Why Kazakhstan is returning to the idea of ​​building a Russian nuclear power plant

Russia and Kazakhstan are returning to the idea of ​​building a nuclear power plant. In 2018, a similar decision was made in Uzbekistan. The new president of Kazakhstan, Kassym-Zhomart Tokaeva, made his first state visit to Russia, during which he met with his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin.


The parties confirmed the importance of cooperation in the field of trade, as well as cooperation in matters of peaceful atom. Putin proposed starting construction of a nuclear power plant in Kazakhstan by technology Russia.

However, such a question was discussed earlier. In 2014, Kazakhstan planned to build two power plants at once. During the construction of one of them, it was supposed to use the forces of Rosatom, and during the construction of the other, it was planned to cooperate with the Toshiba company. But then the projects were curtailed - power engineers said that Kazakhstan does not experience problems with a lack of electricity.

It is possible that the issue became relevant again for Kazakhstan due to the decision of Uzbekistan, which signed an agreement with Rosatom on the construction of a nuclear power plant. The Uzbek authorities planned to supply surplus electricity, including to Kazakhstan - although in general there is enough electricity there, but some regions are experiencing a shortage of it.

Kazakhstan, having studied the advantages that Uzbekistan will receive, decided to return to this idea. However, there are critics among the opposition in the country. They argue that this project is an instrument of Russia's “soft power”, that it entails environmental risks, and indeed it is a meaningless undertaking.

In fact, the country is really starting a shortage of electricity, which can lead to a decline in production and negative consequences for economics.

Kazakhstan has rich reserves of uranium, which makes the idea of ​​building a nuclear power plant even more reasonable. Regarding the safety of the project, it should be noted that Russia is building power plants using the latest technologies. Moscow is also interested in promoting its high-tech products worldwide, and especially at its doorstep.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Port Offline Port
    Port April 8 2019 16: 46
    0
    Shaw again, will they switch to Cyrillic?
  2. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) April 8 2019 21: 00
    +1
    Russia is a generous soul. Russia is building nuclear power plants around the world. How does this all happen and why is the turn lined up for the construction of nuclear power plants. It happens that Russia gives a huge loan to the country where it is building, and then it starts building with its own money and not the fact that it will be paid later. How many billions were written off by Soviet debts. History does not teach anything. So soon we will see another series of debt relief.

Почему Казахстан возвращается к идее строительства российской АЭС

Россия и Казахстан возвращаются к идее построить атомную электростанцию. В 2018 году аналогичное решение было принято в Узбекистане. Новый президент Казахстана Касым-Жомарт Токаева совершил первый государственный визит в Россию, в ходе которого встретился со своим российским коллегой Владимиром Путиным.

Стороны подтвердили важность сотрудничества в сфере торговли, а также — взаимодействия в вопросах мирного атома. Путин предложил начать строительство атомной электростанции в Казахстане по технологиям России.



Впрочем, такой вопрос обсуждался и ранее. В 2014 году в Казахстане планировали построить сразу две электростанции. При строительстве одной из них предполагалось использовать силы «Росатома», а при строительстве другой — сотрудничать с компанией «Тошиба». Но тогда проекты были свернуты — энергетики заявили, что Казахстан не испытывает проблем с недостатком электроэнергии.

Не исключено, что вопрос стал снова актуальным для Казахстана из-за решения Узбекистана, который подписал с «Росатомом» соглашение о строительстве АЭС. Излишки электроэнергии узбекские власти планировали поставлять, в том числе, и в Казахстан — хотя в целом там электроэнергии достаточно, но отдельные районы испытывают ее дефицит.

Казахстан, изучив плюсы, которые получит Узбекистан, решил вернуться к данной идее. Однако в стране есть критики среди оппозиционеров. Они утверждают, будто бы этот проект — инструмент «мягкой силы» России, что он влечет за собой экологические риски, да и вообще — является бессмысленной затеей.

На самом деле, в стране действительно начинается нехватка электроэнергии, что может привести к спаду производства и негативным последствиям для экономики.

Казахстан располагает богатыми запасами урана, что делает идею строительства АЭС еще более разумной. По поводу безопасности проекта нельзя не отметить, что Россия строит электростанции по новейшим технологиям. Москва также заинтересована в продвижении своей высокотехнологичной продукции во всем мире, а особенно — у себя «под боком».

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Портвейн Офлайн
    Портвейн (33) 8 апреля 2019 16:46
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Шо опять , на кириллицу , переходить будут ?
  2. Афиноген Офлайн
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 8 апреля 2019 21:00
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Россия щедрая душа. Россия строит по всему миру атомные станции. Как это все происходит и почему на строительство АЭС очередь выстроилась. Происходит так, Россия дает огромный кредит той стране где строит, а потом на свои деньги начинает строить и не факт, что с ней расплатятся потом. Сколько так миллиардов списали Советских долгов. История ничему не учит. Так что скоро мы будем лицезреть очередную серию списания долгов.