Mass riots in Hong Kong: residents storming the city parliament

The riots swept through one of the largest and most politically and economically specific cities in China - Hong Kong. Protesters launched an assault on the Hong Kong Legislative Council, a regional parliament.




The protests in Hong Kong are connected with the next anniversary of the return of the city under the jurisdiction of the PRC. First, recall that for a century and a half Hong Kong was a colony of Great Britain and only July 1, 1997, 22 years ago, the UK transferred Hong Kong to China.

But there is another reason for the unrest - the Hong Kong authorities passed amendments to the extradition law, which allowed the extradition of criminals in Hong Kong to other provinces in China. Given the rigidity of Chinese law, the concerns of Hong Kong residents are well understood.


Demonstrators not only besieged the building of the regional parliament, but also blocked several central streets of the city. Against protesters armed with stones, sticks, bottles, Hong Kong police use tear gas and batons.

At present, at least 1 thousand people are fighting with the police on the streets of the city, while, according to the Hong Kong authorities, the number of protesters may increase. In connection with the protests, several Hong Kong subway stations were closed.

Some media outlets have dubbed the events in Hong Kong "Chinese Maidan." But such a big name is unlikely to apply to these riots. Moreover, mass demonstrations take place every anniversary of the reunification of Hong Kong with China - there are too many in the city who are dissatisfied with the return to the PRC.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Массовые беспорядки в Гонконге: жители штурмуют городской парламент

Массовые беспорядки охватили один из крупнейших и очень специфических в политическом и экономическом плане городов Китая – Гонконг. Протестующие начали штурм здания Законодательного совета Гонконга – регионального парламента.




Протесты в Гонконге связаны с очередной годовщиной возвращения города под юрисдикцию КНР. Прежде, напомним, Гонконг на протяжении полутора столетий был колонией Великобритании и лишь 1 июля 1997 года, 22 года назад, Великобритания передала Гонконг Китаю.

Но есть и еще одна причина беспорядков – власти Гонконга приняли поправки к закону об экстрадиции, что позволило выдавать преступников, находящихся в Гонконге, в другие провинции Китая. Учитывая жесткость китайского законодательства, опасения жителей Гонконга вполне понятны.


Демонстранты не только осадили здание регионального парламента, но и перекрыли несколько центральных улиц города. Против протестующих, вооруженных камнями, палками, бутылками, полиция Гонконга применяет слезоточивый газ и дубинки.

В настоящее время на улицах города дерется с полицией не менее 1 тысячи человек, при этом, по мнению гонконгских властей, количество протестующих может возрасти. В связи с протестами были закрыты несколько станций метро Гонконга.

Некоторые СМИ уже окрестили события в Гонконге «китайским Майданом». Но вряд ли к этим беспорядкам применимо столь громкое название. Тем более, что массовые манифестации происходят каждую годовщину воссоединения Гонконга с Китаем – слишком много в городе недовольных возвращением в состав КНР.
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.