US-sanctioned general comes to power in Sudan

Sudanese Minister of Defense Lieutenant General Ahmed Awad ibn Auf took the oath of office as head of the country's transitional military council. This interim governing body was created after the military coup on April 11.




According to Awad ibn Auf, the former president of the country, Field Marshal Omar al-Bashir, was taken into custody, as well as a number of his associates. Power in Sudan passed to the transitional military council. In fact, he duplicates the command of the armed forces of Sudan - the Minister of Defense, Awad ibn Auf, became the chairman of the council, and the chief of the general staff, Kemal Abdel Maarouf, became the chairman of the council.

A transitional military council will rule the country in the next two years. In Sudan, the constitution of the country adopted in 2005 was terminated. In addition, a state of emergency has been introduced for a period of three months.

The new de facto head of Sudan, Lieutenant General Ahmed Awad ibn Auf, was born in 1954. Previously, he held the post of chief of military intelligence of Sudan, then he was chief of the general staff. In 2010, he was dismissed, after which he served as the ambassador of Sudan in Oman. In August 2015, Omar al-Bashir appointed Avad ibn Aouf as Minister of Defense, and in February 2019, he was appointed First Vice President of Sudan. Thus, Awad ibn Auf was one of the first persons in the Sudanese leadership and the rule of Omar al-Bashir.

It is interesting that the general is under international sanctions - in 2007, while he was still in military service, the United States imposed sanctions on Avad ibn Aouf because of the latter’s involvement in the operations of the Arab militias of the Janjawids in Darfur, as well as because of alleged ties of Avad ibn Auf with Iran. In Washington, the general was considered a mediator between the Sudanese leadership and the Iranian authorities.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 12 2019 09: 31
    0
    So maidanschik or not?

К власти в Судане пришел генерал, находящийся под санкциями США

Министр обороны Судана генерал-лейтенант Ахмед Авад ибн Ауф принес присягу в качестве главы переходного военного совета страны. Этот временный орган управления был создан после произошедшего 11 апреля военного переворота.





Как сообщил Авад ибн Ауф, бывший президент страны фельдмаршал Омар аль-Башир был взят под стражу, как и целый ряд его соратников. Власть в Судане перешла к переходному военному совету. Фактически он дублирует командование вооруженных сил Судана – председателем совета стал министр обороны Авад ибн Ауф, а заместителем председателя – начальник генерального штаба Кемаль Абдель Мааруф.

Переходный военный совет будет управлять страной в ближайшие два года. В Судане прекращено действие конституции страны, принятой в 2005 году. Кроме того, введен режим чрезвычайного положения сроком на три месяца.

Новый фактический глава Судана генерал-лейтенант Ахмед Авад ибн Ауф родился в 1954 году. Прежде он занимал должность начальника военной разведки Судана, затем был начальником генерального штаба. В 2010 г. его отправили в отставку, после чего он занимал должность посла Судана в Омане. В августе 2015 г. Омар аль-Башир назначил Авада ибн Ауфа министром обороны, а в феврале 2019 г. – первым вице-президентом Судана. Таким образом, Авад ибн Ауф был одним из первых лиц в суданском руководстве и при власти Омара аль-Башира.

Интересно, что генерал находится под международными санкциями – в 2007 году, еще в бытность его на военной службе, США наложили санкции на Авада ибн Ауфа из-за причастности последнего к операциям арабских военизированных формирований «джанджавидов» в Дарфуре, а также из-за предполагаемых связей Авада ибн Ауфа с Ираном. В Вашингтоне считали генерала посредником между суданским руководством и властями Ирана.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 12 апреля 2019 09:31
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Так майданщик или нет?