Cheap and cheerful: Roscosmos wants to deliver people to the ISS in just two hours

Quite a reasonable initiative. Which is even strange, given the latest scandals in the space department of the Russian Federation.




ISS: was, is. Will be?


Since the cost of the International Space Station project has long exceeded $ 150 billion, there are quite fair claims against it both in the USA (the main investor) and in Europe. In Russia, dissatisfaction is most often associated with the fact that "we are supplying the western orbital station." However, there is no alternative now either for the Russian Federation or for its Western partners. China is not eager to see in the project of creating its first multimodular station anyone but experts from the Celestial Empire itself. And the lunar orbital station Lunar Orbital Platform-Gateway can be created only in the 30s. Or never create at all.

Meanwhile, both the Americans and the Russians need to “occupy” something with the thousands of specialists currently employed in manned space exploration. In practice, this means that no one will immediately abandon the ISS without a real alternative. In other words, the timing of the decommissioning of the station can be shifted: from the now-expected mid-2020s to a later date. This means that the delivery of goods and astronauts will be on the agenda for at least a dozen years.

It is not known whether the Federation will have time to appear by the time the station is abandoned. But this is not important: so far, Russia has somehow coped with its tasks with the help of the Soyuz manned spacecraft and the unmanned Progress. And if a new spaceship is needed, then for something more serious: for example, the delivery of astronauts to the moon. However, we may never wait for this at all. This pleasure is too expensive, but Russia does not have that kind of money, and it’s not a fact that America will be able to realize something like this before the end of the 2020s.



Faster and faster


Actually, the high speed of delivery to the ISS is also an element of savings, which would come in handy for the department of Dmitry Rogozin. Now the Russian ships get to the station either by the standard two-day scheme or by the fast six-hour one. In 2018 and 2019, a superfast two-turn scheme was used for Progress space trucks, which made it possible to reach the station in just three hours.

However, a little distraction from the records. Needless to say, how difficult a engineering task is facing specialists when it is necessary to deliver a ship to an orbital station. One example: when separating the Soyuz or Progress from the third stage of the rocket, they are located at an altitude of approximately 200 kilometers, while the ISS flies at 400-450 km altitude. The most important parameters determining the possibility of docking are the so-called phase angle and phase range. The first is the angle between the ship and the target in the orbit plane, and the second is the allowable phase angle values ​​at which docking is possible.

When using the two-day scheme, the phase range is very large - of the order of 150 °, and the phase angle is usually in the range of 200-400 °. The six-hour scheme is much more strict - it is necessary to meet the phase angle of 30 ± 15 °.



These and other features affect the price for the main partners of Russians - Americans. As follows from open sources, over the past ten years, flights into orbit on Soyuz have risen four times for NASA astronauts - from $ 21,8 million per person to almost 82 million. Russia is not "greedy", just manned space exploration is not very cheap.

What does Roskosmos offer now? According to RIA News, experts are exploring the possibility of a single-turn scheme for flights to the ISS. Moreover, such a flight can take only two hours, which is also important, given that the “Unions” have never been among the most convenient spaceships for the crew.

According to ballistic specialists of RSC Energia, it is possible to implement a single-turn rapprochement scheme in two to three years

- the agency notes in its material with reference to the Energy website.

It also talks about other advantages of such a solution, in addition to economy and convenience. The most important of them can be called the fact that now a single-turn scheme is being considered as part of the implementation of a two-start concept of flight to the moon. For her, they plan to dock the manned spacecraft launched into low Earth orbit with an upper stage, on which liquid hydrogen and oxygen were used. This unit cannot fly to the ship for two days, since the used fuel components in this case turn into gaseous and evaporate.

The term of use of such a booster block after removal is small, so a quick rapprochement and docking with it is an extremely urgent task. Another area of ​​application of fast ship-to-station rapprochement schemes is rescue operations in space, when the time factor can become critical

- says the message of "Energy".



Hello from the USSR


Not to say that the records of recent years have not surprised experts, just as it cannot be said that a single-turn delivery scheme is a usual "window dressing". Not at all. However, in fairness, similar records set before. Moreover, during the Cold War, space was much more important to world superpowers. The USSR holds an absolute record: on April 15, 1968, the Soyuz unmanned spacecraft, designated Cosmos-213, docked to the Cosmos-212 of the same type only 47 minutes after launch.

A record manned docking could also be performed in the USSR: when the manned spacecraft Soyuz-3 approached the unmanned Soyuz-2 in less than an hour. The operation fell through due to the incorrect position of the ship. So the record of the manned docking now belongs to the States. In 1966, the Gemini-11 docked with the Agen-XI apparatus in one hour and 34 minutes, which is also an undoubted achievement.


Nowadays, experts do not have a clear opinion on which scheme is better. It all depends on the circumstances.

The Americans also docked on the Gemini in the second round not from a good life. Indeed, weightlessness affects the vestibular apparatus and the pilot, and the Americans docked only by hand, could lose spatial orientation, which happened to Georgy Beregov at Soyuz-3 when trying to dock with Soyuz-2 in 1968. This is partly why manned ships began to dock with orbital stations, first on a daily basis, and then on a two-day scheme, which has been happening for the last 38 years

- said in 2018 the chief editor of the magazine "News Cosmonautics ”Igor Marinin.

In general, the use of more advanced electronics will make travel to the ISS safe. Now, if the station is forced to evade space debris, this will not necessarily disrupt the delivery of goods and crew. As for the prospects of the “Unions” and “Progress”, the single-turn scheme will not make them modern and fully meet the requirements of its time. Recall that the “Progress”, unlike the Dragon ship, cannot return to Earth with cargoes after the flight to the station. And on board the Soyuz, with all the desire, it will not be possible to place seven people, as on Dragon V2. Therefore, the development of new spacecraft is one of the key tasks for the space department of the Russian Federation.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. jekasimf Offline jekasimf
    jekasimf (jekasimf) 4 May 2019 13: 07
    +1
    So many problems come out in preparation for the flight to the moon. But the Americans have already visited the moon !!! ???? Yeah ...
  3. Digital error Offline Digital error
    Digital error (Eugene) 4 May 2019 19: 09
    +1
    from 21,8 million dollars per person to almost 82 million. Russia is not greedy

    Russia does not have that kind of money

    So what is it that happens - if Roscosmos sends the United Russia fraction to the ISS (so that they can better see life in the outback), will it earn 343x82000000 = 28126000000 rubles, or $ 432707692, which is 81% of the deficit of the Russian pension fund for 2019? https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3731561

Дешево и сердито: Роскосмос хочет доставлять людей на МКС всего за два часа

Вполне разумная инициатива. Что даже странно, с учетом последних скандалов в космическом ведомстве РФ.



МКС: была, есть. Будет?



Так как стоимость проекта Международной космической станции давно «перевалила» за 150 миллиардов долларов, к ней есть вполне справедливые претензии как у США (главный инвестор), так и у Европы. В России недовольство чаще всего связано с тем, что «мы снабжаем западную орбитальную станцию». Однако сейчас ни для РФ, ни для ее западных партнеров альтернативы нет. Китай не горит желанием видеть в проекте создания своей первой многомодульной станции никого, кроме специалистов самой Поднебесной. А лунно-орбитальную станцию Lunar Orbital Platform-Gateway могут создать только в 30-е. Или вообще никогда не создать.

Между тем, и американцам, и россиянам нужно чем-то «занять» тысячи специалистов, занятых сейчас в пилотируемой космонавтике. На практике это означает, что никто разом не будет отказываться от МКС, не имея реальной альтернативы. Иными словами, сроки вывода станции из эксплуатации могут сдвинуть: с предполагаемой сейчас середины 2020-х на более поздний срок. А значит, доставка грузов и астронавтов будет еще как минимум десяток лет стоять на повестке дня.

Успеет ли к моменту отказа от станции появиться «Федерация» – неизвестно. Но это и не важно: пока что Россия худо-бедно справляется со своими задачами при помощи пилотируемого космического корабля «Союз» и беспилотного «Прогресса». А новый космический корабль если и нужен, то для чего-то более серьезного: например, доставки космонавтов на Луну. Однако этого мы можем вообще никогда не дождаться. Слишком уж дорогое это удовольствие, а у России таких денег нет, да и не факт, что Америка сможет реализовать что-то подобное до конца 2020-х.



Быстрый и еще быстрее


Собственно, высокая скорость доставки на МКС – это также еще и элемент экономии, которая бы очень кстати пришлась ведомству Дмитрия Рогозина. Сейчас российские корабли добираются до станции или по стандартной двухсуточной схеме или по быстрой шестичасовой. В 2018 и 2019 годах для космических грузовиков «Прогресс» применили сверхбыструю двухвитковую схему, которая позволила добраться до станции всего лишь за три часа.

Впрочем, немного отвлечемся от рекордов. Стоит ли говорить, насколько сложная инженерная задача стоит перед специалистами, когда нужно доставить на орбитальную станцию корабль. Один пример: при отделении «Союза» или «Прогресса» от третьей ступени ракеты, они находятся на высоте примерно 200 километров, в то время как МКС летает на 400-450 километровой высоте. Важнейшими параметрами, определяющими возможность стыковки, являются так называемые фазовый угол и фазовый диапазон. Первый – это угол между кораблем и целью в плоскости орбиты, а второй – допустимые значения фазового угла, при которых возможна стыковка.

При использовании двухсуточной схемы фазовый диапазон весьма велик – порядка 150°, а фазовый угол находится обычно в диапазоне 200-400°. Шестичасовая схема гораздо более строгая – необходимо уложиться в фазовый угол 30±15°.



Эти и другие особенности сказываются на цене для главных партнеров россиян – американцев. Как следует из открытых источников, за последние десять лет полеты на орбиту на « Союзах» подорожали для астронавтов NASA в четыре раза – с 21,8 миллионов долларов за человека до почти 82 миллионов. Россия «не жадная», просто пилотируемая космонавтика обходится очень не дешево.

Что же предлагает Роскосмос сейчас? По сведеньям РИА Новости, специалисты прорабатывают возможность одновитковой схемы при полетах на МКС. Причем занять такой полет может всего лишь два часа времени, что тоже немаловажно, если учесть, что «Союзы» никогда не входили в число самых удобных для экипажа космических кораблей.

По мнению специалистов-баллистиков РКК «Энергия», реализовать одновитковую схему сближения возможно уже через два-три года

– отмечает в своем материале агентство со ссылкой на сайт «Энергии».

Там же говорится о других плюсах такого решения, кроме экономии и удобства. Самым главным из них можно назвать то, что сейчас одновитковую схему рассматривают в рамках реализации двухпусковой концепции полета к Луне. Для нее планируют стыковку выведенного на околоземную орбиту пилотируемого космического корабля с разгонным блоком, на котором применили жидкий водород и кислород. Данный блок не может двое суток лететь к кораблю, так как используемые компоненты топлива в этом случае превратятся в газообразные и испарятся.

Срок использования такого разгонного блока после выведения невелик, поэтому быстрое сближение и стыковка с ним – крайне актуальная задача. Еще одна область применения быстрых схем сближения корабля со станцией – проведение спасательных операций в космосе, когда фактор времени может стать критическим

– говорится в сообщении «Энергии».



Привет из СССР


Не сказать, что рекорды последних лет не удивили экспертов, ровно, как и нельзя сказать, что одновитковая схема доставки – обычная «показуха». Вовсе нет. Однако, справедливости ради, подобные рекорды ставили и раньше. Тем более, что в годы холодной войны космос был гораздо более важен мировым сверхдержавам. Абсолютный рекорд принадлежит СССР: 15 апреля 1968 беспилотный космический аппарат «Союз», получивший обозначение «Космос-213», пристыковался к однотипному «Космосу-212» всего лишь через 47 минут после запуска.

Рекордную пилотируемую стыковку тоже могли выполнить в СССР: когда пилотируемый корабль «Союз-3» сблизился с беспилотным «Союз-2» меньше, чем за час. Операция сорвалась из-за неправильного положения корабля. Так что рекорд пилотируемой сейчас стыковки принадлежит Штатам. В 1966 году Gemini-11 за один час и 34 минуты состыковался с аппаратом «Аджена-XI», что тоже является несомненным достижением.


В наше время эксперты не имеют однозначного мнения относительно того, какая схема лучше. Все зависит от обстоятельств.

Американцы тоже стыковались на Gemini на втором витке не от хорошей жизни. Ведь невесомость воздействует на вестибулярный аппарат и пилот, а американцы стыковались только вручную, мог потерять пространственную ориентацию, что и произошло с Георгием Береговым на «Союзе-3» при попытке стыковки с «Союзом-2» в 1968 году. Отчасти поэтому пилотируемые корабли стали стыковаться с орбитальными станциями сначала по суточной, а потом и по двухсуточной схеме, что и происходит последние 38 лет

– сказал в 2018 году главный редактор журнала «Новости космонавтики» Игорь Маринин.

В целом же, применение более совершенной электроники позволит обезопасить путешествия к МКС. Теперь, если станция будет вынуждена уклониться от космического мусора, это не обязательно сорвет доставку грузов и экипажа. Что же касается перспектив «Союзов» и «Прогрессов», то одновитковая схема не сделает их современными и полностью отвечающими требованиям своего времени. Напомним, что «Прогресс», в отличие от корабля Dragon не может возвращаться обратно на Землю с грузами после полета на станцию. А на борту «Союза» при всем желании не получится разместить семь человек, как на Dragon V2. Поэтому разработка новых космических аппаратов – одна из ключевых задач для космического ведомства РФ.
Использованы фотографии: http://1zoom.me
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. jekasimf Офлайн
    jekasimf (jekasimf) 4 мая 2019 13:07
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Столько проблем вылезает,при подготовке к полету на Луну. Но Америкосы уже побывали на Луне!!!???? Ага....
  3. DigitalError Офлайн
    DigitalError (Евгений) 4 мая 2019 19:09
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    с 21,8 миллионов долларов за человека до почти 82 миллионов. Россия «не жадная»

    у России таких денег нет

    Так это что ж получается - если Роскосмос отправит фракцию "Единая Россия" на МКС (чтоб лучше разглядели жизнь в глубинке), то заработает 343х82000000 = 28126000000 рублей, или 432707692$, что составляет 81% от дефицита пенсионного фонда России на 2019 год? https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3731561