In Russia, created a chameleon material

MSU scientists led by Sergei Sheiko have developed a new material with unique properties. According to its strength characteristics, it is similar to pig skin and has high flexibility, but its most interesting feature is the ability to change color. The skin of the master of natural camouflage, the chameleon, has the same properties.




The creation of the material is based on the use of elastic triblock copolymers — special compounds consisting of three components. The central part is a fragment of chains with a branched structure. Layers of polymethyl methacrylate are located on both sides of the center. With their help, polymer chains are connected into a single network. Compression and tension leads to a change in the distance between the chains of polymethylmethacrylate, as a result, the color of the material changes.

According to Dmitry Ivanov, one of the developers of synthetic leather, there are a lot of areas for the application of their invention. Already now there is a development of options for introducing the invention into ophthalmology, where it can be used to create intraocular implants. In addition, the properties of "chameleon skin" can find application in developments related to optics.

Until now, there has not been a single synthetic material that could reproduce such a mechanics of living biological tissues. Therefore, our materials may have the most unexpected applications in the future.

- noted Ivanov
  • Photos used: https://kommersant.ru/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

В России создали материал-хамелеон

Ученые МГУ под руководством Сергея Шейко разработали новый материал с уникальными свойствами. По своим прочностным характеристикам он схож со свиной кожей и обладает высокой гибкостью, но самой интересной его особенностью является способность менять цвет. Такими же свойствами обладает кожа мастера природной маскировки – хамелеона.





В основе создания материала лежит использование упругих триблок-сополимеров— особых соединений, состоящих из трёх компонентов. Центральная часть представляет собой фрагмент из цепочек с разветвлённой структурой. С двух сторон от центра находятся слои полиметилметакрилата. С их помощью полимерные цепи соединяются в единую сеть. Сжатие и растяжение приводит к изменению расстояния между цепочками полиметилметакрилата, в результате меняется цвет материала.

По словам Дмитрия Иванова, одного из разработчиков синтетической кожи, областей для применения их изобретения масса. Уже сейчас идёт разработка вариантов внедрения изобретения в офтальмологию, где его можно будет применять при создании внутриглазных имплантов. Кроме того, свойства "кожи хамелеона" могут найти применение в разработках связанных с оптикой.

До сих пор не было ни одного синтетического материала, который мог бы воспроизвести такую механику живых биологических тканей. Поэтому у наших материалов в будущем могут быть самые неожиданные применения

– отметил Иванов
Использованы фотографии: https://kommersant.ru/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти