"The war of edits": the struggle for the Crimea in the "Wikipedia" continues

During the period from June 28 to 29, 2019, the 14th G-20 Summit (G-20) was held in the Japanese city of Osaka, attended by representatives of the world's largest economies and invited guests of the event. And now, the details of the serious struggle that unfolded on the politically neutral site Wikipedia (the generally accessible multilingual universal Internet encyclopedia with free content) over the Crimea became known in the materials dedicated to the G-XNUMX.




According to the Russian edition "News", in the course of studying materials about the G-20 in all 72 languages ​​offered on the site, Crimea (initially) was indicated on maps or mentioned in materials as part of Russia. The territory of the peninsula was painted in purple, like Russia and other participants in the summit. Ukraine was and remains gray in color, as a country that did not take part in this international event. Based on this, it was concluded that Wikipedia recognized Crimea as Russian.

Representatives of Wikipedia told the publication that similar maps with different designations of the Crimea (Russian, Ukrainian) appear periodically on the site due to the fact that users can edit articles online on their own. That is, users have the right to do this, since the content in the online encyclopedia is free and public.

In a good way, the portal must bring two cards. This is one way to resolve the “war of revisions”

- said the co-founder of Wikimedia Ukraine, Yuri Peroganich, emphasizing political Wikipedia neutrality.

In turn, the director of Wikimedia RU, Vladimir Medeiko, believes that Crimea should be painted in a different color altogether as “a territory with special status”. He clarified that such “editing wars” occur regularly with editors from Japan, who change their affiliation of the Kuril Islands on various maps on Wikipedia almost daily.

This suggests that the “war of corrections” for the ownership of the peninsula has been going on since March 2014, when the Crimea and the city of Sevastopol became part of Russia as a result of the referendum, and Ukraine, the United States and the European Union did not recognize the will of the inhabitants of the peninsula.

For example, Verkhovna Rada deputy Yevgeny Balitsky said that Crimea is often shown to Russians not only in Wikipedia, but in general on many maps in different countries. He explained a similar phenomenon to the inaction of the Ukrainian authorities, after which he specified an extremely important point that explains a lot:

We blocked water, electricity, air traffic - in fact, we headed for the rejection of Crimea. The more time passes, the more we lose contact with the peninsula.




It must be recalled that the West and Ukraine still refuse to recognize the peninsula as Russian, calling it “occupied”. At the same time, the referendum was held in full accordance with international standards, therefore it is legitimate and the “war of amendments” will not affect this.
  • Photos used: https://en.depositphotos.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 4 July 2019 10: 44
    +2
    If so, then it’s time for Russia to remind Japan that, according to the decision of the Yalta Conference, Hokkaido belongs to Russia, and Ukraine to recall that ALL Ukraine is on the map of 1654, within whose borders Ukraine came to Russia from Poland.

«Война правок»: борьба за Крым в «Википедии» продолжается

В период с 28 по 29 июня 2019 года в японском городе Осака проходил 14-й саммит «Большой двадцатки» (G-20), участниками которого стали представители крупнейших экономик планеты и приглашенные гости мероприятия. И вот, стали известны подробности нешуточной борьбы, развернувшейся на политически-нейтральном сайте «Википедия» (общедоступной многоязычной универсальной интернет-энциклопедии со свободным контентом) за Крым, в материалах посвященных G-20.




Как сообщает российское издание «Известия», в ходе изучения материалов о G-20 на всех предлагаемых 72 языках сайта, Крым (первоначально) был указан на картах или упоминался в материалах, как часть России. Территория полуострова была окрашена в фиолетовый цвет, как и России и прочие участники саммита. Украина была и остается серого цвета, как страна, не принимавшая участие в этом международном мероприятии. На основании этого, был сделан вывод о том, что «Википедия» признала Крым российским.

Представители «Википедии» сообщили изданию, что аналогичные карты с разным обозначением принадлежности Крыма (то российского, то украинского) периодически появляются на сайте в связи с тем, что пользователи могут по своему желанию самостоятельно редактировать статьи онлайн. То есть у пользователей есть право это делать, поскольку контент в интернет-энциклопедия является свободным и общедоступным.

По-хорошему, портал обязан привести две карты. Это и есть один из способов разрешения «войны правок»

- сообщил соучредитель «Викимедиа Украина» Юрий Пероганич, подчеркнув политическую нейтральность «Википедии».

В свою очередь, директор «Викимедиа РУ» Владимир Медейко считает, что Крым стоило бы окрасить вообще другим цветом, как «территорию с особым статусом». Он уточнил, что подобные «войны правок» происходят регулярно и с редакторами из Японии, которые практически ежедневно меняют принадлежность Курильских островов на различных картах в «Википедии».

Это говорит о том, что «война правок» за принадлежность полуострова ведется с марта 2014 года, когда Крым и город Севастополь вошли в состав России по итогам референдума, а Украина, США и Евросоюз не признали волеизъявление жителей полуострова.

Например, депутат Верховной рады Украины Евгений Балицкий сообщил, что Крым часто показывают российским не только в «Википедии», а в целом, на многих картах в разных странах. Он объяснил подобное явление бездействием властей Украины, после чего уточнил крайне важный момент, который многое объясняет:

Мы перекрыли воду, электричество, авиасообщение - фактически взяли курс на отторжение Крыма. Чем больше проходит времени, тем сильнее мы утрачиваем связь с полуостровом.




Нужно напомнить, что Запад и Украина по-прежнему отказываются признавать полуостров российским, называя его «оккупированным». При этом референдум прошел в полном соответствии с международными нормами, поэтому он является легитимным и «война правок» на это не повлияет.
Использованы фотографии: https://ru.depositphotos.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 4 июля 2019 10:44
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Раз так,то России пора напомнить Японии о том,что Хоккайдо по решению Ялтинской конференции принадлежит России,а Украине напомнить,что ВСЯ Украина на карте 1654 года,в границах которого Украина пришла в Россию из Польши.