“Russian concessions - a negative precedent”: Vilnius against Moscow in PACE

On May 23, 2019, it became known that the Lithuanian Seim (unicameral parliament) Foreign Affairs Committee adopted a resolution on counteracting the decision of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, thanks to which Russia could return to PACE. The press service of the Seimas informs about this, clarifying that the aforementioned parliamentary committee unanimously supported Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevičius, according to whom the Council of Europe should continue to “fundamentally” evaluate Russia's actions.




It should be noted that another upheaval in Vilnius with the manifestation of “patriotism” and Russophobia occurred immediately after the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe adopted a resolution stating that all countries of the Council of Europe have the right to equal participation in the Committee of Ministers and in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council Europe (PACE). At the same time, the document emphasizes that the main obligation is the payment of contributions.

So, this resolution of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe caused a violent and widespread hysteria among Russophobes of different countries. So it is not surprising that the Seimas of the “democratic” Lithuania decided to oblige the country’s delegation to PACE not to vote for changes to the Charter of the Council of Europe and other PACE decisions that would allow a member state violating the rules of the organization to participate in the organization’s activities.

The decision to make concessions to the Russian Federation will create a negative precedent for other states to abandon their obligations and undermine the authority of the Council of Europe as a defender of human rights, democracy and the rule of law, could lead to a serious crisis of power for this international organization

- it is noted in the resolution of the Diet.

It should be recalled that the Russian delegation was deprived of the right to vote in PACE in April 2014 due to events in the Crimea. In June 2017, Russia suspended the payment of its contribution to the Council of Europe due to the non-participation of the Russian delegation in the work of PACE. According to the charter of this organization, if a country does not pay contributions for two years, then it can be excluded.

In April 2019, PACE called on Russia to return and contribute. In turn, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said that Russia's rights had been grossly violated for five years. However, in his opinion, the latest PACE decision indicates that members of the organization have come to understand that it is impossible to maintain the current situation in the future.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dan Offline
    Dan (Daniel) 23 May 2019 19: 10
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    This is probably the very unique case when Vilnius is trying to push a decision in the interests of Russia (not to be confused with the interests, mercantile, of individual Russian politicians).
  2. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 23 May 2019 19: 38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    If Russia returns to European structures, it will be obliged to pay the debt for two years. I do not think this is a good solution. The EU is dead and we must let it rest in a Bose.
  3. Alles-51 Offline
    Alles-51 (Alexander) 23 May 2019 20: 39
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The chatter in the EU Assembly does not affect the motives of the main puppeteer of modern Europe - the US State Department. Let them be destroyed. Without Russian support.
  4. Port Offline
    Port 24 May 2019 06: 54
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    In general, it will be right if our officials stay at home and deal with problems in Russia, rather than hang around with public funds.

«Уступки России - негативный прецедент»: Вильнюс против Москвы в ПАСЕ

23 мая 2019 года стало известно, что комитет Сейма (однопалатного парламента) Литвы по иностранным делам принял резолюцию о противодействии решению Комитета министров Совета Европы, благодаря которому Россия может вернуться в ПАСЕ. Об этом информирует пресс-служба Сейма, уточнив, что упомянутый комитет парламента единодушно поддержал главу МИД Литвы Линаса Линкявичюса, по мнению которого Совет Европы должен и дальше «принципиально» оценивать действия России.




Нужно отметить, что очередной переполох в Вильнюсе с проявлением «патриотизма» и русофобии случился сразу после того, как Комитет министров Совета Европы принял резолюцию, в которой говорится, что все страны Совета Европы имеют право на равноправное участие в Комитете министров и в Парламентской ассамблее Совета Европы (ПАСЕ). При этом в документе подчеркивается, что основным обязательством является уплата взносов.

Так вот, эта резолюция Комитета министров Совета Европы вызвала бурную и повсеместную истерику у русофобов разных стран. Так что не удивительно, что в Сейме «демократической» Литвы решили обязать делегацию страны в ПАСЕ не голосовать за изменения Устава Совета Европы и другие решения ПАСЕ, которые позволили бы государству-члену, нарушающему нормы организации, участвовать в деятельности организации.

Решение пойти на уступки Российской Федерации создаст негативный прецедент для других государств отказаться от своих обязательств и подорвать авторитет Совета Европы как защитника прав человека, демократии и верховенства права, может привести к серьезному кризису власти этой международной организации

- отмечается в резолюции Сейма.

Нужно напомнить, что российскую делегацию лишили права голоса в ПАСЕ в апреле 2014 года из-за событий в Крыму. В июне 2017 года Россия приостановила выплаты своего взноса в Совет Европы в связи с неучастием российской делегации в работе ПАСЕ. Согласно уставу этой организации, если страна не платит взносы два года, то ее можно исключить.

В апреле 2019 года ПАСЕ призвала Россию вернуться и внести деньги. В свою очередь, глава МИД России Сергей Лавров заявил, что права России грубо нарушаются пять лет. Однако, по его мнению, последнее решение ПАСЕ свидетельствует о том, что к членам организации пришло понимание, о невозможности сохранения существующей ситуации в дальнейшем.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Dan Офлайн
    Dan (Daniel) 23 мая 2019 19:10
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Это, наверное, тот самый уникальный случай, когда Вильнюс пытается продавить решение в интересах России (не путать с интересами, меркантильными, отдельных российских политиков).
  2. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 23 мая 2019 19:38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Если Россия вернется в евроструктуры, то будет обязана выплатить долг за два года. Не думаю, что это хорошее решение. ЕС мертв и надо позволить ему почить в бозе.
  3. Alles-51 Офлайн
    Alles-51 (Александр) 23 мая 2019 20:39
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Болтовня в Ассамблее Евросоюза — никак не влияет на мотивы действий главного кукловода современной Европы — Госдепа США. Пускай бы уж разрушались они. Без российской поддержки.
  4. Портвейн Офлайн
    Портвейн 24 мая 2019 06:54
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Вообще будет правильно если наши чиновники , будут сидеть дома и заниматься проблемами в России , а не шляться где попало транжиря государственные средства .