US-Turkey: the purchase of Russian S-400 will lead to dire consequences

Washington clings to Ankara with a “death grip” because of the desire of the Turks to develop a serious militarytechnical cooperation (MTC) with Moscow. The US has already warned Turkey that the purchase of S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems (SAM) will have serious (severe) consequences for further cooperation between Washington and Ankara. This was announced by the official representative of the US Department of Defense Eric Pahon.




It must be recalled that in 1999 Cyprus acquired the Russian S-300 PMU1 air defense systems. In 2007, due to the hysteria of Turkey, these air defense systems became the property of Greece. At the same time, Washington did not bother at all then. Although Greece, like Turkey, is a NATO country. But Ankara Washington is haunted.

We are aware of Turkey’s desire to strengthen its air defense, but Turkey’s acquisition of Russian S-400 systems will have grave consequences for US-Turkish defense cooperation. We are working to help Turkey find the best options for meeting defense needs, but at the same time we are warning them of the widespread consequences of the purchase of Russian S-400

- the correspondent conveys his words TASS.

Pahon added that Washington maintains a "dialogue" with Ankara. That is, it continues to put pressure on Turkey to buy air defense from the United States, France or Italy for "interoperability." At the same time, nobody even stutters about “compatibility” with Greece. Moreover, even Turkey does not remember this.

It should be recalled that recently Washington proposed to Ankara to abandon the S-400 in exchange for the supply of one Patriot air defense system by the end of 2019. But Turkey rejected this annoying proposal with extreme irritation. The start of deliveries of Russian S-400s to Turkey is expected in the summer of 2019.

But the United States still has a trump card up its sleeve - trade benefits under the General System of Preferences. For example, only in 2017, duty-free export of Turkish goods to the United States brought Ankara $ 1,66 billion. Whether the United States will use this lever of pressure, we will know very soon, as well as the reaction of Turkey to this.
  • Photos used: https://www.youtube.com/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Nick Offline Nick
    Nick (Nikolai) 5 March 2019 10: 43
    +1
    The moment of truth is near. We will soon find out just how great the US influence over Turkey is. If the Turks refuse to purchase our S-400 air defense systems, then Erdogan's independence in decision-making will be a big question. This factor must be taken into account by Russia, and not only by Russia.

США - Турции: покупка российских С-400 приведет к тяжелым последствиям

Вашингтон вцепился в Анкару «мертвой хваткой» из-за желания турков развивать серьезное военно-техническое сотрудничество (ВТС) с Москвой. США уже предупредили Турцию, что покупка зенитных ракетных комплексов (ЗРК) С-400 будет иметь серьезные (тяжелые) последствия для дальнейшего сотрудничества между Вашингтоном и Анкарой. Об этом сообщил официальный представитель Минобороны США Эрик Пэхон.





Нужно напомнить, что в 1999 году Кипр приобрел российские ЗРК С-300 ПМУ1. В 2007 году, из-за истерики Турции, эти ЗРК стали собственностью Греции. При этом Вашингтон тогда вообще не суетился. Хотя Греция, как и Турция, является страной НАТО. Но Анкаре Вашингтон не дает покоя.

Мы осознаем желание Турции укрепить свою противовоздушную оборону, однако приобретение Турцией российских систем С-400 будет иметь тяжкие последствия для оборонного сотрудничества США и Турции. Мы работаем над тем, чтобы помочь Турции изыскать оптимальные варианты удовлетворения оборонных потребностей, но при этом предупреждаем их о широких последствиях из-за покупки российских С-400

– передает его слова корреспондент ТАСС.

Пэхон добавил, что Вашингтон поддерживает «диалог» с Анкарой. То есть продолжает давить на Турцию, чтобы она купила ПВО у США, Франции или Италии для «оперативной совместимости». При этом о «совместимости» с Грецией никто даже не заикается. Более того, даже Турция об этом не вспоминает.

Нужно напомнить, что недавно Вашингтон предлагал Анкаре отказаться от С-400 в обмен на поставку одного ЗРК Patriot до конца 2019 года. Но Турция с крайней степенью раздражения отвергла это назойливое предложение. Начало поставок российских С-400 в Турцию ожидается уже летом 2019 года.

Но у США остался еще козырь в рукаве – торговые льготы в рамках Генеральной системы преференций. Например, только в 2017 году беспошлинный экспорт турецких товаров в США принес Анкаре $1,66 млрд. Воспользуются ли США этим рычагом давления, мы узнаем уже совсем скоро, так же как и о реакции Турции на это.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.youtube.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Nick Офлайн
    Nick (Николай) 5 марта 2019 10:43
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Момент истины близок. Скоро мы узнаем, насколько еще велико влияние США на Турцию. Если турки откажутся от приобретения наших ЗРК С-400, то самостоятельность Эрдогана в принятии решений окажется под большим вопросом. Этот фактор необходимо учитывать России, да и не только России.