The Arab Spring is approaching Algeria: what should Russia do?

Following the decision of 82-year-old Algerian President Abdel Aziz Boutefliki to run for a new term, the country was seized by mass protests. About a million people took to the streets.


It should be said that Bouteflika is a legendary figure for this large African state. The first time he won in 1999 and since then he has never left the presidency, despite his considerable age. He was able to achieve economic growth. In addition, the country was saved from the shocks of the 2011 Arab Spring.

In the West, he has a reputation as a "tyrant" and a "strangler of freedom." But, since Algeria plays an important role in the supply of oil and gas to the EU countries, no one dared to pressure it seriously.

The fact that Algeria escaped from the "Arab Spring" was promoted by the memory of the people who remember the horrors of the war of the 90s, when Islamists tried to seize power. Then killed about 200 people.

Sometimes Bouteflika is called "Algerian Putin." There is, however, a difference: the President of Algeria is seriously ill and has not been shown in public for several years. He is currently undergoing treatment in Switzerland.

Algeria has a lot of young people demanding change. By the standards of Africa, this is a very prosperous country. And she certainly lives better than neighboring Libya, which fell victim to the Arab Spring. However, young people believe that one can live richer. Among other things, they are inspired by the protests of the "Yellow Vests" in France, in which Algerians are taking part.

For over a hundred years, Algeria was a colony of France. Only in 1962, the country gained independence. But close ties remained between the former colony and the metropolis. Thus, France makes billions of dollars in supplies of wheat to Algeria. But recently, a competitor appeared in Paris: Algeria expressed its intention to buy wheat from Russia.

In addition, Moscow supplies weapons to the African state. There is cooperation in other areas. Thus, Russia is not interested in Algeria plunging into chaos, but its geopolitical opponents have different interests.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 March 2019 09: 50
    0
    You must immediately brand them with maydanschiks, find there Georgian snipers, agents of the State Department, and the US biological laboratory!
    Why is this not yet?
  2. Syoma_67 Offline Syoma_67
    Syoma_67 (Semyon) 31 March 2019 19: 37
    0
    We combine the two phrases and get the essence of the article:

    people believe that you can live richer

    Russia is not interested in

    - alas, this is the whole truth.

На Алжир надвигается «Арабская весна»: что делать России?

После решения 82-летнего президента Алжира Абдель Азиза Бутефлики баллотироваться на новый срок страну охватили массовые протесты. Около миллиона человек вышло на улицы.

Следует сказать, что Бутефлика является легендарной личностью для этого крупного африканского государства. Первый раз он победил в 1999 году и с тех пор уже не покидал президентского поста, несмотря на свой солидный возраст. Он смог добиться экономического роста. Кроме того, страну удалось уберечь от потрясений «Арабской весны» 2011 года.



На Западе у него репутация «тирана» и «душителя свободы». Но, поскольку Алжир играет важную роль в поставках в страны ЕС нефти и газа, давить на него всерьез никто не решился.

Тому, что Алжир спасся от «Арабской весны», поспособствовала память народа, который помнит ужасы войны 90-х годов, когда власть пытались захватить исламисты. Тогда погибли около 200 000 человек.

Иногда Бутефлику называют «алжирским Путиным». Есть, однако, различие: президент Алжира тяжело болен и уже несколько лет практически не показывается на публике. Сейчас он находится на лечении в Швейцарии.

В Алжире очень много молодежи, требующей перемен. По меркам Африки это весьма благополучная страна. И уж точно ей живется лучше, чем соседней Ливии, ставшей жертвой «Арабской весны». Однако молодые люди считают, что можно жить богаче. Помимо всего прочего, они вдохновлены протестами «Желтых жилетов» во Франции, в которых принимают участие, в том числе, алжирцы.

На протяжении более ста лет Алжир был колонией Франции. Лишь в 1962 году страна обрела независимость. Но между бывшими колонией и метрополией сохранились тесные связи. Так, Франция зарабатывает миллиарды долларов на поставках в Алжир пшеницы. Но недавно у Парижа появился конкурент: Алжир выразил намерение покупать пшеницу у России.

К тому же, Москва поставляет в африканское государство оружие. Идет сотрудничество и в других сферах. Таким образом, Россия не заинтересована в том, чтобы Алжир погрузился в хаос, а вот у ее геополитических противников интересы иные.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 11 марта 2019 09:50
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Надо сразу заклеймить их майданщиками, найти там грузинских снайперов, агентов Госдепа, и биолаборатории США!
    Почему этого пока нет?