизвестных экзопланет. Плюс ко всему, не исключено, что телескоп внесет вклад и в поиск внеземной жизни, существование которой так жаждут доказать многие исследователи.




Стоит отметить, что концепция Wide Field Infrared Survey Telescope впервые была рассмотрена еще в 2011 году. После этого характеристики аппарата претерпели множество изменений. И вот, наконец, NASA дало добро на разработку нового телескопа в 2016 году., а в 2018-м последний прошел экспертную оценку и перешел в фазу проектирования. Запуск WFIRST запланирован на середину 2020-х годов, сразу после его «коллеги» под названием «Джеймс Уэбб». При этом бюджет, выделенный на создание аппарата, согласно документации, составит 3,2 млрд. долларов.

Кроме обнаружения новых миров, что станет продолжением миссии обсерватории «Кеплер», «Широкодиапазонный инфракрасный телескоп» призван более детально изучить космическое пространство, пытаясь выяснить природу неизведанной доселе темной материи. Осуществлять поиск экзопланет WFIRST будет посредством метода гравитационного микролинзирования. Данный подход позволит определять не только массу небесного тела, но и удаленность последнего от своей звезды. По словам ученых, камера нового телескопа сможет сканировать нашу галактику в 100 раз быстрее легендарного «Хаббла».
Использованы фотографии: https://hi-news.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти