The fate of Russian banks in SWIFT is decided

Recently, in connection with Western sanctions against Russia, its citizens are often scared by such a measure as disconnecting from SWIFT, a financial messaging system. At the moment, such a measure is not planned, said Gottfried Leibrandt, General Director of the system, during the SWIFT business forum in Moscow. According to him, in the current political conflict between Russia and the West, SWIFT is neutral.




The question of disconnecting Russia from the SWIFT financial messaging system is not worth it. Our position is unchanged: we are the neutral side that ensures the interconnection of users and whose goal is to serve the global financial industry

- emphasized Leibrandt.

RBC agency quotes another (unnamed) participant in this business forum, who stressed that the issue of disconnecting Russia from SWIFT “has never been on the agenda and is not.” According to this source, there were only various kinds of speculations around this problem, but no one conducted such negotiations with SWIFT.

Rumors about Russia’s disconnection from SWIFT circulated back in 2014, when a confrontation between Russia and the West broke out due to the Ukrainian issue and anti-Russian sanctions were imposed by the EU. Then the company stated that its mission was to be a “global and neutral service provider”, and it was not going to succumb to political pressure and risk its reputation.

However, in August 2017, several Russian banks were still disconnected from SWIFT. This was due to the fact that the copyright holder of the SWIFT software decided not to cooperate with them. One of these banks - RNKB - is the leading one in the Crimea (in the absence of many large Russian financial institutions on the peninsula). He then stated that these sanctions would not affect his work, because he conducts his activities exclusively within the borders of Russia.

On April 17, the head of Sberbank German Gref at a press conference expressed the opinion that the likelihood of disconnecting the Russian Federation from SWIFT is minimal.

Never say “never”, but I really want to hope that geopolitics will not reach such extremes. It seems to me that we should proceed from the most pragmatic scenario, which has the greatest chances of implementation. Options such as disabling SWIFT, are not yet in the field of my attention in terms of probability

- said Gref.

At the beginning of this year, Deputy Prime Minister Arkady Dvorkovich said that disconnecting the Russian Federation from SWIFT would be "quite an aggression." Dvorkovich believes that this would create big problems for the Russian banking system and force it to switch to obsolete Technology. On the other hand, countries that proposed a similar measure would also lose from this.

An analogue of the SWIFT system under the name “Bank of Russia Financial Message Transmission System (SPFS)” is being created in Russia. So far, it can operate only domestically. Unfortunately, for the exchange of information with foreign partners, there is no analogue of SWIFT.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Koshak Offline Koshak
    Koshak (koshak) April 22 2018 19: 24
    0
    Unfortunately, for the exchange of information with foreign partners, there is no analogue of SWIFT.

    Let money for gas carry in suitcases.

Сайту «Репортёр» требуются авторы. Требования: грамотность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение анализировать и писать сжато и интересно. Работа оплачивается. Образцы своих свежих материалов высылайте по адресу: topcor.ru@gmail.com

Решена судьба российских банков в SWIFT

В последнее время в связи с санкциями Запада в отношении России ее граждан нередко пугают такой мерой, как отключение от SWIFT — системы передачи финансовых сообщений. На данный момент такая мера не планируется, заявил генеральный директор данной системы Готфрид Лейбрандт в ходе бизнес-форума SWIFT в Москве. По его словам, в текущем политическом конфликте между Россией и Западом SWIFT придерживается нейтралитета.



Вопрос отключения России от системы передачи финансовых сообщений SWIFT не стоит. Наша позиция неизменна: мы — нейтральная сторона, которая обеспечивает взаимосвязь пользователей и целью которой является обслуживание мировой финансовой индустрии

– подчеркнул Лейбрандт.


Агентство РБК цитирует еще одного (неназванного) участника данного бизнес-форума, который подчеркнул, что вопрос отключения России от SWIFT «на повестке дня никогда не стоял и не стоит». По словам данного источника, имели место лишь различного рода спекуляции вокруг этой проблемы, но никто не вел со SWIFT подобных переговоров.

Слухи об отключении России от SWIFT циркулировали еще в 2014 году, когда противостояние между Россией и Западом вспыхнуло из-за украинского вопроса и были введены антироссийские санкции со стороны ЕС. Тогда компания заявила, что ее миссия — являться «глобальным и нейтральным провайдером услуг», и она не собирается поддаваться политическому давлению и рисковать своей репутацией.

Однако в августе 2017 года несколько российских банков все же были отключены от SWIFT. Это было связано с тем, что правообладатель программного обеспечения для работы со SWIFT принял решение не сотрудничать с ними. Один из этих банков — РНКБ — является ведущим в Крыму (в условиях отсутствия на полуострове многих крупных российских финансовых учреждений). Он тогда заявил, что данные санкции не повлияют на его работу, потому что он ведет свою деятельность исключительно в границах России.

17 апреля глава Сбербанка Герман Греф на пресс-конференции высказал мнение, что вероятность отключения РФ от SWIFT минимальна.

Никогда не говори «никогда», но очень хочется надеяться, что до таких степеней крайности геополитика не дойдет. Мне кажется, надо исходить из наиболее прагматичного сценария, который имеет наибольшие шансы реализации. Такие варианты, как отключение SWIFT, пока не находятся в поле моего внимания с точки зрения вероятности

– заявил Греф.

В начале текущего года вице-премьер Аркадий Дворкович заявил, что отключение РФ от SWIFT было бы «совсем уже агрессией». Дворкович полагает, что это создало бы большие проблемы для российской банковской системы и заставило бы ее переходить на устаревшие технологии. С другой стороны, от этого проиграли бы и страны, которые предлагали подобную меру.

В России создается аналог системы SWIFT под названием «Система передачи финансовых сообщений Банка России (СПФС)». Пока она может действовать лишь внутри страны. К сожалению, для обмена информацией с иностранными партнерами аналога SWIFT не существует.
Автор: Елена Громова
Использованы фотографии: https://topwar.ru/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Koshak Офлайн
    Koshak (koshak) 22 апреля 2018 19:24
    0
    К сожалению, для обмена информацией с иностранными партнерами аналога SWIFT не существует.

    Пускай деньги за газ возят в чемоданах.