"Explosive" Dragon and Belated Boeing: who will be the first to replace the "Union"

Now Soyuz is the only manned Russian spacecraft. And the only means of delivering crews aboard the International Space Station. At the same time, it is impossible to say that the Soyuz is an ideal spaceship, which is connected, inter alia, with cramped conditions for the crew. To say that it is very cheap - too. The cost of space travel is generally stubbornly rising.




Over the past ten years, flights to orbit on Soyuz spacecraft have quadrupled for American astronauts - from $ 21,8 million per person to almost 82 million. But the choice is not great, to say the least. The American Space Shuttle completed its last flight in 2011, while Europe did not have and does not have its own manned spacecraft.

The story of the American shuttle is generally indicative: what was created as a “cheap reusable ship” turned out to be expensive, excessively powerful and, in fact, almost unnecessary for solving current tasks, such as delivering a couple of astronauts aboard the ISS. Or return them back to Earth.

At the same time, it is naive to believe that the Soyuz will be exploited in the 20s with such frequency as it is now. The ship, created in the 60s, does not fit very well with the realities of our time. But most importantly, he has serious competitors. Let's talk about the advantages and disadvantages of programs for creating promising spacecraft in their current form.



Crew Dragon


This ship is also known as Dragon or Dragon V2. The name conveys the essence well: we have before us a manned version of the long-launched SpaceX cargo Dragon. Successfully flying to the ISS and being the only cargo spacecraft of our time capable of delivering cargo from the ISS back to Earth.

Benefits. The main advantage of Dragon V2 is higher capabilities than Soyuz’s. After all, the Dragon will be able to take on board up to seven people, instead of three (whether this is required under the current realities of station maintenance is another matter). In any case, the Crew Dragon is a much more spacious device, which is also important. And for its launch into orbit, we intend to use the proven Falcon 9, which we have successfully adopted. Do not forget about the partial reusability, which will make it possible to reuse the capsule for astronaut flights. In theory, this will be another success for SpaceX, which makes a special bet on reusable use of its components. Another undoubted success: Crew Dragon has already flown on the ISS and quite successfully. True, the first flight was performed without a crew.


Disadvantages. Obvious "dampness", characteristic, however, of all new spaceships. This forces a shift in the timing of the tests. Recall that the first manned flight as part of the SpaceX DM-2 mission on Crew Dragon should take place no earlier than the end of this year. They wanted to fulfill it in July, but the accident confused the plans. On April 21, 2019, tests of the engine of the Crew Dragon spacecraft ended with a powerful explosion and the complete destruction of Dragon V2, which for some reason in SpaceX itself was persistently called an “anomaly”.


The reason, as it turned out later, was the SuperDraco engine start system, which is needed for emergency rescue and guided landing. In practice, this means that for about a year, the Union MS will still be needed by the United States, like air. After all, so far the “second” Dragon is the only real alternative to the near future.

Boeing CST-100 Starliner


A less well-known, but no less significant world-wide perspective American spaceship. Developer - Boeing.

Benefits. In general, they are similar to those in the case of Dragon V2: the devices are pretty close, purely conceptual. Ideally, the CST-100 should become an economical partially reusable spacecraft that can deliver up to seven crew members aboard the ISS. Space and comfort should invariably distinguish the ship against the background of vehicles of the past years. As a carrier, they see the Vulcan rocket, which will use a “fashionable” methane engine, namely the BE-4.


Disadvantages. Partially stem from the pros. There are no Vulcan rockets yet, nor is there a methane engine, although both components of the system are being actively developed. In general, there is a significant lag behind SpaceX. If Crew Dragon has one flight to the ISS, then the CST-100 has yet to complete it. And only then it will be possible to count on the first flight with the crew. Not so long ago, Boeing announced the next transfer: now it should not take place in the spring, but in August 2019. The launch with the crew - not earlier than November of this year, but most likely this will happen no earlier than 2020. However, a “miracle” can happen and, in theory, Boeing can overtake the “Dragon” in the competition: the explosion of the Crew Dragon capsule mentioned above added fuel to the fire. By the way, everything is far from cloudless at Boeing, in 2018, there were data on problems during a test burn of four engines of the emergency rescue system, which resulted in a leak of hydrazine and another postponement of the test dates.

Big ambitions - big difficulties


In short, the creators of the CST-100 and Crew Dragon so far have every reason to believe in success, and the difficulties they encountered can hardly significantly postpone the dates of the first starts. Of course, after the commissioning of new ships, Russia will not abandon the Soyuz MS overnight, but uncomfortable questions will arise before the department of Dmitry Rogozin. Indeed, in case of success of overseas partners, Soyuz will remain an instrument specifically Russian, that is, designed to deliver individual crews to the station. In practice, this means that two / three crew members will go down in history: if Russia will put someone into orbit, it will probably be one astronaut. Just no longer needed. Of course, no one will support the manned astronautics in this form for long: this is pointless.

The prospects of the new Russian spacecraft Federation, which they intend to launch for the first time in an unmanned version around the mid-2020s, look even more ambiguous: exactly by the time they can refuse the ISS at all. That is, why it is needed - so far it is not entirely clear. De facto, the “Federation” is not so much a new ship, but a reserve for the future and an opportunity to occupy space industry specialists with something, and for officials it is also an opportunity to make money on it.


If the Federation is needed, it is only for lunar projects, in particular for the delivery of goods and crews to the Lunar Orbital Platform-Gateway. This is a new conditionally international station, the main role in the creation of which will be played by the States. Unlike the ISS, it will be located in the orbit of the moon.

By the way, the United States intends to solve the “complex” lunar missions with the help of another promising ship, the Orion. He is not considered a competitor to the Soyuz and will not be used for flight to the ISS. Orion’s first manned launch is expected to be completed around the mid-2020s. In principle, at the same time as the Federation. But something tells us that the American project will develop more dynamically, which, among other things, is connected with Donald Trump's almost "fantastic" desire to return American astronauts to the moon.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: https://360tv.ru
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. DPN Offline DPN
    DPN (DPN) 30 May 2019 14: 07
    +2
    And what prevents Russia from doing its new thing, and not using the developments of the 60s, why stomp in the last century.? Nevertheless, it remained in Russia, only the population in two decreased.
    1. 17085 Offline 17085
      17085 (Dmitriy) 31 May 2019 00: 42
      0
      Quote: DPN
      And what prevents Russia from doing its new thing, and not using the developments of the 60s, why stomp in the last century.? Nevertheless, it remained in Russia, only the population in two decreased.

      Because the author wrote nonsense, there are no competitors, there are plans, but not in fact.
      The population decreased due to the republics of Central Asia, mainly and not by two.
    2. damage Offline damage
      damage (Kirill Lemurov) 7 June 2019 13: 34
      -2
      And what to do and for what? Nowhere to fly, on the ISS once every six months a Russian cosmonaut? Just like in the 60s, ships don’t fly now, they just carry it somewhere. And nowhere.
  2. DrShvarce Offline DrShvarce
    DrShvarce (DrShvarce) 30 May 2019 23: 02
    +1
    Quote: DPN
    And what prevents Russia from doing its new thing, and not using the developments of the 60s, why stomp in the last century.? Nevertheless, it remained in Russia, only the population in two decreased.

    Virtually destroyed science and castrated education. In the words of Kuzma Prutkov: "See the root."
    1. 17085 Offline 17085
      17085 (Dmitriy) 31 May 2019 00: 43
      -1
      Quote: DrShvarce
      Quote: DPN
      And what prevents Russia from doing its new thing, and not using the developments of the 60s, why stomp in the last century.? Nevertheless, it remained in Russia, only the population in two decreased.

      Virtually destroyed science and castrated education. In the words of Kuzma Prutkov: "See the root."

      Maybe you have been neutered, because you are not looking at that root.
    2. Rinat Offline Rinat
      Rinat (Rinat) 31 May 2019 06: 17
      0
      And what prevents Americans from flying their ships, because they officially had flights on their ships even to the moon? Where are these ships? After all, the United States did not have the collapse of the country in the 90s and they did not have problems with the collapse of science and industry, as in Russia at that time.
  3. Rinat Offline Rinat
    Rinat (Rinat) 31 May 2019 06: 28
    0
    The author is very optimistic about the imminent creation by the amers of a reliable and most importantly flying space ship. According to the apparent dynamics of the creation of the ship, they will need a few more years, maybe 5-10 years.
  4. DrShvarce Offline DrShvarce
    DrShvarce (DrShvarce) 5 June 2019 19: 57
    0
    Quote: 17085
    Quote: DrShvarce
    Quote: DPN
    And what prevents Russia from doing its new thing, and not using the developments of the 60s, why stomp in the last century.? Nevertheless, it remained in Russia, only the population in two decreased.

    Virtually destroyed science and castrated education. In the words of Kuzma Prutkov: "See the root."

    Maybe you have been neutered, because you are not looking at that root.

    When the lumpen has no arguments, he switches to particular, Mr. Android 17085 (nickname or series?)

«Взрывной» Dragon и запоздалый Boeing: кто первым сменит «Союз»

Сейчас «Союз» – единственный пилотируемый российский космический корабль. И единственное средство доставки экипажей на борт Международной космической станции. При этом сказать, что «Союз» – идеальный космический корабль, нельзя, что связано, в том числе, со стесненными условиями для экипажа. Сказать, что он очень дешевый – тоже. Цена космических путешествий вообще упрямо растет вверх.





За минувшие десять лет полеты на орбиту на кораблях серии «Союз» выросли для американских астронавтов в четыре раза – с 21,8 миллионов долларов за одного человека до почти 82 миллионов. Но выбор не велик, мягко говоря. Последний полет американский «Спейс шаттл» выполнил в 2011 году, а у Европы своих пилотируемых космических кораблей как не было, так и нет.

История с американским челноком вообще показательна: то, что создавалось как «дешевый многоразовый корабль» вышло дорогим, избыточно мощным и, по сути, почти ненужным для решения текущих задач, таких как доставка пары-тройки астронавтов на борт МКС. Или возврат их обратно на Землю.

При этом наивно полагать, что «Союз» будут эксплуатировать в 20-е с такой частотой, как сейчас. Корабль, созданный в 60-е, не очень вписывается в реалии нашего времени. Но самое главное – у него имеются серьезные конкуренты. Поговорим про преимущества и недостатки программ создания перспективных космических кораблей в их сегодняшнем виде.



Crew Dragon


Данный корабль также знают под наименованием Dragon или Dragon V2. Название хорошо передает суть: перед нами пилотируемая версия давно введенного в эксплуатацию компанией SpaceX грузового «Дракона». Успешно выполняющего рейсы на МКС и являющегося единственным грузовым космическим кораблем современности, способным доставлять грузы с МКС обратно на Землю.

Преимущества. Главное преимущество Dragon V2 – более высокие, чем у «Союза», возможности. Как-никак «Дракон» сможет брать на борт до семи человек, вместо трех (требуется ли это в рамках нынешних реалий обслуживания станции – другой вопрос). В любом случае, Crew Dragon намного более просторный аппарат, что тоже немаловажно. А еще для его вывода на орбиту намерены применять успешно себя зарекомендовавшую Falcon 9. Не стоит забывать и про частичную многоразовость, которая позволит применять капсулу повторно для полетов астронавтов. В теории это будет еще одним успехом для SpaceX, делающей особую ставку на многоразовом использовании своих компонентов. Еще один несомненный успех: Crew Dragon уже летал на МКС и вполне успешно. Правда, первый полет выполнили без экипажа.


Недостатки. Очевидная «сырость», свойственная, впрочем, всем новым космическим кораблям. Это вынуждает сдвигать сроки испытаний. Напомним, что первый пилотируемый полет в рамках миссии SpaceX DM-2 на Crew Dragon должен состояться не ранее конца текущего года. Его хотели выполнить в июле, но планы спутала авария. 21 апреля 2019 года испытания двигателя космического корабля Crew Dragon завершились мощным взрывом и полным разрушением Dragon V2, который почему-то в самой SpaceX упорно называли «аномалией».


Причиной, как потом оказалось, стала система запуска двигателей SuperDraco, которые нужны для аварийного спасения и управляемой посадки. На практике это означает, что примерно год «Союз МС» еще будет нужен США, как воздух. Ведь пока что «второй» Dragon – единственная реальная альтернатива ближайшего будущего.

Boeing CST-100 Starliner


Менее известный, но не менее знаковый в масштабе всего мира перспективный американский космический корабль. Разработчик – Boeing.

Преимущества. В целом, похожи на таковые в случае с Dragon V2: аппараты довольно близки, чисто концептуально. В идеале CST-100 должен стать экономичным частично-многоразовым кораблем, который сможет доставить на борт МКС до семи человек экипажа. Простор и комфортность должны неизменно выделять корабль на фоне аппаратов минувших лет. В качестве носителя видят ракету Vulcan, которая будет использовать «модный» метановый двигатель, а именно – BE-4.


Недостатки. Частично проистекают из плюсов. Ракеты Vulcan пока что нет, как нет и метанового двигателя, хотя оба компонента системы активно разрабатывают. В целом, налицо существенное отставание от SpaceX. Если у Crew Dragon на счету есть один полет к МКС, то CST-100 только предстоит его выполнить. И только потом можно будет рассчитывать на первый полет с экипажем. Не так давно Boeing сообщила об очередном переносе: теперь он должен состояться не весной, а в августе 2019-го. Запуск с экипажем – не раньше ноября текущего года, а, скорее всего, это случится не ранее 2020-го. Однако может произойти «чудо» и Boeing в теории может обогнать «Дракона» в конкурентной борьбе: масла в огонь подлил упомянутый выше взрыв капсулы Crew Dragon. К слову, у Boeing тоже все далеко не безоблачно, в 2018 году появились данные о проблемах во время тестового прожига четырех двигателей системы аварийного спасения, результатом чего стала утечка гидразина и очередные переносы сроков испытаний.

Большие амбиции – большие трудности


Словом, создатели CST-100 и Crew Dragon пока что имеют все основания верить в успех, а трудности, с которым они столкнулись, едва ли могут существенно отодвинуть даты первых стартов. Конечно, после ввода в строй новых кораблей Россия не откажется в одночасье от «Союз МС», но перед ведомством Дмитрия Рогозина встанут неудобные вопросы. Ведь в случае успеха заокеанских партнеров «Союз» останется инструментом конкретно российским, то есть – рассчитанным на доставку отдельно взятых экипажей на станцию. На практике это означает, что два/три члена экипажа уйдут в историю: если Россия и будет выводить кого-то на орбиту, то это, вероятно, будет один космонавт. Больше просто не нужно. Само собой, поддерживать пилотируемую космонавтику в таком виде долго никто не будет: это бессмысленно.

Еще более неоднозначно выглядят перспективы нового российского корабля «Федерация», который намерены впервые запустить в беспилотной версии примерно в середине 2020-х: аккурат к тому времени, когда от МКС вообще могут отказаться. То есть, зачем он нужен – пока что вообще не совсем понятно. Де-факто, «Федерация» – это не столько новый корабль, сколько задел на будущее и возможность чем-то занять специалистов космической индустрии, а для чиновников – еще и возможность на этом заработать.


Если «Федерация» и понадобится, то только для «лунных» проектов, в частности – для доставки грузов и экипажей на Lunar Orbital Platform-Gateway. Это новая условно международная станция, главную роль в создании которой будут играть Штаты. В отличие от МКС она будет располагаться на орбите Луны.

К слову, «сложные» лунные миссии США намерены решать при помощи еще одного перспективного корабля – «Ориона». Его не рассматривают в качестве конкурента «Союзу» и он не будет использоваться для полета на МКС. Первый пилотируемый старт «Ориона» рассчитывают выполнить примерно в середине 2020-х. В принципе, тогда же, когда и «Федерация». Но что-то подсказывает, что американский проект будет развиваться боле динамично, что, кроме прочего, связано с почти «фантастичным» стремлением Дональда Трампа вернуть американских астронавтов на Луну.
Использованы фотографии: https://360tv.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. DPN Офлайн
    DPN (ДПН) 30 мая 2019 14:07
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    А что мешает России сделать своё новое ,а не пользоваться разработками 60 годов,чего топтаться в прошлом веке.? Всё же осталось в России,только население в двое уменьшилось.
    1. 17085 Офлайн
      17085 (Dmitriy) 31 мая 2019 00:42
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Цитата: DPN
      А что мешает России сделать своё новое ,а не пользоваться разработками 60 годов,чего топтаться в прошлом веке.? Всё же осталось в России,только население в двое уменьшилось.

      Потому что автор ерунду написал, нету конкурентов, в планах есть, а по факту нет.
      Население уменьшилось за счет республик Средней Азии в основном и далеко не в двое.
    2. урон Офлайн
      урон (Кирилл Лемуров) 7 июня 2019 13:34
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      А что делать и для чего? Летать то некуда, на МКС раз в полгода одного российского космонавта? Просто так, как в 60-е корабли сейчас не летают, только куда-то конкретно возят. А некуда.
  2. DrShvarce Офлайн
    DrShvarce (DrShvarce) 30 мая 2019 23:02
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Цитата: DPN
    А что мешает России сделать своё новое ,а не пользоваться разработками 60 годов,чего топтаться в прошлом веке.? Всё же осталось в России,только население в двое уменьшилось.

    Практически уничтоженные наука и кастрированное образование. Как говорил Кузьма Прутков: "Зри в корень".
    1. 17085 Офлайн
      17085 (Dmitriy) 31 мая 2019 00:43
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Цитата: DrShvarce
      Цитата: DPN
      А что мешает России сделать своё новое ,а не пользоваться разработками 60 годов,чего топтаться в прошлом веке.? Всё же осталось в России,только население в двое уменьшилось.

      Практически уничтоженные наука и кастрированное образование. Как говорил Кузьма Прутков: "Зри в корень".

      Может вас и кастрировали, от того вы не в тот корень зрите.
    2. Ринат Офлайн
      Ринат (Ринат) 31 мая 2019 06:17
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      А что мешает американцам летать на своих кораблях, ведь у них официально были полеты на своих кораблях даже на Луну? Где эти корабли? Ведь развала страны в 90-х у США не было и они не имели проблем с развалом науки и промышленности, как в эти времена в России.
  3. Ринат Офлайн
    Ринат (Ринат) 31 мая 2019 06:28
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Автор весьма оптимистичен по поводу скорого создания амерами надежного и самое главное летающего космтческого корабля . По видимой динамике создания корабля им понадобится еще несколько лет, возможно лет 5-10.
  4. DrShvarce Офлайн
    DrShvarce (DrShvarce) 5 июня 2019 19:57
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Цитата: 17085
    Цитата: DrShvarce
    Цитата: DPN
    А что мешает России сделать своё новое ,а не пользоваться разработками 60 годов,чего топтаться в прошлом веке.? Всё же осталось в России,только население в двое уменьшилось.

    Практически уничтоженные наука и кастрированное образование. Как говорил Кузьма Прутков: "Зри в корень".

    Может вас и кастрировали, от того вы не в тот корень зрите.

    Когда у люмпена нет аргументов, он переходит на частности, господин андроид 17085 (nickname или серия?)