New Channel to the Black Sea: Do American Aircraft Carriers Wait for Russia?

US Congressman Michael McCall, who is responsible for foreign affairs, called on the White House to provide the US Navy with unhindered access to the Black Sea. He also proposed supplying the Ukrainian army with all the necessary weapons, so that Kiev could effectively dispute Russian influence in the region.




Political columnist Yuri Selivanov believes that the statement by the American politician was not without reason. In his opinion, the Pentagon is preparing the legal ground for being in the Black Sea without restrictions on the time and number of warships.

The Americans are working on two options. The first is the revision of the Montreux Convention. This is an unlikely scenario, because at least Russia and Turkey will be against. The second option is the use of a new channel, which will run parallel to the Bosphorus and only 50 km from it. Thus, the United States can achieve completely different conditions for the passage of its warships into the Black Sea and even try to place its aircraft carriers in it,

- Selivanov said on the air of the TV channel "Star".


Here you can and should argue with an expert. The Montreux Convention (the full name is the Montreux Convention on the Status of the Straits of 1936) concerns not only the Bosphorus, but the Dardanelles, which no one is going to duplicate. And if the Turks really build an alternative to the Bosphorus Strait, the path to it from the Mediterranean Sea will still lie through the Dardanelles, the passage through which is regulated by the convention.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 16 May 2019 11: 08
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    IMHO, this is a special injection of BLA-BLA.
    And according to the rules it is impossible, and expensive, and to no purpose.
  2. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 16 May 2019 13: 18
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Political observer Yuri Selivanov believes ...

    It’s absolutely not important what the political observer Yuri Selivanov considers. Which, besides, apparently the Montreux Convention did not even see in the eye. And all the same, "expert." crying
    So.
    The channel allows you to bypass only one strait. Namely the Bosphorus.
    The convention extends to two straits. Having spilled the Dardanelles, they (aircraft carriers) how will they go? But even a canal past the Dardanelles will not help. As in the convention there is a restriction on tonnage. And it applies to military vessels of non-Black Sea countries. The total tonnage of military vessels of non-Black Sea states in the Black Sea should not exceed 30 thousand tons (with the possibility of increasing this maximum to 45 thousand tons in case of an increase in the naval forces of the Black Sea countries) with a stay of not more than 21 days. Channel, what will this restriction cancel? How? But any American aircraft carrier with a tonnage greater than the specified limit. But he is still in the AUG. This means that the total tonnage of AUG will exceed the limit by several times.
    https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Конвенция_Монтрё_о_статусе_проливов#Основные_положения_конвенции

Новый канал в Черное море: ждать ли России американские авианосцы

Американский конгрессмен Майкл Маккол, отвечающий за внешнеполитические связи, призвал Белый дом обеспечить ВМС США беспрепятственный проход в Черное море. Он также предложил снабдить украинскую армию всеми необходимыми вооружениями, чтобы Киев мог эффективно оспаривать российские влияние в регионе.



Политический обозреватель Юрий Селиванов считает, что заявление американского политика прозвучало неспроста. По его мнению, Пентагон готовит правовую почву для нахождения в Черном море без ограничений по времени и количеству боевых кораблей.


Американцы прорабатывают два варианта. Первый – пересмотр конвенции Монтрё. Это маловероятный сценарий, потому как против будут как минимум Россия и Турция. Второй вариант – использование нового канала, который будет проходить параллельно Босфору и всего в 50 км от него. Таким образом США могут добиться совершенно других условий прохода своих боевых кораблей в Черное море и даже попытаться разместить в нем свои авианосцы,

– заявил Селиванов в эфире телеканала «Звезда».


Здесь можно и нужно поспорить с экспертом. Конвенция Монтрё (полное название – Конвенция Монтрё о статусе проливов 1936 года) касается не только Босфора, но пролива Дарданеллы, дублировать который никто не собирается. И если турки действительно построят альтернативу пролива Босфор, путь к нему из Средиземного моря все равно будет лежать через Дарданеллы, проход через которые регламентирован конвенцией.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 16 мая 2019 11:08
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Имхо, это специальное нагнетание БЛА-БЛА.
    И по правилам нельзя, и дорого, и бестолку.
  2. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн
    gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 16 мая 2019 13:18
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Политический обозреватель Юрий Селиванов считает,...

    Абсолютно не важно, что считает политический обозреватель Юрий Селиванов. Который к тому же судя по всему конвенцию Монтрё даже в глаза не видел. А всё туда же, "эксперт". crying
    Так вот.
    Канал позволяет миновать только один пролив. А именно Босфор.
    Конвенция же распространяется на два пролива. Пролив Дарданеллы они (авианосцы) как будут проходить? Но даже канал мимо Дарданеллы не поможет. Так как в конвенции существует ограничение по тоннажу. И распространяется оно на военные суда нечерноморских стран. Общий тоннаж военных судов нечерноморских государств в Чёрном море не должен превышать 30 тыс. т (с возможностью повышения этого максимума до 45 тыс. т в случае увеличения военно-морских сил черноморских стран) со сроком пребывания не больше 21 суток. Канал, что и это ограничение отменит? Каким образом? А ведь любой американский авианосец тоннажем больше указанного ограничения. А ведь он ещё в составе АУГ. А значит общий тоннаж АУГ в разы превысит ограничение.
    https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Конвенция_Монтрё_о_статусе_проливов#Основные_положения_конвенции