The world has become less likely to execute

According to the human rights organization Amnesty International, over the past year the number of executions in the world has decreased by almost a third. The organization published a report on this topic on its website, considering also the countries in which the largest number of executions is carried out.




It follows from the report that at least 690 people died as a result of applying an exceptional measure of punishment to them in 2018. It turns out that this is the lowest figure in the last decade. For comparison: in 2017, according to the same organization, 993 death sentences were carried out in the world, and in 2016 - 1032.

If we look at countries, the first five places in this indicator are China, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam and Iraq. Moreover, Amnesty International did not take into account the statistics on the People’s Republic of China in its final report, since thousands of death sentences are classified in this country.

The organization noted a downward trend in executions in Iran, Iraq, Somalia and Pakistan. According to her, in Iran, the number of death sentences was reduced by 50 percent. At the same time, in Belarus, Japan, Singapore, South Sudan and the United States of America, on the contrary, they began to be executed more often.

27 percent of those sentenced to an exceptional measure of punishment thus responded for crimes related to drug trafficking.

The document notes that in 106 of the 193 countries that are members of the UN, such a measure was canceled altogether. In another 36 countries, it is provided for by law, but is not actually applied or is rarely used.

General Secretary of the human rights organization Kumi Naidu generally appreciated the fact that the number of death sentences was decreasing.

A sharp reduction in the total number of executions in the world shows that even the countries from which it is least expected begin to change their approaches and understand that the death penalty does not solve all problems

He believes.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

В мире стали реже казнить

По данным правозащитной организации Amnesty International, за прошлый год количество смертных казней в мире уменьшилось практически на треть. Организация опубликовала на своем сайте отчет на данную тему, рассмотрев также страны, в которых осуществляется наибольшее число казней.





Из отчета следует, что минимум 690 человек погибли в результате применения к ним исключительной меры наказания в 2018 году. Оказывается, это — самый низкий показатель за последнее десятилетие. Для сравнения: в 2017 году, по данным той же организации, в мире было приведено в исполнение 993 смертных приговоров, а в в 2016 году — 1032.

Если же смотреть по странам, то первые пять мест по этому показателю занимают Китай, Иран, Саудовская Аравия, Вьетнам и Ирак. Причем, Amnesty International не стала учитывать в своем итоговом отчете статистику по Китайской Народной Республике, поскольку в этой стране тысячи случаев смертной казни засекречены.

Организация отметила тенденцию снижения казней в Иране, Ираке, Сомали и Пакистане. По ее данным, в Иране число смертных приговоров сократилось на 50 процентов. При этом в Белоруссии, Японии, Сингапуре, Южном Судане и Соединенных Штатах Америки, напротив, казнить стали чаще.

27 процентов приговоренных к исключительной мере наказания ответили таким образом за преступления, связанные с оборотом наркотических средств.

В документе отмечается, что в 106 государствах из 193-х, входящих в ООН, такая мера отменена вовсе. Еще в 36 странах она предусмотрена законодательством, но фактически не применяется или же применяется крайне редко.

Генеральный секретарь правозащитной организации Куми Найду в целом позитивно оценил факт уменьшения количества смертных приговоров.

Резкое сокращение общего количества казней в мире показывает, что даже страны, от которых это наименее ожидаемо, начинают менять свои подходы и понимать, что смертная казнь не решает всех проблем

— полагает он.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти