Lavrov: The United States proposed to hold a second referendum in the Crimea in 2014

On the eve of the XXIII St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF-2019), which is due to take place on June 6-8, 2019, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov told how Washington proposed Moscow to hold a second referendum in Crimea in 2014. Lavrov informed the Russian journalists about this on June 5, 2019.




Lavrov said that back in 2014, former US Secretary of State John Kerry recognized the return of Crimea to Russia. According to Kerry, this happened by the will of the residents of the Crimea after the referendum. However, Kerry demanded, “for the sake of order”, to hold another referendum.

I will not tell you a big secret that in April 2014, US Secretary of State John Kerry spoke to me about this: “Everything is clear. Everything happened as the Crimean people wanted. But for order, hold another referendum. ” Why on earth? If you understand everything, why again chase people to some kind of vote?

- specified Lavrov.

At the same time, Lavrov expressed the hope that Kerry would not be offended by him, since he himself had published in his memoirs “some secrets” from conversations with the Russian Foreign Minister.

Lavrov added that the problems in Kiev in the Crimea and in the Donbass began after the Western colleagues, in fact, brought to power nationalists, who first decided to ban the Russian language. He emphasized that for all five years that the president of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko spent in power, he openly sabotaged every letter and the whole spirit of the Minsk agreements (process). However, he was a co-author of these documents.

In the Norman format, at the level of four leaders, over the past four years, concrete agreements have been reached on the separation of forces and assets in three specific pilot areas, on the contact line and on formalizing the procedure for the entry into force of the law on the special status of Donbass, in conjunction with the conduct in this territory election. Both that, and another was a subject of concrete agreements of leaders. They instructed to draw up these agreements on paper. Still not done

- said Lavrov.

In addition, when it came to the prospects of a meeting between Russian President Vladimir Putin and the new President of Ukraine Vladimir Zelensky, Lavrov noted that it is important for Moscow to understand how the promises of Kiev will be translated into practice, i.e. into any specific suggestions or actions. In the meantime, for Moscow, it’s not even clear which policy Zelensky will have in relation to Russia.


Earlier Lavrov explainedwhy Russia recognized Poroshenko as president of Ukraine in 2014.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Лавров: США предлагали провести повторный референдум в Крыму в 2014 году

В канун XXIII Петербургского международного экономического форума (ПМЭФ-2019), который должен пройти 6-8 июня 2019 года, глава внешнеполитического ведомства России Сергей Лавров рассказал, как Вашингтон предлагал Москве провести повторный референдум в Крыму в 2014 году. Об этом Лавров подробно сообщил российским журналистам 5 июня 2019 года.



Лавров заявил, что еще в 2014 году бывший государственный секретарь США Джон Керри признал возвращение Крыма в состав России. По мнению Керри, это произошло по воле самих жителей Крыма после референдума. Однако Керри потребовал, «для порядка», провести еще один референдум.


Не открою большого секрета, что в апреле 2014 года мне об этом говорил госсекретарь США Джон Керри: «Все понятно. Все произошло так, как хотел крымский народ. Но для порядка проведите еще один референдум». С какой стати? Если вам все понятно, зачем еще раз гонять людей на какое-то голосование?

- уточнил Лавров.

При этом Лавров выразил надежду, что Керри не будет на него обижаться, так как сам опубликовал в мемуарах «некоторые секреты» из разговоров с главой МИД России.

Лавров добавил, что проблемы у Киева в Крыму и на Донбассе начались после того, как западные коллеги, по сути, привели к власти националистов, которые первым делом решили запретить русский язык. Он подчеркнул, что все пять лет, которые провел у власти президент Украины Петр Порошенко, он откровенно саботировал каждую букву и весь дух минских договоренностей (процесса). При этом он был соавтором этих документов.

В нормандском формате на уровне четырех лидеров за последние четыре года были достигнуты конкретнейшие договоренности о разведении сил и средств, в трех конкретных пилотных районах, на линии соприкосновения и об оформлении процедуры вступления в силу закона об особом статусе Донбасса, в увязке с проведением на этой территории выборов. И то, и другое было предметом конкретных договоренностей лидеров. Они поручили оформить эти договоренности на бумаге. До сих пор этого не сделано

- сказал Лавров.

Кроме того, когда речь зашла о перспективах встречи президента России Владимира Путина с новым президентом Украины Владимиром Зеленским, Лавров отметил, что Москве важно понять, как обещания Киева будут воплощены на практике, т.е. в какие-то конкретные предложения или действия. Пока же, для Москвы, даже неясно, какая политика будет у Зеленского по отношению к России.


Ранее Лавров объяснил, почему Россия признала Порошенко президентом Украины в 2014 году.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти