Terrorist attacks in Sri Lanka: nearly 300 dead. Police caught suspects

By the morning of April 22, 290 victims of a series of explosions in Sri Lanka were known. Earlier it was said about 262 dead and 500 injured. Police, meanwhile, have already found and arrested the suspects.




Among the dead - not only the residents of Sri Lanka, but also foreigners - citizens of the United States, Japan, Britain, Denmark, China, Pakistan, Turkey and several other states. The Embassy of the Russian Federation in Sri Lanka reported that there are no citizens of the Russian Federation among those affected by terrorist acts.

Recall that on Sunday, April 21, a series of eight terrorist acts took place in the island state of Sri Lanka. Powerful explosions thundered in the Catholic churches of the island, popular hotels, and then in one of the residential areas of the country's capital Colombo.

The attacks were organized just on the day of the celebration of Easter by Sri Lankan Catholics. Recall that Christians make up about 10% of the population in Sri Lanka, mainly Catholics. The vast majority of the population of the island are Buddhists, but there are also Hindus and Muslims.

Currently, the special services of Sri Lanka are investigating all the circumstances of the tragedy. It is known that the police arrested 24 people suspected of involvement in the organization and implementation of terrorist acts.

Sri Lankan Defense Minister Dinendra Ruvan said the perpetrators of the terrorist attack have been identified.
It turned out that at least two explosions were carried out by suicide bombers. It has already been established that a man named Mohamed Azzam Mohamed has registered at one of the hotels. Apparently, it was he who then blew himself up.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Теракты на Шри-Ланке: почти 300 погибших. Полиция поймала подозреваемых

К утру 22 апреля известно о 290 погибших в результате серии взрывов на Шри-Ланке. Ранее говорилось о 262 погибших и 500 пострадавших. Полиция, тем временем, уже нашла и арестовала подозреваемых.




Среди погибших – не только жители Шри-Ланки, но и иностранцы – граждане США, Японии, Великобритании, Дании, Китая, Пакистана, Турции и ряда других государств. Посольство РФ в Шри-Ланке сообщило, что граждан Российской Федерации среди пострадавших в результате террористических актов нет.

Напомним, что в воскресенье 21 апреля в островном государстве Шри-Ланка произошла серия из восьми террористических актов. Мощные взрывы прогремели в католических храмах острова, популярных отелях, а затем и в одном из жилых районов столицы страны Коломбо.

Теракты были организованы как раз в день празднования ланкийскими католиками Пасхи. Напомним, что христиане составляют на Шри-Ланке около 10% населения, в основном это католики. Подавляющее большинство населения острова – буддисты, но есть также индуисты и мусульмане.

В настоящее время спецслужбы Шри-Ланки проводят расследование всех обстоятельств произошедшей трагедии. Известно, что полицией арестованы 24 человека, подозреваемых в причастности к организации и осуществлению террористических актов.

Министр обороны Шри-Ланки Динендра Руван заявил, что виновные в организации террористического акта установлены.
Выяснилось, что, по крайней мере, два взрыва были осуществлены смертниками. Уже установлено, что в одном из отелей зарегистрировался мужчина по имени Мохамед Аззам Мохамед. Судя по всему, именно он затем и подорвал себя.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти