Protesters in Hong Kong won: the authorities fulfilled their demands

Protesters protesting in the streets of Hong Kong can celebrate the victory. The city authorities decided to repeal the scandalous extradition law that caused such a stormy public reaction.




On July 2, Hong Kong Prime Minister Carrie Lam announced the waiver of the extradition law and indicated that it would no longer be submitted to the City Legislature.

In addition, Carrie Lam apologized to Hong Kong residents protesting the law for contradictions in the bill. Thus, the people who took to the streets of the former British colony actually won and forced the city authorities to abandon the scandalous bill.

Recall that the extradition law provided for the possibility of extradition of Hong Kong residents to mainland China, which was extremely negatively perceived by the Hong Kong public due to the severity of Chinese laws and widespread rumors of torture and cruel conditions in Chinese prisons.

Hong Kong residents took to the streets of the city, came into clash with police units. In the end, they managed to storm the building of the regional parliament. Activists who were in the building drew his graffiti, partially destroyed furniture, broke glass.

Hong Kong Prime Minister Carrie Lem condemned the violence from the demonstrators and promised that those responsible for the destruction of the parliament would be held accountable. But the main thing has already been done - they will not extradite Hong Kongers to China.
  • Photos used: https://abcnews.go.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Igor Pavlovich Offline Igor Pavlovich
    Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 2 July 2019 08: 02
    -1
    Maidan is valid !!!

Протестующие в Гонконге победили: власть выполнила их требования

Протестовавшие на улицах Гонконга демонстранты могут праздновать победу. Власти города решили отменить скандальный закон об экстрадиции, вызвавший столь бурную реакцию общественности.




2 июля премьер-министр Гонконга Кэрри Лэм заявила об отказе от закона об экстрадиции и указала, что он более не будет вноситься на рассмотрение в Законодательное собрание города.

Кроме того, Кэрри Лэм принесла извинения протестовавшим против закона жителям Гонконга за противоречия в законопроекте. Таким образом, люди, вышедшие на улицы бывшей британской колонии, фактически одержали победу и вынудили городские власти отказаться от скандального законопроекта.

Напомним, что закон об экстрадиции предусматривал возможность выдачи жителей Гонконга в материковый Китай, что крайне негативно было воспринято гонконгской общественностью из-за суровости китайских законов и широко распространенных слухов о пытках и жестоких условиях содержания в китайских тюрьмах.

Жители Гонконга вышли на улицы города, вступили в столкновения с полицейскими подразделениями. В конечном итоге им удалось взять штурмом здание регионального парламента. Находившиеся в здании активисты изрисовали его граффити, частично разрушили мебель, побили стекла.

Премьер-министр Гонконга Кэрри Лем осудила насилие со стороны демонстрантов и пообещала, что виновные в разрушении здания парламента будут привлечены к ответственности. Но главное дело уже сделано – экстрадировать в Китай гонконгцев не будут.
Использованы фотографии: https://abcnews.go.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 2 июля 2019 08:02
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    а майдан то действует!!!