Astronomers first showed photos of a black hole

Astronomers from the European Southern Observatory for the first time presented for public viewing photographs of the event horizon of the black hole, which is located in the center of the M87 galaxy.




At a press conference of the European Commission and the European Research Council, scientists talked about what work they managed to do with the Event Horizon Telescope's global network of telescopes. So, astronomers managed to get an image of the “shadow” of a black hole. This is a dark area against the background of visible radiation, which corresponds to the event horizon. The distance of the studied object is 53 million light years from Earth.

The black hole, previously considered invisible, in fact, as we see in the photo, resembles a flaming orange and yellow-black ring. Some astronomers hastened to draw parallels even with fantastic works. So, Jessica Dempsey from the East Asian Observatory in Hawaii compared the black hole with the Eye of Sauron from the works of John Tolkien.

In addition to the “shadow” of the black hole, astronomers also tried to photograph the compact radio source Sagittarius A *, which is located in the center of the Milky Way and is also a black hole. The mass of the black hole is four million times greater than the mass of the Sun, and in size it exceeds the Sun by eighteen times.

The image of the black hole was so large that it could not be sent by e-mail and sent from the observatory to the processing center using hard drives. Processing the amount of information received took two years.

Recall that the Event Horizon Telescope combines eight observatories in different parts of the globe, which function as one telescope with a diameter of 10 thousand kilometers. Thanks to this, the resulting images have high resolution and high detail.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Oleg RB Offline Oleg RB
    Oleg RB (Oleg) April 10 2019 17: 59
    0
    53 million. How much will it be in billions?
    1. ksv36 Offline ksv36
      ksv36 (Sergei) April 17 2019 14: 56
      0
      Many. Lots of.

Астрономы впервые показали фото черной дыры

Астрономы из Европейской южной обсерватории впервые представили на всеобщее обозрение фотографии горизонта событий черной дыры, которая находится в центре галактики М87.





На пресс-конференции Европейской комиссии и Европейского исследовательского совета ученые поведали о том, какую работу им удалось проделать при помощи глобальной сети телескопов Event Horizon Telescope. Так, астрономам удалось получить изображение «тени» черной дыры. Это темная область на фоне видимого излучения, которая соответствует горизонту событий. Расстояние изучаемого объекта – 53 миллиона световых лет от Земли.

Черная дыра, прежде считавшаяся невидимой, в действительности, как мы видим на фото, напоминает пылающее оранжевое и желто-черное кольцо. Некоторые астрономы поспешили провести параллели даже с фантастическими произведениями. Так, Джессика Демпси из Восточноазиатской обсерватории на Гавайских островах сравнила черную дыру с Оком Саурона из произведений Джона Толкиена.

Помимо «тени» черной дыры астрономы попытались сфотографировать и компактный радиоисточник Стрелец A*, который находится в центре Млечного пути и также являющийся черной дырой. Масса черной дыры в четыре миллиона раз больше, чем масса Солнца, а по размеру она превосходит Солнце в восемнадцать раз.

Снимок черной дыры оказался настолько масштабным, что его не смогли переслать по электронной почте и переправили из обсерватории в центр обработки с помощью жестких дисков. Обработка полученного объема информации заняла два года.

Напомним, что Event Horizon Telescope объединяет восемь обсерваторий в разных частях земного шара, которые функционируют как один телескоп диаметром 10 тысяч километров. Благодаря этому получаемые снимки обладают большим разрешением и высокой детализацией.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 10 апреля 2019 17:59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    53 миллиона. Сколько это будет в миллиардах?
    1. ksv36 Офлайн
      ksv36 (Сергей) 17 апреля 2019 14:56
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Много. Очень много.