The battle for the Arctic: why the Northern Fleet was given the status of a military district


Starting January 1 of next year, a new military district, the fifth in a row, will appear in Russia. After much deliberation, a decree on this was signed by President Putin. The most interesting thing is that our Northern Fleet received the status of a separate military administrative unit. What can this indicate?


The Red Banner Northern Fleet is the most powerful and youngest in the Russian Navy. It is based on nuclear submarines, surface missile and anti-submarine ships, missile and anti-submarine aircraft. The flagship of the CSF is the unique nuclear missile cruiser Peter the Great. The second ship of the same Orlan series, the Admiral Nakhimov cruiser, is under repair and is due to enter service in 2022. The priority task of the Northern Fleet is to protect Russia from the Arctic.

This decision of the Kremlin is in many ways forced, eliminating the absurdity of previous experiments on military development, in which all the fleets were included in the military districts and subordinated to the "land". So, in fact, the Northern and Pacific Fleets are commanded by generals with the specialty of “tanker”. The Northern Fleet, in particular, was subordinated to the Western Military District. Not only did these innovations offend the admirals, the very effectiveness of the practical use of marine components by the “infantry” raises questions. By the way, the commander of the district does not have a deputy for the Navy, and the commander of the fleet has specialists in the Coastal Forces, missile defense, and aviation.

In general, the experiment with the re-subordination was very ambiguous, so its partial revision is welcome. It is probably worth asking the question in the Pacific and other fleets, but in each case, the decision should be individual. Why is there no doubt about the advisability of withdrawing the KSF to a separate district?

Keep in mind that the Arctic is increasingly turning into a new arena of confrontation between Russia and NATO. First, the United States passes through the Far North the optimal flight path of intercontinental ballistic missiles, which requires a radical strengthening of the domestic air defense / missile defense system. Secondly, the NATO fleet seeks to turn the Northern Sea Route, the shortest waterway connecting Europe and Asia, into its next “backyard”. More recently, American and British warships defiantly visited the Barents Sea, the gate to the Arctic, about which we detail told earlier.

The Northern Fleet is not only surface ships and submarines, aviation and air defense, it also includes quite impressive Coastal troops: motorized rifle and missile brigades, marines, special forces to combat sabotage groups, engineering units, communications and electronic warfare units, and material technical supply and security. This is a serious force that can cover the Far North, which should be able to quickly respond to changing conditions, reporting directly to the General Staff of the Navy and the General Staff without intermediaries, “tankers” with all due respect.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 8 June 2020 20: 40
    -5
    Battle for the Arctic: why the Northern Fleet was given the status of a military district

    Could you please, specifically, without an excursion into history? The points. The first one. The second one. Specifically, please. And without a lot of letters. hi
    1. General Black Offline General Black
      General Black (Gennady) 8 June 2020 21: 50
      +3
      Why don’t you understand? The points! First, second ... Specifically, please. And then, do you know how many letters?
  2. It is necessary to rename the Northern Fleet into the Polar Fleet, and with it so that there are a dozen land divisions!
  3. Netyn Offline Netyn
    Netyn (Netyn) 13 June 2020 01: 14
    +1
    It seems that the author has a serious psychological trauma caused by tankers at a young age.

Битва за Арктику: зачем Северному флоту дали статус военного округа


С 1 января следующего года в России появится новый военный округ, пятый по счету. Указ об этом после долгих размышлений подписал президент Путин. Самое интересное, что статус отдельной военно-административной единицы получил наш Северный флот. О чем же это может свидетельствовать?


Краснознаменный Северный флот – самый мощный и молодой в составе ВМС РФ. Его основу составляют атомные субмарины, надводные ракетные и противолодочные корабли, ракетоносная и противолодочная авиация. Флагманом КСФ является уникальный атомный ракетный крейсер «Петр Великий». Второй корабль той же серии «Орлан», крейсер «Адмирал Нахимов» находится на ремонте и должен войти в строй в 2022 году. Приоритетная задача Северного флота – защита России с арктического направления.

Данное решение Кремля является во многом вынужденным, устраняющим несуразицу предыдущих экспериментов по военному строительству, в рамках которых все флоты были включены в состав военных округов и подчинены «сухопутным». Так, по факту, Северным и Тихоокеанским флотами у нас командуют генералы, имеющие специальность «танкист». Северный флот, в частности, оказался в подчинении Западного военного округа. Мало того, что эти нововведения обидели адмиралов, сама эффективность практического использования морской компоненты «пехотой» вызывает вопросы. К слову, у командующего округом не предусмотрено заместителя по ВМФ, а у командующего флотом есть в подчинении специалисты и по Береговым войскам, и по ПРО, и по авиации.

В общем, эксперимент с переподчинением был весьма неоднозначным, поэтому его частичный пересмотр стоит приветствовать. Вероятно, стоит поставить вопрос и по Тихоокеанскому, и по иным флотам, но в каждом случае решение должно быть индивидуальным. Почему же нет никаких сомнений в целесообразности вывода КСФ в отдельный округ?

Следует учитывать, что Арктика все быстрее превращается в новую арену противостояния России и НАТО. Во-первых, через Крайний Север проходит оптимальная траектория полета межконтинентальных баллистических ракет со стороны США, что требует радикального усиления отечественной системы ПВО/ПРО. Во-вторых, флот НАТО стремится превратить Северный морской путь, кратчайшую водную артерию, соединяющую Европу и Азию, в свой очередной «задний двор». Совсем недавно американские и британские боевые корабли демонстративно наведались в Баренцево море, ворота в Арктику, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее.

Северный флот – это не только надводные корабли и субмарины, авиация и ПВО, в его составе также имеются достаточно внушительные Береговые войска: мотострелковые и ракетные бригады, морская пехота, спецподразделения по борьбе с диверсионными группами, инженерные части, подразделения связи и РЭБ, материально-технического снабжения и охраны. Это серьезная сила, способная прикрыть Крайний Север, которая должна иметь возможность оперативно реагировать на меняющуюся обстановку, подчиняясь напрямую Главному штабу ВМС и Генштабы без посредников-«танкистов» при всем к ним уважении.
Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Наблюдатель2014 8 июня 2020 20:40
    -5
    • 0
    • 5
    Битва за Арктику: зачем Северному флоту дали статус военного округа

    Можно конкретно, пожалуйста, без экскурсии в историю? По пунктам. Первое. Второе. Конкретно, пожалуйста. И без много букв. hi
    1. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 8 июня 2020 21:50
      +3
      • 3
      • 0
      А что тебе не понятно? По пунктам! Первое, второе... Конкретно, пожалуйста. И потом, в много букв не умеешь?
  2. Надо Северный флот переименовать в Полярный флот, и при нем чтобы десяток дивизий сухопутных было!
  3. Netyn Онлайн
    Netyn (Netyn) 13 июня 2020 01:14
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Похоже, что у автора серьезная психологическая травма, нанесенная танкистами в юном возрасте.