Libyan capital airport taken by Haftar army

On April 4, 2019, Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, commander of the Libyan National Army (LNA), subordinate to the Libyan House of Representatives (the country's parliament), announced the launch of an offensive on Tripoli. There, a government of national unity of Libya, consisting of Islamists, although recognized by the UN, dug in. Haftar’s highly mobile troops are confidently, and most importantly, rapidly moving through the country.




The city of Garyan (100 km. South of Tripoli) and then the city of Surman (60 km. South of Tripoli) were taken immediately. As early as April 5, 2019, LNA units entered the territory of Tripoli International Airport, which is located in the Qasr Ben-Gashir district, 25 km away. south of the capital. Currently, the Haftar troops are already 18 km away. from Tripoli.

The next civil war in Libya began in May 2014. This international airport has not been operating for the past five years. At the very beginning of the conflict, the harbor infrastructure suffered serious damage. Almost everything was destroyed or plundered. In fact, the transport hub has ceased to exist. 90% of the fleet was damaged or burned. The control tower with which the control of the air situation was conducted is destroyed. The runway requires major repairs. All these years, the air gate for the government was the Mitig airfield, also located near Tripoli.


Haftar is going to free Tripoli from the entrenched Islamist government and various militant groups and transfer the parliament sitting in the east of the country there. The capture of the cities of Ben Hashir, Tarhun and Azizia, located in the vicinity of Tripoli, is reported. At the same time, the government announced mobilization in Tripoli and is trying to resist the advancing army of the parliament. The forces of Misurata, who are not subordinate to the "free" city, from whom the uprising against Muammar Gaddafi in 2011 began, also fight against the LNA.

Libyan capital airport taken by Haftar army


It should be noted that the civil war in Libya is very specific, i.e. it is chaotic and maneuverable, and reports of "intense fighting" are often accompanied by information about the deaths of 10-20 military personnel. Whether Haftar has the strength to free the territory of the whole country, sooner or later it will become known for sure.
  • Photos used: https://www.rbc.ru/
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Аэропорт ливийской столицы взят армией Хафтара

4 апреля 2019 года фельдмаршал Халифа Хафтар, командующий Ливийской национальной армией (ЛНА), подчиненной Палате представителей Ливии (парламенту страны), объявил о начале наступления на Триполи. Там окопалось правительство национального единства Ливии, состоящее из исламистов, хотя и признаваемое ООН. Высокомобильные войска Хафтара уверенно, а самое главное быстро, продвигаются по территории страны.





Сходу был взят город Гарьян (100 км. к югу от Триполи), а затем город Сурман (60 км. к югу от Триполи). Уже 5 апреля 2019 года подразделения ЛНА вошли на территорию международного аэропорта Триполи, который расположен в районе Каср Бен-Гашир в 25 км. к югу от столицы. В настоящее время войскам Хафтара находятся уже в 18 км. от Триполи.

Очередная гражданская война в Ливии началась в мае 2014 году. На протяжении последних пяти лет этот международный аэропорт не работает. В самом начале конфликта инфраструктуре воздушной гавани был нанесен серьезный ущерб. Практически все было уничтожено или разграблено. Фактически транспортный узел перестал существовать. 90% авиапарка была повреждена или сожжена. Диспетчерская вышка, с которой велся контроль воздушной обстановки - разрушена. Взлетно-посадочная полоса требует капитального ремонта. Все эти годы воздушными воротами для правительства был аэродром Митига, тоже расположенный под Триполи.


Хафтар собирается освободить Триполи от окопавшегося там правительства исламистов и различных группировок боевиков и перевести туда парламент, заседающий на востоке страны. Сообщается о взятии городов Бен-Хашир, Тархуна и Азизия, расположенных в окрестностях Триполи. При этом в самом Триполи правительство объявило мобилизацию и пытается оказать сопротивление продвигающейся армии парламента. Против ЛНА также воюют войска Мисураты, никому не подчиняющегося «вольного» города, с которого и началось восстание против Муаммара Каддафи в 2011 году.

Аэропорт ливийской столицы взят армией Хафтара


Нужно отметить, что гражданская война в Ливии весьма специфична, т.е. она является хаотичной и маневренной, а сообщения об «интенсивных боях» зачастую сопровождаются информацией о гибели 10-20 военнослужащих. Хватит ли у Хафтара сил освободить территорию всей страны, рано или поздно станет известно точно.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.rbc.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти