Mastering hypersound: how it all began

The topic of hypersound in our time is especially heard, it was no less popular in the middle of the last century. The only difference is that now we are talking about deadly weapons, and half a century ago it was a great research program, which was to provide valuable information for civilian and military use.


The history of the development of supersonic speed by manned aircraft began during the Second World War in the United States. In 1943, the U.S. Air Force, together with the National Aeronautics Advisory Center, agreed to create an experimental aircraft capable of breaking the sound barrier. The development was entrusted to the company Bell Aircraft.

The first two aircraft created under this program received the designation X-1. However, due to the insufficient power of the turbojet engines of the time, converted heavy B-29 bombers were used to deliver aircraft to altitude. For the first time, the X-1 aircraft overcame the speed of sound in the fall of 1947.

In 1949, Bell was commissioned to develop a new program, the X-2. Two planes were created, and both failed: the first crashed in the air with the B-50 carrier plane, and the second crashed in the final phase of the flight.

Later, a program was developed that received the designation X-15. The creation of rocket plans for this program was entrusted to North American. Flight tests of the first prototypes began in June 1959.

Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Освоение гиперзвука: как все начиналось

Тема гиперзвука в наше время особенно на слуху, не менее популярна она была и в середине прошлого столетия. Разница лишь в том, что сейчас речь идет о смертоносном оружии, а полвека назад она представляла собой большую исследовательскую программу, которая должна была дать ценные сведения для гражданского и военного применения.

История освоения сверхзвуковой скорости пилотируемыми летательными аппаратами началась еще во времена Второй мировой войны в США. В 1943 году ВВС США совместно с национальным консультативным центром по аэронавтике договорились о создании экспериментального самолета, способного преодолеть звуковой барьер. Разработку поручили компании Bell Aircraft.

Первые два самолета, созданные по этой программе, получили обозначение X-1. Однако из-за недостаточной мощности турбореактивных двигателей того времени для доставки самолетов на высоту использовались переоборудованные тяжелые бомбардировщики B-29. Впервые самолет X-1 преодолел скорость звука осенью 1947 года.


В 1949 году компании Bell поручили разработку новой программы - X-2. Было создано два самолета, и оба потерпели неудачу: первый сгорел в воздухе вместе с самолетом-носителем B-50, а второй потерпел катастрофу в заключительной фазе полета.

Позднее была разработана программа, получившая обозначение X-15. Создание ракетопланов по этой программе поручили компании North American. Летные испытания первых прототипов начались в июне 1959 года.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти