Russian coal paved new routes

Coal continues to be one of the important export goods of Russia. But in order to organize the export of coal to other countries, an effective organization of railway communication is necessary. Now Russian Railways is concerned about the unloading of eastern export destinations.




One of the most promising western directions of coal export is now the Finnish direction. Coal turnover through the ports of Finland over the past two years has grown more than ten times. So, in 2017, 200 thousand tons of coal was delivered to Finland, then in 2018 it was already 700 thousand tons, and in 2019 it is planned to export 2,5 million tons of coal. Coal is sent to Finland by rail.

Now the railway companies of the two countries are working on optimizing traffic. It is expected that soon Russian wagons can be loaded in Finland with goods for Russia. Then the compositions will not come back empty, as a result, both the Finnish and Russian sides will win.

Finland has good ports from where coal can be sent to a wide variety of European countries. For Russia, the Finnish direction is convenient in that our countries have a rather long border, and land communication is developed with Finland, which allows us to significantly increase transit volumes.

In an effort to relieve traditional trends, Russian Railways is going to provide benefits for neighboring countries if they send their goods along new routes. For example, 30% of the cost of transportation is ready to be thrown off to Kazakhstan if Kazakh coal goes via Russian railways to the ports of the Baltic states.

Another important area is southwest. First of all, we are talking about the Black Sea ports of Georgia, coal supplies to which are carried out using the Georgian and Azerbaijani railways. Coal will be shipped from Georgian ports to Turkey, but recently the Railways are also planning to study the possibilities of transporting coal to Turkey through land crossings on the Turkish-Georgian border. Turkey remains and, most likely, will remain one of the most important buyers of Russian coal for a long time, so the Georgian direction also seems to be very profitable in terms of transit.

Russian Railways is confident that the new directions of coal supplies will increase the profitability of railway communications and relieve traditional routes. In addition to Finland, special attention is paid to the port of Kaliningrad, through which it is also planned to supply coal to European countries.

Meanwhile, one should not go into excessive optimism. After all, gas prices have dropped significantly in Europe. Accordingly, the need of European countries for coal fuel is also decreasing, and this, in turn, in the future may lead to a decrease in coal purchases by European states.

On the other hand, it is possible that coal prices will rise again. But this is possible if the massive return of American coal companies does not begin on European markets. However, it is still necessary to study and try new directions for coal supplies, and in this sense the Russian Railways PA is moving in the right direction.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Российский уголь проложил новые маршруты

Уголь продолжает оставаться одним из важных экспортных товаров России. Но для организации вывоза угля в другие страны необходима эффективная организация железнодорожного сообщения. Сейчас ОАО РЖД озаботилось разгрузкой восточных направлений экспорта.





Одним из наиболее перспективных западных направлений экспорта угля сейчас является финское направление. Оборот угля через порты Финляндии за последние два года вырос более чем в десять раз. Так, в 2017 году в Финляндию было доставлено 200 тыс. тонн угля, то в 2018 году – уже 700 тыс. тонн, а на 2019 г. запланировано вывезти 2,5 млн тонн угля. Уголь в Финляндию отправляется по железной дороге.

Сейчас железнодорожные компании двух стран работают над оптимизацией сообщения. Ожидается, что скоро российские вагоны можно будет загружать в Финляндии товарами для России. Тогда составы не будут возвращаться назад пустыми, в результате выиграют и финская, и российская стороны.

Финляндия обладает хорошими портами, откуда уголь может направляться в самые разные страны Европы. Для России финское направление удобно тем, что наши страны имеют довольно протяженную границу, с Финляндией развито сухопутное сообщение, что позволяет значительно нарастить объемы транзита.

Стремясь разгрузить традиционные направления, ОАО РЖД собирается предоставить льготы для сопредельных государств, если они будут направлять свои товары по новым маршрутам. Например, 30% стоимости перевозок готовы скинуть Казахстану, если казахский уголь отправится по российским железным дорогам в порты прибалтийских государств.

Еще одно важное направление – юго-западное. Прежде всего, речь идет о черноморских портах Грузии, поставки угля в которые осуществляются с использованием грузинских и азербайджанских железных дорог. Из грузинских портов уголь будет отгружаться в Турцию, но в последнее время в РЖД собираются изучить и возможности транспортировки угля в Турцию через сухопутные переходы на турецко-грузинской границе. Турция пока остается и, скорее всего, еще долгое время будет оставаться одним из важнейших покупателей российского угля, поэтому грузинское направление также представляется весьма доходным с точки зрения транзита.

В ОАО РЖД уверены, что новые направления поставок угля позволят увеличить доходность железнодорожного сообщения и разгрузить традиционные маршруты. Помимо Финляндии, особое внимание уделяется порту Калининграда, через который также планируется осуществлять поставки угля в европейские страны.

Между тем, не стоит вдаваться и в чрезмерный оптимизм. Ведь сейчас в Европе значительно снизились цены на газ. Соответственно, уменьшается и потребность европейских стран в угольном топливе, а это, в свою очередь, в перспективе может привести к снижению закупок угля европейскими государствами.

С другой стороны, не исключено и то, что цены на уголь вновь будут расти. Но это возможно в том случае, если на европейские рынки не начнется массовое возвращение американских угольных компаний. Однако изучать и пробовать новые направления поставок угля все равно необходимо и в этом смысле ОО РЖД движется в правильном направлении.
Использованы фотографии: https://mtdata.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти