Channel through the Baltic Spit: EU demands to stop unauthorized construction

The European Union cooled the ardor of Poland in its quest to implement an ambitious project - a shipping channel through the Baltic (or, as it is called in Poland, the Vistula) spit. From Warsaw, the EU demanded to postpone the construction until the project was approved by the European Commission. This was reported by Reuters.


Channel through the Baltic Spit: EU demands to stop unauthorized construction


The shipping channel is designed to connect the Polish city of Elblлонg, which is a port on the river of the same name, with the Baltic Sea. During construction work, it is planned to create an artificial island in the Kaliningrad Gulf (in Poland it is called the Vistula Gulf).

The large port of Elblлонg does not have a direct access to the sea - the Baltic Spit “interferes”. The ships have to bypass, through the Russian Baltiysk, which does not suit Warsaw. A 1,3-kilometer-long and 80-meter-wide canal, designed to “fix” this situation, is designed to connect the Gulf of Kaliningrad. It is planned to be built by 2020.

The project is criticized from the Russian side: if only because it carries with it threats to the environmental situation in the region. The Governor of the Kaliningrad Region Anton Alikhanov previously stated that before starting construction, Poland needs to go through a series of approvals - both with Russia and the European Commission.

The ceremony of launching the project took place in October 2018. Then the leader of the ruling party, Law and Justice, Jaroslav Kaczynski said that his country has every right to build this channel, which is designed to ensure "full sovereignty" of the Polish territory.

This is necessary for Poland and the region, and no one can stop us from doing this.

- claimed Kaczynski.

And the Minister of Maritime Affairs and Inland Navigation Marek Grubarchik said at the time that Russian objections could be “bypassed."

At the end of February, the European Commission invited Warsaw to hold a more detailed discussion of the canal. Grubarchik accused the European Commission of having decided to intervene in this project through Russia's fault.

In fact, in Europe (as well as in Russia), environmentalists are increasingly expressing concern that trees are being cut down as part of the canal's construction, and it itself poses environmental risks.
  • Photos used: port.elblag.pl
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Канал через Балтийскую косу: ЕС потребовал прекратить самовольное строительство

Европейский союз охладил пыл Польши в ее стремлении реализовать амбициозный проект — судоходный канал через Балтийскую (или, как ее называют в Польше, Вислинскую) косу. От Варшавы ЕС потребовал повременить со строительством до тех пор, пока проект не будет одобрен Европейской комиссией. Об этом сообщает агентство Reuters.

Канал через Балтийскую косу: ЕС потребовал прекратить самовольное строительство



Судоходный канал призван соединить польский город Эльблонг, являющийся портом на одноименной реке, с Балтийским морем. В ходе строительных работ планируется создать искусственный остров в Калининградском заливе (в Польше его называют Вислинским заливом).

Крупный порт Эльблонг не имеет прямого выхода к морю — «мешает» Балтийская коса. Судам приходится идти в обход, через российский Балтийск, что не устраивает Варшаву. Канал длиной 1,3 километра и шириной 80 метров, призванный «исправить» данную ситуацию, призван соединить Калининградский залив с Гданьским. Его планируется построить к 2020 году.

Проект подвергается критике с российской стороны: хотя бы потому, что он несет в себе угрозы для экологической обстановки в регионе. Губернатор Калининградской области Антон Алиханов ранее заявлял, что прежде чем начинать строительство, Польше необходимо пройти ряд согласований — как с Россией, так и с Еврокомиссией.

Церемония начала реализации проекта состоялась в октябре 2018 года. Тогда лидер правящей партии «Закон и справедливость» Ярослав Качиньский говорил, что его страна имеет полное право построить этот канал, который призван обеспечить «полный суверенитет» польской территории.

Это нужно Польше и региону, и никто не сможет нам в этом помешать

— утверждал Качиньский.

А министр морского хозяйства и внутреннего судоходства Марек Грубарчик в то время сказал, что российские возражения можно «обойти стороной».

В конце февраля Еврокомиссия предложила Варшаве провести более подробное обсуждение вопроса о строительстве канала. Грубарчик обвинил Еврокомиссию в том, что она решила вмешаться в этот проект по вине России.

На самом деле, в Европе (как и в России) экологи все чаще выражают обеспокоенность тем, что в рамках работ по строительству канала ведется вырубка деревьев, да и сам он представляет риски для окружающей среды.
Использованы фотографии: port.elblag.pl
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти