“Killer Aircraft”: the failure of the Boeing 737 Max and its consequences for Russia

Recent ones news more reminiscent of references to aircraft accidents that were at the dawn of jet aviation.




XNUMXst Century Realities

Modern airliners have almost fantastic reliability: the fear of flights is already perceived not only as a phobia, but also as complete ignorance of the essence of the matter. This has not always been the case. Gazeta.ru, which recently published interesting material about a new catastrophe, recalled the Soviet Tu-104. As you know, in the 50s the USSR tried to catch up and overtake the capitalist world: sometimes it even worked out. However, the new Tu-104 passenger plane became a real curse: of the 200 aircraft built, nearly 40 crashed, and in total, 1137 passengers and crew members died in accidents involving the airliner. It feels like we were talking about military losses in the war, but the thing is that the plane had a lot of conceptual flaws. Aeroflot abandoned it in 1979.

Of course, the “glory” of one of the first-born passenger jet aircraft does not threaten the new Boeing 737 MAX: all the more so since the entire 737 family has a fantastic ten (!) Thousand aircraft already built. They have been in excellent operation around the world since 1968. Boeing was justly among the most reliable passenger aircraft. Until this day.

What exactly happened in the sky over Ethiopia on March 2019, 149 is still not known. And it’s not a fact that we will someday be able to pinpoint the cause of the tragedy. Only the sad result is known: the crashed plane took 2017 passengers and eight crew members into the afterlife. This, as many experts rightly point out, is a very “strange" disaster. The fact is that the Boeing 737 MAX, which was put into operation only in 29, had already managed to get into another, no less terrible accident. More recently, on October 2018, 737, a Boeing 8 MAX crash occurred near Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia. The data has been decrypted. It turned out that the crew prevented lowering of the nose of the aircraft more than twenty times, caused by the new automatic system MCAS (maneuvering characteristics augmentation system), which became know-how specifically for the models MAX 9 and MAX XNUMX. This system is designed to help pilots “steer” the aircraft by adjusting its position in in the air. It was assumed that MCAS will be needed due to an increase in engine thrust on new machines, as well as a change in engine position in the aircraft structure. However, obviously, the system did not work correctly, as it was guided by incorrect sensor readings. There is nothing you can do about it: she, as they say, simply does not turn off. But it is not all that bad. At least at first glance.

MCAS comes into operation only in manual control mode and only with retracted wing mechanization. If the angle of attack sensor determines that the aircraft is in the designated area, MCAS begins to shift the stabilizer to dive at a speed of 0.27 degrees per second, that is, create a tendency to lower the nose of the aircraft, moving the airliner away from dangerous angles of attack in case of disproportional operation by the helm

- wrote in his new article pilot Denis Okan, working as a Boeing 737 commander.


The latest disaster involving 737 Max occurred in very similar circumstances. The plane was obviously operational, and the accident occurred shortly after take-off. At the same time, the pilots reported problems, clearly realized the impossibility of controlling the aircraft in normal mode, and tried to return back. Later it will become known that the plane then sharply lost altitude, then again soared into the sky. In a minute, the fluctuations reached almost 500 meters, which, in general, is not so bad. With one “but”: if the flight is controlled and if the car is at high altitude, and not just just soared into the sky. According to the pilots, the airliner most likely automatically “dived” down, while the pilots tried to lift its nose.

And the plane flew abnormally fast.

The fact is that the most incomprehensible is its speed. The speed is very high. The question is why? The plane accelerated much faster than it should

Says John Cox, a former Boeing 737 pilot.

This acceleration can be explained by only one: the car dived uncontrollably. And experienced (and not even experienced) pilots were well aware that this should not be so. All this will allow us to state with great confidence that the cause of the disaster is not the human factor, but the MCAS system.

On March 15, new evidence of system guilt appeared. Reuters wrote that among the wreckage, there was a part of the stabilizer, indicating that at the time of the crash, the stabilizer was in a position that caused the nose of the aircraft to go down. Perhaps a strange feature, as for an airplane that is about to touch the ground (despite the fact that the pilots obviously clearly saw the danger).

In general, the answer to the question “who is to blame” seems to be found. Now you have to answer the question "what to do."


Competitors do not sleep

Airbus knows best the answer, which has received 11830 orders and delivered 6456 aircraft over the past twelve years. Roughly speaking, as much as Boeing. Airbus can now feel even more confident in the market and promote goods more aggressively. By the way, it has now become known that Indonesia is canceling an order for 49 Boeing 737 Max 8s ...

However, as some analysts say, Europeans simply will not be able to significantly increase the production of cars. Enterprises are already loaded for many years to come. As for Boeing, it will have to be more careful about the description of the device of its aircraft. “There was no MCAS description in FCOM (Flight Crew Operations Manual, - Reporter). Although the abbreviation was on the list of these, ”writes Denis Okan. This, of course, is strange.

Some important conclusions by the Americans have already been made. As early as March 14, Boeing Corporation recommended suspending the operation of all 737 MAX aircraft, although bans on the operation of machines had already been introduced by everyone who could. It also became known that Boeing plans to release a software update for the 737 Max family aircraft in about ten days. This is, without a doubt, the simplest and most correct solution. However, the reputation of the new 737th will still be very much tarnished.

Will Russia be able to take advantage of this? You can, of course, dream up, but it is better to give a short and honest answer: "no." It's all about the difficulties of the MS-21 itself - a conditional competitor to both the Boeing 737 MAX and the Airbus A320neo. Recall that now the MS-21 airliner exists only as a prototype (recently a third test board soared into the sky).


The most unpleasant for the project is sanctions. The West easily blocked the purchase of raw materials from the American Hexcel and Japanese Toray Industries, so that the aircraft was left without a composite wing. Earlier it became known that the creation of the Russian wing will require an additional 2,7 billion rubles and, which is also very important, time. Due to this kind of perturbation, the MS-21 aircraft will be able to start mass production no earlier than 2021. Finally, the third important outcome of the sanctions will probably be the rise in price of the aircraft.

Although even if its value does not “fly up”, it is still far from every customer will want to contact a country that may be banned. Aircraft need not only to buy, but also to discuss, repair. All this requires the closest possible cooperation between the supplier and airlines throughout the world. Policy here plays if not the main, then one of the most important roles.
Author:
Photos used: https://www.airway1.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Foma Fomich Fomichyov 23 March 2019 19: 16
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    For the sake of profit, everything, for the sake of profit ...
    Eat her mother ...
  2. Oleg RB Offline
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 29 March 2019 18: 13
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    I propose to recall the accident and disaster of my beloved Tu-154.
    Emotionless comments will be here though?

«Самолет-убийца»: провал Boeing 737 Max и его последствия для России

Последние новости больше напоминают упоминания про авиационные катастрофы, которые были на заре реактивной авиации.




Реалии XXI века

Современные авиалайнеры имеют почти фантастическую надежность: страх полетов уже воспринимается не только как фобия, но и как полное незнание сути вопроса. Так было не всегда. Издание Gazeta.ru, опубликовавшее недавно интересный материал про новую катастрофу, напомнило про советский Ту-104. Как известно, в 50-е СССР пытался догнать и перегнать капиталистический мир: иногда это даже получалось. Однако новый пассажирский самолет Ту-104 стал настоящим проклятием: из 200 построенных самолетов разбилось почти 40, а всего в происшествиях с участием авиалайнера погибло 1137 пассажиров и членов экипажей. Такое чувство, что речь шла о боевых потерях на войне, но все дело в том, что самолет имел массу недостатков концептуального характера. «Аэрофлот» отказался от него в 1979 году.

Конечно, «слава» одного из первенцев пассажирской реактивной авиации новому Boeing 737 MAX не грозит: тем более, что всего семейство 737-х насчитывает фантастические десять (!) тысяч уже построенных самолетов. Они прекрасно эксплуатируются по всему миру, начиная с 1968 года. «Боинг» справедливо входил в число самых надежных пассажирских самолетов. Вплоть до этого дня.

Что именно произошло в небе над Эфиопией десятого марта 2019 года — до сих пор не известно. И не факт, что мы вообще когда-то сможем точно установить причину трагедии. Известен лишь печальный итог: упавший самолет забрал на тот свет 149 пассажиров и восемь членов экипажа. Это, как справедливо отмечают многие эксперты, очень «странная» катастрофа. Дело в том, что введенный в эксплуатацию всего лишь в 2017 году Boeing 737 MAX уже успел ранее попасть в другую, не менее страшную аварию. Совсем недавно — 29 октября 2018 года — произошла катастрофа Boeing 737 MAX возле Джакарты, столицы Индонезии. Данные расшифровали. Оказалось, что экипаж более двадцати раз предотвращал опускание носа самолета, вызванного новой автоматической системой MCAS (maneuvering characteristics augmentation system), ставший ноу-хау конкретно моделей MAX 8 и MAX 9. Эта системы призвана помогать пилотам «подруливать» самолет, корректируя его положение в воздухе. Предполагалось, что MCAS понадобится в связи с увеличением тяги двигателей на новых машинах, а также изменением положения двигателя в конструкции воздушного судна. Однако, очевидно, система сработала не правильно, так как руководствовалась неверными показателями датчиков. Поделать с ней ничего нельзя: она, как пишут, просто не отключается. Но не все так плохо. По крайней мере, на первый взгляд.

MCAS вступает в работу только в ручном режиме управления и только при убранной механизации крыла. Если датчик угла атаки определил, что самолет находится в обусловленной зоне, MCAS начинает перекладывать стабилизатор на пикирование со скоростью 0.27 град/сек, то есть, создавать тенденцию к опусканию носа самолета, уводя лайнер от опасных углов атаки на случай несоразмеренной работы штурвалом

– написал в своей новой статье летчик Денис Окань, работающий командиром Боинг-737.


Последняя катастрофа с участием 737 Max произошла в очень похожих обстоятельствах. Самолет, очевидно, был исправен, а авария произошла вскоре после взлета. При этом летчики сообщили о проблемах, четко осознавали невозможность управления самолетом в нормальном режиме и пытались вернуться обратно. Уже потом станет известно, что самолет то резко терял высоту, то снова взмывал в небо. За минуту колебания достигали почти 500 метров, что, в целом, не так-то и страшно. При одном «но»: если полет управляемый и если машина находится на большой высоте, а не только-только взмыла в небо. По мнению пилотов, авиалайнер, скорее всего, автоматически «нырял» вниз, в то время как пилоты пытались поднять его нос.

А еще самолет летел аномально быстро.

Дело в том, что самое непонятное — это его скорость. Скорость очень высокая. Вопрос – почему? Самолет ускорялся куда быстрее, чем был должен

– говорит Джон Кокс, бывший пилот Boeing 737.

Такое ускорение можно объяснить только одним: машина неконтролируемо пикировала. И опытные (да даже не опытные) летчики прекрасно понимали, что так не должно быть. Все это позволят с большой уверенностью заявить, что причина катастрофы — не человеческий фактор, а система MCAS.

15 марта появились новые свидетельства вины системы. Reuters писало, что среди обломков — часть стабилизатора, указывающая, что в момент крушения стабилизатор был в положении, заставляющем нос самолета опускаться вниз. Пожалуй, странная особенность, как для самолета, который вот-вот должен коснуться с землей (при том, что летчики, очевидно, хорошо видели опасность).

В общем и целом, на вопрос «кто виноват», похоже, найден ответ. Теперь придется отвечать на вопрос «что делать».


Конкуренты не спят

Лучше всего ответ знает компаниям Airbus, которая за последние двенадцать лет получила 11830 заказов и поставила 6456 самолетов. Грубо говоря, столько же, сколько и Boeing. «Аэробус» теперь может еще более уверенно чувствовать себя на рынке и более агрессивно продвигать товар. К слову, сейчас стало известно, что Индонезия отменяет заказ на 49 самолетов Boeing 737 Max 8…

Впрочем, как говорят некоторые аналитики, у европейцев просто не выйдет существенно нарастить выпуск машин. Предприятия и так загружены на много лет вперед. Что касается Boeing, то ей придется более внимательно относиться к описанию устройства своих самолетов. «Описание MCAS в FCOM (Flight Crew Operations Manual, — Репортер) отсутствовало. Хотя аббревиатура в списке оных была», — пишет Денис Окань. Это, конечно, странно.

Некоторые важные выводы американцами уже сделаны. Еще 14 марта корпорация Boeing рекомендовала приостановить эксплуатацию всех самолетов 737 MAX, хотя запреты на эксплуатацию машин и так ранее ввели все, кто только мог. Также стало известно, что Boeing планирует выпустить обновление программного обеспечения самолетов семейства 737 Max в течение примерно десяти дней. Это, вне сомнения, самое простое и верное решение. Однако репутация нового 737-го все равно будет очень сильно подмоченной.

Сможет ли этим воспользоваться Россия? Можно, конечно, пофантазировать, но лучше дать краткий и честный ответ: «нет». Все дело в трудностях самого МС-21 — условного конкурента как Boeing 737 MAX, так и Airbus A320neo. Напомним, что сейчас лайнер МС-21 существует лишь в качестве прототипа (недавно в небо взмыл третий испытательный борт).


Самое неприятное для проекта — санкции. Запад легко перекрыл закупки сырья у американской Hexcel и японской Toray Industries, так что самолет остался без композитного крыла. Ранее стало известно, что создание российского крыла потребует дополнительных 2,7 миллиарда рублей и, что тоже очень важно, времени. Из-за такого рода пертурбаций самолет МС-21 смогут начать серийно выпускать не раньше 2021 года. Наконец, третим важным итогом санкций станет, вероятно, удорожание самолета.

Хотя даже если его стоимость и не «полетит» вверх, то все равно далеко не каждых заказчик захочет связываться со страной, на которую могут наложить новые запреты. Самолеты нужно не просто купить, но и обсуживать, ремонтировать. Все это требует максимально тесной кооперации между поставщиком и авиакомпаниями по всей Земле. Политика здесь играет если не главную, то одну из важнейших ролей.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.airway1.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Фома Фомич Фомичёв 23 марта 2019 19:16
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ради прибыли, всё, ради прибыли...
    Ети её мать...
  2. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 29 марта 2019 18:13
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Предлагаю вспомнить аварии и катастрофы моего любимого Ту-154.
    Безэмоциональные комменты тут будут хоть?