How the US got hooked on the Russian "uranium needle"

Former U.S. Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham called for an urgent relief from Russian uranium supply. He said that the United States purchases more than 40% of nuclear fuel from Russia and the countries of the former Soviet Union.


Such a situation, according to Abraham, threatens US national security. He argues that it is necessary to introduce barrage duties and switch to the purchase of uranium from Canada.

American nuclear power plants generate 20% of the country's electricity, but at the same time they work on imported raw materials. And the United States own uranium industry provides only 11% of the total energy needs.

Back in the last century, the USSR supplied low enriched uranium to the United States. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, when Russia lost part of its resource base, the HEU-LEU agreement was signed, which provided for the supply to the United States of low-enriched uranium processed from highly enriched weapons-grade uranium. This many years of practice has led to the fact that its own American industry fell into decay, and the available Technology uranium enrichment has been lost.

The HEU-LEU agreement expired in 2013. The United States had the opportunity to ship its own weapons-grade uranium to Russia for processing, but this was prohibited by the United States authorities. Therefore, the state corporation Rosatom took a detour, having bought a controlling stake in Uranium One, whose production amounts to 30% of the global uranium production.

The United States, in turn, established uranium exports through Uranium One to Canada to enrich it. Thus, the American energy sector was saved from collapse, but Russia's position on this issue only intensified.


Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 29 March 2019 12: 35
    +1
    Only a betrayal by the authorities of the interests of Russia and its people can be explained by such supplies under the conditions of US sanctions, adopted on a weekly basis. US interests are closer - can they still allow the shoe to kiss and show devotion?
    1. chemyurij Offline chemyurij
      chemyurij (chemyurij) 30 March 2019 22: 34
      0
      Quote: kriten
      Only a betrayal of the interests of Russia and its people by the authorities, can such an explanation be explained under conditions of US sanctions

      And that they did not mention it:

      Back in the last century, the USSR supplied low enriched uranium to the United States. After the collapse of the Soviet Union

      - This was also done under the conditions of sanctions. Speaking of the agreement, it was signed in 1993.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 1 2019 10: 25
    0
    What are the sanctions? There, even the arrested adviser to Putin’s kid in USA.
    Money tops do not smell ...

Как США подсели на российскую «урановую иглу»

Бывший министр энергетики США Спенсер Абрахам призвал к срочному избавлению от зависимости в поставках российского урана. Он заявил, что более 40% ядерного топлива Соединенные Штаты закупают у России и стран бывшего Советского Союза.


Такая ситуация, по словам Абрахама, ставит под угрозу национальную безопасность США. Он утверждает, что необходимо ввести заградительные пошлины и переключиться на закупку урана у Канады.

Американские атомные электростанции вырабатывают 20% электроэнергии в стране, но при этом работают на импортном сырье. А собственная урановая промышленность Соединенных Штатов обеспечивает лишь 11% общей потребности энергетиков.

Еще в прошлом веке СССР поставлял в США низкообогащенный уран. После развала Советского Союза, когда Россия лишилась части ресурсной базы, было подписано соглашение ВОУ-НОУ, которое предполагало поставки в США низкообогащенного урана, переработанного из высокообогащенного оружейного урана. Такая многолетняя практика привела к тому, что собственная американская промышленность пришла в упадок, а имевшиеся технологии по обогащению урана были утеряны.

Действие соглашения ВОУ-НОУ прекратилось в 2013 году. У США была возможность поставлять на переработку собственный оружейный уран в Россию, однако это было запрещено властями Соединенных Штатов. Поэтому госкорпорация «Росатом» пошла обходным путем, выкупив контрольный пакет акций компании «Uranium One», добыча которой составляет до 30% от общемировой добычи урана.

Соединенные Штаты в свою очередь наладили экспорт урана через компанию «Uranium One» в Канаду для его обогащения. Таким образом американская энергетика была спасена от краха, но позиции России в данном вопросе только усилились.


Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 29 марта 2019 12:35
    +1
    Только предательство властью интересов России и ее народа, можно объяснить такие поставки в условиях санкций США, принимаемых еженедельно. Интересы США ближе - может все-таки допустят туфлю поцеловать и преданность проявить?
    1. chemyurij Офлайн chemyurij
      chemyurij (chemyurij) 30 марта 2019 22:34
      0
      Цитата: kriten
      Только предательство властью интересов России и ее народа, можно объяснить такие поставки в условиях санкций США

      А что это не упомянули:

      Еще в прошлом веке СССР поставлял в США низкообогащенный уран. После развала Советского Союза

      - это тоже делалось в условиях санкций. Кстати о соглашении, оно было подписано в 1993 году.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 апреля 2019 10:25
    0
    Какие санкции? Вон, даже у арестованного советника Путина детки в ЮСА.
    Деньги верхушки не пахнут...