Cosmodrome “Sea Launch” turns into a “suitcase without a handle”


It seems that the once promising Sea Launch project will not be able to find application. The deal between the Rosatom subsidiary and the owner of the floating S7 spaceport, which was vigorously discussed in the press last week, is unlikely to take place.


According to the agency RIA News, now they don’t see the point in acquiring the facility in the state corporation, since Rosatom currently not only does not feel the need for space launches, but also does not have competencies to attract third-party customers.

Recall that the floating complex, consisting of the Odyssey launch platform and the Sea Launch assembly and command ship, was relocated from the port of Long Beach (USA) to Vladivostok this spring. “Sea Launch” was planned to be reconstructed at the Slavic Shipyard and adapted to launch modifications of the promising Soyuz-5 carrier.

However, the reality is that S7 does not currently have the funds to repair a floating spaceport and build the necessary coastal infrastructure. As a result, the acquisition, which seemed at first glance profitable, turned into the notorious “suitcase without a handle”.

The very “saving straw” for Sea Launch was supposed to be the deal announced last week. But the latter is now unlikely to take place. And here involuntarily recall words Head of the Space Institute policy Ivan Moiseyev about "cutting into scrap metal."
  • Photos used: Daniel Ramirez / wikimedia.org
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. kig Offline kig
    kig 16 June 2020 15: 44
    +4
    The wisdom of advanced managers is simply amazing. Buy a complex that has been unemployed for ten years. From which all foreign equipment was removed before the sale. Which is planned to bring to working condition at the plant in Slavyanka - have they even seen this plant? There on the roofs of trees grew!
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 16 June 2020 18: 15
      +2
      The complex is redeveloped, there are many opportunities - for hydrocarbons, exploration, along the Northern Sea Route, etc. ... The main thing is the purchase price and application. But our successful managers, such as Rogozin, only know how to "cut and promise" ...
  2. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 16 June 2020 22: 21
    -1
    And what, someone suggested something else?
  3. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 16 June 2020 22: 44
    -2
    And why there aren’t some experts in the comments. There was so much joyful squealing after the purchase. Clear. Your business is veal - screwed up and stand silently!

Космодром «Морской старт» превращается в «чемодан без ручки»


Похоже, что некогда перспективному проекту «Морской старт» так и не смогут найти применения. Сделка между дочерней компанией «Росатома» и собственником плавучего космодрома S7, которую бурно обсуждали в прессе на прошлой неделе, скорее всего не состоится.


Как сообщает агентство РИА Новости, в госкорпорации сейчас не видят смысла в приобретении объекта, так как «Росатом» на данный момент не только не испытывает потребности в космических пусках, но и не имеет компетенций к привлечению сторонних заказчиков.

Напомним, что плавучий комплекс, состоящий из пусковой платформы Odyssey и сборочно-командного судна Sea Launch, весной этого года был перебазирован из порта Лонг-Бич (США) во Владивосток. «Морской старт» планировалось реконструировать на Славянском судостроительном заводе и адаптировать под пуски модификации перспективного носителя «Союз-5».

Однако реальность такова, что у компании S7 на данный момент нет средств на ремонт плавучего космодрома и строительство необходимой береговой инфраструктуры. В итоге казавшееся на первый взгляд выгодным приобретение превратилось в пресловутый «чемодан без ручки».

Той самой «спасительной соломинкой» для «Морского старта» должна была стать анонсированная на прошлой неделе сделка. Но последняя теперь вряд ли состоится. И здесь невольно вспоминаются слова руководителя Института космической политики Ивана Моисеева о «распиле на металлолом».
Использованы фотографии: Daniel Ramirez/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. kig Офлайн
    kig 16 июня 2020 15:44
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Мудрость подвинутых менеджеров просто поражает. Купить комплекс, который десять лет стоял без работы. С которого перед продажей сняли все иностранное оборудование. Который планируется привести в рабочее состояние на заводе в Славянке - они хоть видели этот завод? Там на крышах деревья выросли!
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 16 июня 2020 18:15
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Комплекс перепрофилировать, возможностей много,- под углеводороды, изыскательские, по Севморпути и пр... Главное, цена покупки и применение. Но наши удачные менеджеры, типа Рогозина, только "пилить и обещать" умеют...
  2. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 16 июня 2020 22:21
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    А что, кто-то предполагал что-то другое?
  3. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 16 июня 2020 22:44
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    А почему в комментариях нет некоторых экспертов. Было столько радостного повизгивания после покупки. Понятно. Ваше дело телячье - облажались и стойте молча!