With the arrival of Academician Chersky in the Baltic, the most interesting will begin


The three-month odyssey of Academician Chersky is nearing completion. Passing Africa along the longest route and passing the English Channel and the Danish Straits, the pipe-laying vessel will arrive in Kaliningrad by May 4. There it should be retrofitted, since it is obvious to everyone that Akademik is the only vessel in the Gazprom fleet that can complete the construction of Nord Stream-2.


However, the situation is such that with the end of the Odyssey, all the fun is just beginning.

The first question is whether it is necessary to complete the pipeline now, which hangs at the stage of readiness of 93% due to US sanctions? The answer will not be entirely clear.

On the one hand, the time to launch this energy project is, to put it mildly, not the best. According to various estimates, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the world economy may lose 10 to 15% of its volume. The biggest blow COVID-19 struck its main "locomotives" - China, the United States and the European Union. At the same time, China and the EU are the largest markets for Russian hydrocarbons, and the United States is our tough and unprincipled competitor to them. Gas and oil prices are now at historic lows, demand has fallen sharply, markets are overstocked. Frankly speaking, the time to launch the next gas pipeline is not the best.

On the other hand, sooner or later, but the world economy will begin to grow, and with it the volume of hydrocarbon consumption will increase. The preliminary dates are 2-3 years of low oil and gas prices, perhaps they will be adjusted in one direction or another due to the new “black swans”, which turned out to be so rich in a leap year 2020. For modern Russia, tightly seated on an oil and gas needle, the struggle for markets for raw materials is a matter of banal survival. And one has to remember about international prestige: if you abandon an unfinished pipeline now, it means additional image losses.

In general, Gazprom will try to complete the construction of Nord Stream-2 on its own. However, this solution will trigger a whole chain of events. The United States and its allies did not try to counteract the movements of the Academician Chersky, since he preferred not to go through the Suez Canal and Gibraltar, where the Anglo-Saxons had great influence, and the ship was accompanied by warships of the Russian Navy. But now, when the ship is at the place of arrival, most likely active actions will begin on the part of the Americans. There are several options.

At firstWashington, by its influence, may prohibit insurance of a pipe-laying vessel. Russian companies who are not afraid of Western sanctions, for their part, will be able to give him insurance. It is possible that US warships will try to block the work of Chersky, which violates the sanctions regime, in Danish waters. It is clear that the Baltic Fleet of the Russian Federation will not stand aside, therefore there is a risk of direct conflict. Today, the White House does not need a violent clash with Russia, so this scenario is the least likely.

Secondly, The United States is able to hit not on the pipe-laying vessel, but on the entire project as a whole, and to do this not by military means, but by political and economic methods. Washington may expand sanctions on Gazprom and all its pipelines by requiring European consumers to abandon the purchase of Russian gas. This is also a very tough option, although more realistic than naval battles in the Baltic. In fact, we will talk about Trump’s ultimatum with a demand to break all ties between Europe and Russia. Given the current state of the EU, unanimity and complete obedience cannot be achieved. Is the White House ready to embark on such an exacerbation with poorly predicted consequences?

Thirdly, the scenario with a “soft capture” of Russian pipelines in Europe is starting to appear more and more realistic, about which we detail told earlier. The share of Gazprom in the Nord Stream-2 is 50%. The US and its allies claim that the Kremlin is using its influence to exert political and economic pressure on Europe. And then, the decision of the Stockholm arbitration in favor of Poland in the amount of almost $ 1,5 billion in a lawsuit against the Russian monopolist arrived in time. Warsaw demands the seizure of state-owned assets, among which are Nord Stream-1 and Nord Stream-2. ” The subject of interest of the Poles is understandable.

It can be assumed that in the future, during the negotiations between the United States, Poland, Germany and Russia, a certain consensus will be worked out on which Warsaw’s claims will be satisfied at the expense of a part of Gazprom’s share, which will seriously “be washed out”. Then, Nord Stream-2 will turn from a Russian-German project into an international one, which will allow the United States to influence its work through union Poland.

Other options are also possible; soon we will find out how true our estimates and hypotheses turned out to be.
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 May 2020 11: 36
    -3
    With the arrival of Academician Chersky in the Baltic, the most interesting will begin.

    Oh and it starts. If it just floats — articles almost daily ... As it swims — then Gazprom, Poland, Norway, Germany and others will converge in a clinch ...
    And knowing our Gazprom, it’s just not possible to do without super improvisations ....
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 1 May 2020 12: 14
    0
    The first question is, is it necessary to complete the pipeline now, which hangs at the readiness stage of 93% due to US sanctions? The answer will not be entirely clear.

    After reading, I thought, but should I read further? The answer is clear. Not worth it. no
    1. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 1 May 2020 15: 59
      +3
      ... is it worth reading further? The answer is clear. Not worth it.

      I totally agree with you! Moreover, there has been a trend when a divorce lawyer is involved in journalism and is developing the “oil topic”, and when a journalist is engaged in the development of the country's outer space. And there, and there the result, to put it mildly, is not very, but in the first case, even the headstock of the country is preserved. drinks
  3. alessio Offline alessio
    alessio (Oleg Tarasenko) 1 May 2020 16: 53
    +2
    I read the paragraph and decided that it wasn’t worth it ....
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 2 May 2020 06: 13
      +2
      You are right, without stress it is difficult to accurately express a thought. smile
  4. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 1 May 2020 17: 09
    0
    The most likely scenario is shown: the surrender of Russia due to poorly calculated risks. But the losses are not personal, from the budget, and therefore do not care.
  5. 69 Offline 69
    69 1 May 2020 17: 54
    +2
    Quote: cmonman
    and when a journalist is engaged in space development of the country.

    And even more so, when a fugitive Zionist, having abandoned his grandchildren, deals with the problems of Russia, this is at least strange, if not to say, intrusive.
    1. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 1 May 2020 18: 27
      -2
      ... deals with the problems of Russia.

      I do not deal with the problems of Russia, I comment on them. And if he did, then there would be no problems ...
  6. nikolaj1703 Offline nikolaj1703
    nikolaj1703 (Nikolai) 1 May 2020 21: 48
    +1
    A pipe without gas is a “pipe”!
  7. The comment was deleted.

С прибытием «Академика Черского» на Балтику начнется самое интересное


Трехмесячная одиссея «Академика Черского» близится к завершению. Обойдя по самому длинному маршруту Африку и пройдя Ла-Манш и Датские проливы, судно-трубоукладчик к 4 мая прибудет в Калининград. Там оно должно пройти дооснащение, поскольку всем очевидно, что «Академик» - это единственное судно во флоте «Газпрома», способное достроить «Северный поток-2».


Однако ситуация такова, что с окончанием «одиссеи» все самое интересное еще только начинается.

Первый вопрос, а нужно ли вообще сейчас достраивать трубопровод, зависший на стадии готовности 93% из-за американских санкций? Ответ будет не вполне однозначным.

С одной стороны, время для запуска данного энергетического проекта сейчас, мягко говоря, не самое лучшее. По разным оценкам, из-за пандемии коронавируса мировая экономика может потерять от 10 до 15% своего объема. Наибольший удар COVID-19 нанес по главным ее «локомотивам» - Китаю, США и Евросоюзу. При этом КНР и ЕС являются крупнейшими рынками сбыта российских углеводородов, а США – нашим жестким и беспринципным конкурентом на них. Цены на газ и нефть сейчас находятся на исторических минимумах, спрос резко упал, рынки затоварены. Время для запуска очередного газопровода, прямо скажем, не самое лучшее.

С другой стороны, раньше или позже, но мировая экономика начнет расти, а с нею повысится и объем потребления углеводородов. Предварительно называются сроки в 2-3 года низких цен на нефть и газ, возможно, они скорректируются в ту или иную сторону из-за новых «черных лебедей», на которые оказался столь богат високосный 2020 год. Для современной России, плотно подсаженной на нефтегазовую иглу, борьба за рынки сбыта сырья – это вопрос банального выживания. Да и про международный престиж приходится помнить: если бросить сейчас недостроенный трубопровод, то это означает дополнительные имиджевые потери.

В общем, «Газпром» будет пытаться достраивать «Северный поток-2» своими силами. Однако это решение запустит целую цепочку событий. США и их союзники не пытались противодействовать перемещениям «Академика Черского», поскольку тот предпочел не идти через Суэцкий канал и Гибралтар, где велико влияние англосаксов, а судно сопровождали военные корабли ВМС РФ. Но теперь, когда судно окажется на месте прибытия, скорее всего начнутся активные действия со стороны американцев. Есть несколько вариантов.

Во-первых, Вашингтон своим влиянием может запретить страховать судно-трубоукладчик. Российские компании, кто не устрашится западных санкций, смогут со своей стороны дать ему страховку. Не исключено, что военные корабли США попытаются заблокировать работу «Черского», нарушающего санкционный режим, в датских водах. Понятно, что Балтийский флот РФ стоять в стороне не будет, поэтому возникает риск прямого конфликта. Сегодня силовое столкновение с Россией Белому дому ни к чему, поэтому данный сценарий наименее вероятный.

Во-вторых, США в состоянии ударить не по судну-трубоукладчику, а по всему проекту в целом, и сделать это не военным путем, а политико-экономическими методами. Вашингтон может расширить санкции в отношении «Газпрома» и всех его трубопроводов, потребовав от европейских потребителей отказаться от покупки российского газа. Это тоже очень жесткий вариант, хотя более реалистичный, чем морские сражения на Балтике. По сути, речь будет идти об ультиматуме Трампа с требованием разорвать все связи Европы с Россией. Учитывая, в каком состоянии сегодня находится ЕС, единодушия и полного послушания добиться не получится. Готов ли Белый дом пойти сейчас на такое обострение с плохо прогнозируемыми последствиями?

В-третьих, все более реалистичным начинает представляться сценарий с «мягким захватом» российских трубопроводов в Европе, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Доля «Газпрома» в «Северном потоке-2» составляет 50%. США и их союзники заявляют, что Кремль использует свое влияние для оказания политического и экономического давления на Европу. И тут очень вовремя подоспело решение Стокгольмского арбитража в пользу Польши на сумму в почти 1,5 миллиарда долларов по иску в отношении российского монополиста. Варшава требует ареста активов госкорпорации, среди которых указаны «Северный поток-1» и Северный поток-2». Предмет интереса поляков понятен.

Можно предположить, что в дальнейшем в ходе переговоров между США, Польшей, Германией и Россией будет выработан некий консенсус, по которому претензии Варшавы будут удовлетворены за счет части доли «Газпрома», а та серьезно «размоется». Тогда «Северный поток-2» превратится из российско-германского проекта в международный, что позволит США оказывать влияние на его работу через союзную Польшу.

Возможны и иные варианты, вскоре мы узнаем, насколько верными оказались наши оценки и гипотезы.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 мая 2020 11:36
    -3
    • 2
    • 5
    С прибытием «Академика Черского» на Балтику начнется самое интересное.

    Ох и начнется. Если уж просто плывет - статьи почти ежедневно... То как доплывет - тут то и сойдутся Газпромы, Польши, Норвегии, Германии и прочие в клинче...
    А зная наш Газпром, точно без суперимпровизаций не обойдется....
  2. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 1 мая 2020 12:14
    0
    • 4
    • 4
    Первый вопрос, а нужно ли вообще теперь достраивать трубопровод, зависший на стадии готовности 93% из-за американских санкций? Ответ будет не вполне однозначным.

    После прочтения подумал, а стоит читать дальше? Ответ однозначный. Не стоит. no
    1. cmonman Онлайн
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 1 мая 2020 15:59
      +3
      • 4
      • 1
      ...а стоит читать дальше? Ответ однозначный. Не стоит.

      Я с вами совершенно согласен! Более того, наметилась тенденция, когда юрист по разводам занимается журналистикой и разрабатывает “нефтяную тему”, и когда журналист занимается развитием космоса страны. И там, и там результат, мягко говоря, не очень, но в первом случае хоть бабки страны сохранены. drinks
  3. alessio Офлайн
    alessio (Олег Тарасенко) 1 мая 2020 16:53
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Прочел абзац и решил, что дальше не стоит....
    1. 123 Офлайн
      123 (123) 2 мая 2020 06:13
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Вы правы, без ударений сложно точно выразить мысль. smile
  4. kriten Офлайн
    kriten (Владимир) 1 мая 2020 17:09
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Самый вероятный сценарий показан: капитуляция России из-за плохо просчитанных рисков. Но убытки - не личные, из бюджета, а потому наплевать.
  5. 69П Офлайн
    69П 1 мая 2020 17:54
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Цитата: cmonman
    и когда журналист занимается развитием космоса страны.

    И тем более, когда беглый сионист, бросив внуков, занимается проблемами России, это, по крайней мере странно, если не сказать - навязчиво.
    1. cmonman Онлайн
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 1 мая 2020 18:27
      -2
      • 1
      • 3
      ...занимается проблемами России.

      Я не занимаюсь проблемами России, я их комментирую. А если бы занимался, то проблем бы не было...
  6. nikolaj1703 Офлайн
    nikolaj1703 (Николай) 1 мая 2020 21:48
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Труба без газа - "труба"!
  7. Комментарий был удален.