“The whole world knows how we are at war”: Ethiopian army threatens Egypt because of the dam


Ethiopia's deputy chief of military, Major General Birhanu Jula Gelalcha, issued a warning to Egypt. It dealt with a dispute between two African countries about a dam being erected in his country, writes Al-Monitor.


The Ethiopian military leader said his country was ready for war, despite the resumption of negotiations. In his opinion, Cairo should be well aware of the military capabilities of Addis Ababa. Egypt in order to avoid war should stop hindering Ethiopia in completing the Renaissance hydroelectric power station and filling the reservoir, which should begin in July 2020.

The Egyptians and the rest of the world know all too well how we fight

- said the general on June 12, 2020, apparently forgetting that in 1998-2000 the Ethiopian army was unable to defeat little Eritrea in the border conflict, as a result of which Ethiopia was left without access to the ocean.

Addis Ababa began building a dam on the Blue Nile River (the right tributary of the Nile) in 2011. This was due to an acute shortage of electricity in the 100 millionth country. The dam is located near the border with Sudan, on the territory of which the Blue Nile connects with the White Nile and flows further to Egypt.

In Cairo, they fear that blocking the Blue Nile Dam and starting filling up a huge reservoir, Ethiopia will deprive the Egyptians of a vital resource - water. Egyptian officials believe that unlimited and uncontrolled filling of the reservoir could jeopardize the security of their country. Therefore, they intend to prevent this.

Ранее сообщалосьthat tripartite negotiations over the dam between Ethiopia, Egypt and Sudan failed.
  • Photos used: Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam / Facebook official page
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 13 June 2020 20: 17
    0
    Yes, yes, yes ... Everyone knows how you fight. And everyone knows how Egypt is fighting ... It will be an epic battle.

«Весь мир знает, как мы воюем»: эфиопская армия грозит Египту из-за плотины


Заместитель начальника Вооруженных сил Эфиопии генерал-майор Бирхану Джула Гелалча сделал предупреждение Египту. Оно касалось спора между двумя африканскими странами о плотине, возведение которой ведется в его стране, пишет издание Al-Monitor.


Эфиопский военачальник заявил, что его страна готова к войне, несмотря на возобновление переговоров. По его мнению, Каир должен быть хорошо осведомлен о военных возможностях Аддис-Абебы. Египет во избежание войны должен прекратить препятствовать Эфиопии в достройке ГЭС «Возрождение» и заполнении водохранилища, которое должно начаться в июле 2020 года.

Египтяне и остальной мир слишком хорошо знают, как мы воюем

– сказал генерал 12 июня 2020 года, видимо забыв, что в 1998-2000 годах эфиопская армия так и не смогла одолеть маленькую Эритрею в пограничном конфликте, в результате чего Эфиопия так и осталась без выхода к океану.

Аддис-Абеба начала строить плотину на реке Голубой Нил (правом притоке Нила) в 2011 году. Обуславливалось это острой нехваткой электроэнергии в 100-миллионной стране. Плотина расположена возле границы с Суданом, на территории которого Голубой Нил соединяется с Белым Нилом и течет далее в Египет.

В Каире опасаются, что перегородив плотиной Голубой Нил и начав заполнение огромного водохранилища, Эфиопия лишит египтян жизненно важного ресурса – воды. Египетские чиновники считают, что неограниченное и неконтролируемое заполнение водохранилища может поставить под угрозу безопасность их страны. Поэтому они намерены не допустить этого.

Ранее сообщалось, что трехсторонние переговоры по поводу плотины между Эфиопией, Египтом и Суданом провалились.
Использованы фотографии: Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam/Facebook official page
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 13 июня 2020 20:17
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Да, да, да... Все знают, как вы воюете. И все знают, как воюет Египет... Это будет эпическая битва.