The confrontation of An-124 and C-5 Galaxy: Ruslan is forced to concede

Despite the fact that our An-124 Ruslan surpasses the American strategic military transport aircraft Lockheed C-5 Galaxy in some tactical and technical characteristics, it still turned out to be an outsider. The thing is that the Russian aviation industry does not have the opportunity to modernize the design of the machine due to "complicated" relations with Ukraine. While the United States has already managed to improve its version of the aircraft to the C-5M Super Galaxy.




An-124 Ruslan is a Soviet military transport aircraft that made its first flight in 1982. Its production was simultaneously conducted at two plants - in Kiev and Ulyanovsk. A total of 56 cars were assembled. At the moment, 36 An-124 remained in Russia, however, due to the lack of the possibility of cooperation with the Kiev plant, about half of them have already become donors.

The American Lockheed C-5 Galaxy made its first flight in 1968. It surpasses the An-124 in speed, but inferior to the latter in flight range and carrying capacity. A total of 131 cars were produced. At the moment, the United States has 60 C-5 Galaxy aircraft and 31 modernized C-5M Super Galaxys at its disposal, which puts our Ruslan in an unenviable position.

As for the future of the domestic military transport aircraft, it is rather “vague”. So, in June 2018, Lieutenant General V. Benediktov, commander of the transport aviation of the Russian Federation, mentioned that the country is actively considering options for the independent resumption of production of the An-124. However, a month later, the CAST Director Ruslan Pukhov expressed doubts about this. In turn, the head of the Ministry of Industry and Trade D. Manturov said that the issue of replacing Ruslan is currently being worked out. True, the process may drag on until the end of the 2040s.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 23 2019 13: 20
    +1
    There is no money, but we will file .... Such an association to the article ...
  2. NordUral Offline NordUral
    NordUral (Eugene) April 24 2019 17: 12
    0
    True, the process may drag on until the end of the 2040s.

    I won’t live, like that shah.
  3. Oleg RB Offline Oleg RB
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 8 May 2019 14: 54
    0
    Some kind of sadness
    1. bariy2019 Offline bariy2019
      bariy2019 (barium barinov) 26 June 2020 06: 18
      0
      There is no money for their country, but all the blacks and other morons — they fed the Communists!

Противостояние Ан-124 и C-5 Galaxy: «Руслан» вынужден уступить

Несмотря на то, что наш Ан-124 «Руслан» по некоторым тактико-техническим характеристикам превосходит американский стратегический военно-транспортный самолет Lockheed C-5 Galaxy, он все же оказался в положении аутсайдера. Все дело в том, что авиапром России не имеет возможности модернизировать конструкцию машины по причине «осложнившихся» взаимоотношений с Украиной. В то время как США уже успели улучшить свою версию самолета до C-5М Super Galaxy.





Ан-124 «Руслан» – это советский военно-транспортный самолет, совершивший свой первый полет в 1982 году. Его производство параллельно велось на двух заводах – в Киеве и Ульяновске. Всего было собрано 56 машин. На данный момент в России осталось 36 Ан-124, однако, из-за отсутствия возможности сотрудничества с киевским заводом, около половины из них уже превратились в «доноров».

Американский Lockheed C-5 Galaxy совершил свой первый полет в 1968 году. Он превосходит Ан-124 в скорости, но уступает последнему в дальности полета и грузоподъемности. Всего была выпущена 131 машина. На данный момент в распоряжении США находятся 60 самолетов C-5 Galaxy и 31 модернизированный C-5М Super Galaxy, что ставит нашего «Руслана» в незавидное положение.

Что касается будущего отечественного военно-транспортного самолета, оно довольно «расплывчато». Так, в июне 2018 года генерал-лейтенант В. Бенедиктов – командующий транспортной авиацией РФ, упомянул о том, что в стране активно рассматриваются варианты самостоятельного возобновления производства Ан-124. Однако, месяцем позже, директор ЦАСТ Руслан Пухов выразил сомнения по этому поводу. В свою очередь глава Минпромторга Д. Мантуров заявил, что на данный момент прорабатывается вопрос производства замены «Руслану». Правда процесс может затянуться до конца 2040-х годов.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 23 апреля 2019 13:20
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Денег нет, но мы напилим.... Такая ассоциация к статье...
  2. NordUral Офлайн
    NordUral (Евгений) 24 апреля 2019 17:12
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Правда процесс может затянуться до конца 2040-х годов.

    Не доживу, как и тот шах.
  3. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 8 мая 2019 14:54
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Какая-то печалька