Refusal from Ukrainian missiles makes Sea Launch pointless

The story of Sea Launch is a good reminder that wonders should not be expected in the post-Soviet space.




Theory of relativity

Today we will talk about one very sad story, which, however, seems to have reached its end. Leaving the trough of Ukrainian rocket builders as well as the private Russian company S7 Space, which was rightly called "the last hope of the domestic space industry." This, as you probably already guessed, will be about the Sea Launch floating spaceport, as well as the Soviet (and then Ukrainian) Zenit rocket. Now both of them can be called history.

But first, a few words about what the Sea Launch is and why it is needed. Initially, the cosmodrome was a joint project of the American company Boeing, the Russian RSC Energia and a number of other organizations. The idea was to bring the rocket to the equator by sea, where are the best conditions for launch, since it is possible to make the best use of the Earth's rotation speed. Napoleonic plans to reduce the cost of space launches faced a harsh reality: delivering rockets was expensive, servicing the spaceport was difficult, and the reliability of launches was lame. As a result: a modest 36 launches from 1999 to 2014. Of these, three are unsuccessful, and one is partially successful. For comparison, China in just one 2018 year made a total of 39 space launches. USA - 31.


Rescue "Group"

Not surprisingly, the parties soon lost interest in the project, and then the media leaked data about an unnamed investor who wants to buy out a spaceport. Later it will become known that it turned out to be the Russian company S7 Group, headed by Vladislavov Filev and recently tragically killed Natalia Fileva. In April last year, the S7 group of companies closed a deal to purchase the Sea Launch property complex, the subject of which was the Sea Launch Commander, Odyssey platform, ground equipment in the base port of Long Beach (USA) and the Sea Launch trademark.

Almost immediately, the media began to call Filev “Russian Ilon Mask,” although, in fairness, he did not talk about reusability. It will be later. The problem was that the cosmodrome could use only the Ukrainian Zenit rocket, which was assembled at Yuzhmash. Mostly from Russian components, including RD-171 engines. Earlier, from the Sea Launch, such missiles were launched: Zenit-2, Zenit-3SL, Zenit-2SLБ, Zenit-3SLБ, Zenit-3SLБФ. The names are different, but in fact the same thing with some modifications. The cosmodrome is simply not designed for another rocket, and the cost of remaking under a different carrier may be such that it will be easier to build another floating platform.


The X-hour came when the new owner of Sea Launch decided to buy twelve new Zenit carriers from Yuzhmash for future launches. With the possible resumption of rocket launches from a floating spaceport in 2019-2020. The parties reached an agreement, but soon something went wrong. In March, Russian media wrote that S7 Space refused to purchase Ukrainian rockets. Then, in the Ukrainian "Yuzhmash" hastened to refute new information.

Currently, Yuzhmash has no official communications from the customer regarding the alleged termination of the contract. For its part, Yuzhmash does not intend to initiate this issue,

- They said at the enterprise, but in S7 Space and Roscosmos could not say anything specific.

However, even then it was clear that the noise arose for a reason. “We are going to,” commented Natalia Fileva, co-owner of S7 Space, later commenting on the refusal of the contract. There were no specific deadlines, just like plans for the future for Sea Launch.


Kick below sea level

The chances of finding a replacement for Zenit are very small. Recall that previously it was planned to use Ukrainian missiles only at the first stage of resuming launches with Sea Launch, and the real success was to be associated with the promising Soyuz-5 rocket, also known as the Irtysh. But this is nothing more than a beautiful (or cunning?) Convention. The fact is that there is no Soyuz-5, and the timing of its appearance is more than vague.

However, it is worth recalling what kind of rocket it is. In short, the Irtysh should become the Russian analogue of Zenith, which will partially inherit some of the technical solutions of the previously canceled Rus project. To put it even more briefly, this is a replacement for Soviet missiles of the Soyuz series — already very old. It began to be created around 2015, and the start of flight tests was planned for 2024. However, as we noted above, there is no guarantee that this will be true. The situation with the Angara rocket, which began to be developed in the first half of the 90s, and the rocket made its first flight only in 2014, can best illustrate the situation. That is, roughly speaking, 20 years after the start of development.

The situation in the rocket and space industry of the Russian Federation since then has not only not improved, but has worsened in many ways. Experienced cadres aged, worn out materiallytechnical base, many young specialists went abroad.

It is difficult to imagine what will happen to the Sea Launch by the time the flight tests of the new Soyuz begin. The answer to the question seems to be known by the head of the space department.

Sea Launch has its own resource. While we are developing a rocket, the Sea Launch resource will be eaten up, so there is no such task,

- Dmitry Rogozin noted earlier, commenting on the prospects of Soyuz-5 as part of its launches from a floating spaceport.

Perhaps this is a rare case when you can agree with Rogozin. It is very difficult to imagine that someone will support the entire marine infrastructure in full readiness, patiently waiting for the carrier to be ready for the first launch. But the rocket will also need to be integrated into the Sea Launch and a series of tests will be conducted that will show that the carrier can cope with the tasks at least in the same way that Zenit did.


To summarize. It is unfortunate that the most ambitious Russian private space project seems to have ended in nothing. Going into the reasons for this is very difficult, but the main one can be noted. It is completely clear that full-fledged Russian-Ukrainian cooperation in high-tech industries is almost impossible today due to political reasons. This is a huge problem for Sea Launch.

For Ukrainian rocket scientists, the S7’s abandonment of the Zenit was also a heavy blow, which they most likely will not be able to recover from. It will not be possible to find other customers in conditions of very high competition on the world market, and Ukraine will not succeed in creating its own cosmodromes due to financial constraints.

At the same time, the Ukrainian authorities, most likely, breathed a sigh of relief after news on termination of the contract. For them, one more lever of Russia's possible influence is a thing of the past. But even more importantly, Ukraine is simply tired of carrying a “suitcase without a handle” in the face of Soviet missile-building enterprises: there was no and no money for their full-fledged work. And in the future it will not be either. In general, the semi-comic phrase “agrarian superpower” perfectly shows the course that the country has taken. Most likely, there is no longer any place for rocket science in it.
Author:
Photos used: https://defence.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 4 2019 12: 58
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Well, as always. The promises of super-breakthroughs due to the state budget lost to the economy, logistics and the mess.
    Usa confidently seize the initiative in private space exploration and alternative launches.

    But the Rogozins have regular tsar-engines, new cars and a year ago, the undisclosed secrets of holes ...
    1. rybalkin-igor Offline
      rybalkin-igor (Igor Rybalkin) April 4 2019 17: 19
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Zolotze, and with what fright should Russia supply Yuzhmash with orders? This is a Ukrainian enterprise, let his government provide them with orders.
      Filev can accept the citizenship of Ukraine and move to Dnepropetrovsk with his Sea Launch.
      Do you even know about the sanctions? Or can they be used only towards Russia?
      1. 17085 Offline
        17085 (Dmitriy) April 5 2019 00: 37
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Silonch, when he came under the auspices of C7, was immediately voiced as a project without Ukraine, i.e. in Russian media. Why the author is not in the know, I do not know. The missile to replace the anti-aircraft gun that showed its wretchedness, was conducted for a long time, but was never carried out. And the late Mrs. Fileva, who was the main inspirer of this project, voiced it personally that the platform would be redone under the Irtysh. But, your dearly beloved, but from this completely ineffective Rogozin or his predecessor, all are one, did what they do with polymers.
        The previous commentator appealed to Rogozin, and not to the Patriot Filev, who you personally recorded as traitors to Russia. He also did not write anything about financing Nazi regimes.
  2. General Black Offline
    General Black (Gennady) April 5 2019 22: 54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Why this abuse of gentlemen? Nobody intercepts anything. Who will reveal your cards to “partners”? Where are the failure times for our American "partners"? All the accidents are yet to come. Two shuttles took their lives more than the entire history of the launches of Soviet cosmonautics. The same applies to China. These generally consider themselves celestials. Still to come. And I would not hurry to bury my science, my achievements in space, in the military sphere. Time will put everything in its place. Who gives the fifth generation fighter to the mountain in a short time, and who spends decades. Someone refused at one time from hypersonic projects, and someone already takes hypersonic into service. Everything is relative. And private space exploration,
    it is, pampering. They will never get around the projects that the state oversees.
    So time will tell, I think.

Отказ от украинских ракет делает бессмысленным «Морской старт»

История с «Морским стартом» является хорошим напоминанием того, что на постсоветском пространстве чудес не следует ожидать.



Теория относительности


Сегодня мы поговорим об одной очень грустной истории, которая, впрочем, похоже, достигла своего конца. Оставив у разбитого корыта как украинских ракетостроителей, так и частную российскую компанию S7 Space, которую небезосновательно называли «последней надеждой отечественной космической индустрии». Речь, как вы, наверное, уже догадались, пойдет про плавучий космодром «Морской старт», а также советскую (а затем — украинскую) ракету «Зенит». Сейчас и то, и другое можно назвать историей.

Но сначала пару слов о том, что же такое «Морской старт» и зачем он нужен. Изначально космодром был совместным проектом американской компании Boeing, российской РКК «Энергия» и еще ряда других организаций. Идея состояла в том, чтобы привезти ракету на экватор морским путем, где самые лучшие условия для старта, так как можно наилучшим образом эффективно использовать скорость вращения Земли. Наполеоновские планы по удешевлению космических запусков столкнулись с суровой реальностью: доставлять ракеты было дорого, обслуживать космодром тяжело, а надежность стартов хромала. Как итог: скромные 36 запусков с 1999 года по 2014-й. Из них три неудачных, а один — частично успешный. Для сравнения, Китай только за один 2018 год совершил в сумме 39 космических стартов. США — 31.


Спасательная «Группа»

Не удивительно, что вскоре стороны потеряли интерес к проекту, а затем в СМИ просочились данные о неназванном инвесторе, который хочет выкупить космодром. Уже потом станет известно, что им оказалась российская компания S7 Group во главе с Владиславов Филевым и трагически погибшей недавно Наталией Филёвой. В апреле прошлого года группа компаний S7 закрыла сделку по покупке имущественного комплекса Sea Launch, предметом которой стали корабль Sea Launch Commander, платформа Odyssey, наземное оборудование в базовом порту Лонг-Бич (США) и товарный знак «Морского старта».

Почти сразу СМИ начали величать Филева «русским Илоном Маском», хотя, справедливости ради, о многоразовости он не говорил. Это будет позже. Проблема была в том, что космодром мог использовать только украинскую ракету «Зенит», которую собирали на «Южмаше». Преимущественно из российских комплектующих, включая двигатели РД-171. Ранее с «Морского старта» запускали такие ракеты как: Зенит-2, Зенит-3SL, Зенит-2SLБ, Зенит-3SLБ, Зенит-3SLБФ. Названия разные, но по факту одно и то же с некоторыми модификациями. Под другую ракету космодром просто не рассчитан, причем стоимость переделки под иной носитель может быть такова, что легче будет построить другую плавучую платформу.


Час икс настал, когда новый владелец «Морского старта» решил купить у «Южмаша» двенадцать новых носителей «Зенит» для будущих пусков. С возможным возобновлением стартов ракет с плавучего космодрома в 2019-2020 годах. Стороны достигли договоренности, но вскоре что-то пошло не так. В марте российские СМИ писали о том, что S7 Space отказалась от закупки украинских ракет. Тогда же в украинском «Южмаше» поспешили опровергнуть новую информацию.

В настоящее время «Южмаш» не имеет официальных сообщений от заказчика относительно предполагаемого прекращения контракта. Со своей стороны, «Южмаш» не намерен выступать инициатором в этом вопрос,

– заявили на предприятии, а в S7 Space и Роскосмосе не смогли сказать ничего конкретного.

Однако уже тогда было понятно, что шум возник неспроста. «Собираемся», – прокомментировала позже информацию об отказе от контракта совладелец S7 Space Наталья Филева. Конкретных сроков озвучено не было, ровно, как и планов на будущее для Sea Launch.


Удар ниже уровня моря

Шансы на то, что найдется замена для «Зенитов» очень невелики. Напомним, что ранее предполагали использовать украинские ракеты лишь на первом этапе возобновления стартов с Sea Launch, а настоящий успех должен был быть связан с перспективной ракетой «Союз-5», также известной как «Иртыш». Но это не более, чем красивая (или хитрая?) условность. Дело в том, что никакого «Союз-5» нет, а сроки его появления более чем размыты.

Стоит, впрочем, напомнить, что это вообще за ракета. Если говорить кратко, то «Иртыш» должен стать российским аналог «Зенита», который частично унаследует некоторые технические решения ранее отмененного проекта «Русь». Если говорить еще более кратко, то это замена для советских ракет серии «Союз» — уже очень старых. Ее начали создавать примерно в 2015 году, а начало летных испытаний запланировали на 2024 год. Однако, как мы уже заметили выше, нет никаких гарантий, что это будет действительно так. Лучше всего ситуацию может проиллюстрировать история с ракетой «Ангара», которую начали разрабатывать еще в первой половине 90-х, а первый полет ракета совершила только в 2014 году. То есть, грубо говоря, через 20 лет после начала разработки.

Ситуация в ракетно-космической индустрии РФ с тех пор не только не стала лучше, но и во многих отношениях ухудшилась. Постарели опытные кадры, износилась материально-техническая база, многие молодые специалисты уехали за рубеж.

Сложно представить, что будет с «Морским стартом» к моменту начала летных испытаний нового «Союза». Ответ на вопрос, похоже, знает глава космического ведомства.

У «Морского старта» есть свой ресурс. Пока будем разрабатывать ракету, ресурс «Морского старта» будет съеден, поэтому такой задачи нет,

– отметил ранее Дмитрий Рогозин, комментируя перспективы «Союз-5» в рамках его запусков с плавучего космодрома.

Пожалуй, тот редкий случай, когда с Рогозиным можно согласиться. Очень тяжело вообразить, что кто-то будет поддерживать всю морскую инфраструктуру в полной готовности, терпеливо ожидая, когда будет готов носитель для первого старта. А ведь ракету нужно будет еще и интегрировать в «Морской старт» и провести серию испытаний, которая покажет, что носитель может справляться с задачами хотя бы так же, как это делал «Зенит».


Подытожим. Очень жаль, что самый амбициозный российский частный космический проект, похоже, закончился ничем. Вдаваться в причины этого очень сложно, однако можно отметить главную из них. Совершенно ясно, что полноценное российско-украинское сотрудничество в высокотехнологичных отраслях на сегодняшний день почти невозможно в силу причин политического характера. Это огромная проблема для Sea Launch.

Для украинских ракетостроителей отказ S7 от «Зенитов» также стал тяжелым ударом, оправится от которого они, скорее всего, не смогут. Найти других заказчиков в условиях очень высокой конкуренции на мировом рынке не выйдет, а создавать свои космодромы у Украины не получится в силу финансовых ограничений.

При этом украинские власти, скорее всего, вздохнули с облегчением после новости о расторжении контракта. Для них еще один рычаг возможного влияния России остался в прошлом. Но еще важнее то, что Украина просто устала нести «чемодан без ручки» в лице советских ракетостроительных предприятий: денег на их полноценную работу как не было, так и нет. И в будущем тоже не будет. Вообще, полушуточное словосочетание «аграрная сверхдержава» как нельзя лучше показывает курс, который взяла страна. Места для ракетостроения в нем уже, скорее всего, не найдется.
Использованы фотографии: https://defence.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 4 апреля 2019 12:58
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Ну, как всегда получилось. Обещания супер-прорывов за счет госбюджета проиграли экономике, логистике и бардаку.
    Юса уверенно перехватывают инициативу в частной космонавтике и альтернативным запускам.

    Зато у Рогозиных очередные царь-двигатели, новые автомобили и годовой давности нераскрытые тайны дырок...
    1. rybalkin-igor Офлайн
      rybalkin-igor (Игорь Рыбалкин) 4 апреля 2019 17:19
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Золотце, а с какого перепуга Россия должна обеспечить заказами Южмаш? Это украинское предприятие, вот его правительство пусть и обеспечивает их заказами.
      Филёв может принять гражданство Украины и переехать в Днепропетровск вместе со своим Морским стартом.
      Вы вообще в курсе о санкциях? Или их можно применять только в сторону России?
      1. 17085 Офлайн
        17085 (Dmitriy) 5 апреля 2019 00:37
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Силонч, когда перешел под эгиду С7, сразу был озвучен, как проект без Украины, т.е. на русских носителях. Почему автор не в курсе, я не знаю. Ракета на замену показавшему свою убогость зенитушке, велась достаточно давно, но так и не до велась. И покойная госпожа Филева, которая была главным вдохновителем этого проекта, озвучивала это лично, что платформа будет переделана под "Иртыш". Но, вами горячо любимый, но от этого совсем не эффективный Рогозин или его предшественник, все едино, сделал, что делают с полимерами.
        Предыдущий комментатор апеллировал к Рогозину, а не, записанному лично вами в предатели России, патриоту Филеву. Про финансирование нацистских режимов он тоже ничего не писал.
  2. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 5 апреля 2019 22:54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    К чему эта ругань господа? Никто ничего не перехватывает. Кто Вам раскроет свои карты перед "партнерами"? Где наработки на отказ у наших американских "партнеров"? Все аварии у них еще впереди. У них два челнока унесли больше жизней,чем вся история запусков советской космонавтики. Тоже относится и к Китаю. Эти вообще считают себя небожителями. Все еще впереди. А хоронить свою науку, свои наработки в космосе, в военной сфере, я бы не торопился. Время все расставит на свои места. Кто выдаёт на гора истребитель пятого поколения за короткое время, а кто тратит десятилетия. Кто-то отказывался в свое время от гиперзвуковых проектов, а кто то уже принимает гиперзвук на вооружение. Все относительно. А частная космонавтика,
    это так, баловство. Им никогда не обойти проекты которые курирует государство.
    Так что время покажет, я думаю.