Why Gazprom is emptying its storage facilities in Europe


Russian gas giant Gazprom continues to actively empty its underground gas storage facilities from raw materials. Since the beginning of the 2020/2021 heating season, gas has already been taken twice as much as in the previous year, and it is almost equal to the record 2016/2017. European traders are also doing their utmost to free UGS facilities from "blue fuel" until the end of the season in order to start filling them in summer.


According to the GIE, more than 42 billion cubic meters of gas have been withdrawn from European UGS facilities since the beginning of this heating season. m. of gas. (a year earlier at this time - 24,2 billion cubic meters of gas). On January 25, 2021, the active (recoverable) gas volume at the level of 58,7 billion cubic meters was recorded in these UGS facilities. m. At the same time, by January 25, 2017, about 48 billion cubic meters were withdrawn. cubic meters of gas, and reserves dropped to 47 billion cubic meters. m. of gas.

Aleksey Grivach, Deputy Director of the National Energy Security Fund, believes that the 2019/2020 heating season was unique. Many expected that there would be a serious interruption in transit through the Ukrainian territory and filled the UGS to the maximum. At the same time, the winter was warm. As for this season, the winter turned out to be cold and a huge amount of LNG "migrated" to Asia, as prices there are much higher than in Europe. Therefore, there are objective reasons for the selection of raw materials from UGS facilities.

Before this season, Gazprom pumped an additional 9 billion cubic meters into European UGS facilities. meters of gas, a third of which he took in January 2021. Low reserves in UGS facilities should induce the Europeans to properly stock up on raw materials, but it is not a fact that Russian gas exports will grow.

According to our estimates, volumes will be at the level of last year, give or take

- added Grivach in an interview EADaily.

Note that in 2019 Gazprom exported 191 billion cubic meters to Europe, including Turkey. m. of gas. In 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, exports decreased and amounted to about 175 billion cubic meters. m. (33% of the market).

Gazprom's actions this season are quite explainable, although they differ from past years. The company does not want to lose income, because prices in Europe are currently at their peak. In addition, the rational use of capacities by the Russians is pushing the Europeans to the earliest possible commissioning of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline.
  • Photos used: https://www.pxfuel.com/
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 27 January 2021 18: 21
    +1
    empties its vaults in Europe

    Love the headlines on Kore!
  2. oderih Offline oderih
    oderih (Alex) 27 January 2021 18: 25
    +3
    All the gas was sent to Asia. It is there for 1000 baksikov. From the euro storage they began to sell at the peak of prices in winter. What is not clear here. It’s obvious that the guys can count money.
  3. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 27 January 2021 18: 29
    +5
    Gazprom sells gas there and not collects.
  4. boriz Online boriz
    boriz (boriz) 27 January 2021 19: 14
    +1
    Everything is correct. And LNG from the US will soon be gone. And for whom were the terminals built? Under LNG from Yamal and Ust Luga. Agent Bidon leads Gazprom to victory!
    1. boriz Online boriz
      boriz (boriz) 27 January 2021 19: 31
      0
      More precisely, Gazprom and Novatek.
  5. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 27 January 2021 21: 02
    -5
    Before this season, Gazprom pumped an additional 9 billion cubic meters into European UGS facilities. meters of gas, a third of which he took in January 2021.

    - Should it be understood that the "European UGS facilities" are located in Western Europe ??? - If so; what

    Before this season, Gazprom pumped an additional 9 billion cubic meters into European UGS facilities. m. of gas.

    ..- this is still understandable ... - But that,

    "a third of which he took in January 2021"

    ... - this is completely incomprehensible ... - How did Gazprom pumped the gas that had already been pumped out of the European UGS facilities and how did it "take it back" ??? - In a gas pipe that ... - there is a "two-line movement" ... - there and back ??? - Or Gazprom has assembled a huge number of gas carriers; arranged for them expensive "trips" to Europe; so that these gas carriers roll back and forth and carry gas from Europe to Russia ... - So, or what ???
    - No, judging by the level of development of the leaders of Gazprom ... - Gazprom is not yet so "capable" ... - There is nothing surprising in such "unique" Gazprom "commercial operations" ... - But who will pay off the colossal losses from everything this ... - the consequences of such "commercial transactions" ???

    Gazprom's actions this season are quite understandable, although they differ from previous years. The company does not want to lose income, because prices in Europe are currently at their peak.

    - And how are they "explainable" ??? - The demand for gas is growing, but this gas is simply taken out from the buyer ... - and they spend money on gas export ... - And the gas price has already been approved in the supply agreement ... - And where is the "income"? ??

    As for this season, the winter turned out to be cold and a huge amount of LNG "migrated" to Asia, as prices there are much higher than in Europe. Therefore, there are objective reasons for the selection of raw materials from UGS facilities.

    - And what has to do with LNG and gas from UGS facilities ... these are two big differences ...
    - And what is it ... specifically Asia

    A huge amount of LNG "migrated"

    - and on what "migrated" ??? - Russia that ... - has already created an LNG delivery network on LNG carriers ??? - Is their fleet already built ???
    - Poor fellow tanker "Nikolay Evgenov", which was damaged ... - has not yet sailed to China ... - And the Cypriot "Christophe de Margerie" has not arrived either ... - the same and the second Greek tanker " Nikolay Zubov "...
    - Personally, I have already written more than once that NOVATEK ... is still that swindler ... - Gazprom is not suitable for him in this matter ...
    - And all of today's absurd actions of Gazprom ... are a clear "merit" of NOVATEK ...
    - Yes ... - and if we mention the SP-2; then ... then ... then it is NOVATEK that does not need this SP-2 at all ... - This is its competitor; very weak, but still a competitor ... - Well, now ... - no comment ...
    1. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 27 January 2021 22: 02
      +1
      What is not clear to you. When pumping in at a minimum price (this is summer), the gas was pumped in. I waited until the peak of the price (and this is winter) and began to drop in Europe.
    2. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 27 January 2021 22: 09
      -1
      Gazprom has LNG on Sakhalin. Yes, and from Yamal, tankers from Novatek slowly began to sail in winter. Two LNG tankers arrived safely in January this year. By the way. Winter pilotages began not this year, but last. True, under icebreaker escort of nuclear-powered ships. Profitable and so they ate fell.
    3. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 27 January 2021 22: 23
      -2
      Now a year soon, 16 LNG tankers are already operating in the Arctic. The company is operating Novatek. All ice class. And ARC7 is the maximum that is. Time to know. And the next batch of 15 LNG carriers is already an order from the Zvezda shipyard. This is the Yamal LNG project. -2.we are sitting in opera with their explosive gas.
    4. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 27 January 2021 22: 29
      +2
      Nikolay Evgenov got there. And you know, on time and without any penalties. The breakdown was in the work programs of the main engine, Ichego. Any novelty requires grinding. Well, Russia, as always, stands still. Flint!
  6. Kedrovich Offline Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 28 January 2021 05: 41
    +4
    You read the news text and feel that Gazprom has decided to mock the EU a little. So that they agree to finish building SP2 faster. Otherwise, the storage facilities are being emptied, but little gas from the Russian Federation goes through the existing pipe.
    1. Vladest Offline Vladest
      Vladest (Vladimir) 28 January 2021 12: 51
      -4
      Quote: Kedrovich
      You read the news text and feel that Gazprom has decided to mock the EU a little.

      And besides, it becomes clear that gas for the Russian Federation is still a political thing, like North. stream 2 then.
      And Merkel says that this is the economy.
      Is she a stupid woman?
      1. Cherry Offline Cherry
        Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 28 January 2021 15: 17
        +3
        they said that gas was a political thing. They said, they said ... they said, they said. Well, here you are, a politician! As in a joke about a chicken: "How much is your rabbit?" - "What rabbit?!? This is a chicken!" and so three times. And then: "How much is your chicken?" - "What chicken?!? It's a rabbit!"
  7. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 28 January 2021 12: 47
    -3
    The article is somehow one-sided. Why is GAZ Russia? You can get tired of this stupid propaganda. There are other suppliers of this gas.
    Example: Qatar has decided to increase its gas production by more than 30% in the coming years. 5th in the ranking country.
    1. Cherry Offline Cherry
      Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 28 January 2021 15: 18
      +3
      Yes, we are somehow indifferent to the income from the sale of gas in other countries. Gazprom is our property.)
      1. Vladest Offline Vladest
        Vladest (Vladimir) 28 January 2021 19: 35
        -4
        Quote: Cherry
        Yes, we are somehow indifferent to the income from the sale of gas in other countries. Gazprom is our property.)

        But revenues at Gazprom are also falling.
        Gazprom received a net loss of 592,15 billion rubles for the nine months of this year under RAS (Russian reporting standard) against 434,94 billion rubles of profit for the same period last year. TASS writes about this with reference to the company's materials.
        Be proud !!

Зачем «Газпром» опустошает свои хранилища в Европе


Российский газовый гигант «Газпром» продолжает активно опустошать свои подземные хранилища газа от сырья. С начала отопительного сезона 2020/2021 отобрано газа уже в два раза больше, чем годом ранее, и он почти сравнялся с рекордным 2016/2017. Европейские трейдеры также во всю стараются освободить ПХГ от «голубого топлива» до конца сезона, чтобы летом начать их заполнение.


Согласно данным ассоциации GIE, с начала этого отопительного сезона из европейских ПХГ отобрали более 42 млрд куб. м. газа. (годом ранее в это время – 24,2 млрд куб. м. газа). 25 января 2021 года в указанных ПХГ зафиксирован активный (извлекаемый) объем газа на уровне 58,7 млрд куб. м. При этом к 25 января 2017 года было отобрано около 48 млрд куб. м. газа, а запасы сократились до 47 млрд. куб. м. газа.

Заместитель директора Фонда национальной энергетической безопасности Алексей Гривач считает, что отопительный сезон 2019/2020 был уникальным. Многие ожидали, что произойдет серьезный сбой транзита через украинскую территорию и максимально заполнили ПХГ. При этом зима выдалась теплая. Что касается этого сезона, то зима оказалась холодной и огромное количество СПГ «перекочевало» в Азию, так как там цены гораздо выше, чем в Европе. Поэтому у отбора сырья из ПХГ есть объективные причины.

«Газпром» перед этим сезоном закачал в европейские ПХГ дополнительно 9 млрд. куб. м. газа, треть из которых он отобрал в январе 2021 года. Низкие запасы в ПХГ должны побудить европейцев хорошенько затариться сырьем, но не факт, что экспорт российского газа вырастет.

По нашим оценкам, объемы будут на уровне прошлого года, плюс-минус

– добавил Гривач в интервью EADaily.

Заметим, что в 2019 году «Газпром» экспортировал в Европу, включая Турцию, 191 млрд куб. м. газа. В 2020 года из-за пандемии COVID-19 экспорт снизился и составил порядка 175 млрд куб. м. (33% рынка).

Действия «Газпрома» в этом сезоне вполне объяснимы, хоть они и отличаются от прошлых лет. Компания не хочет терять доход, ведь цены в Европе сейчас на пике. Кроме того, рациональное использование мощностей россиянами подталкивает европейцев к скорейшему вводу в эксплуатацию газопровода «Северный поток-2».
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.pxfuel.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 27 января 2021 18:21
    +1
    опустошает свои хранилища в Европе

    Люблю заголовки на Коре!
  2. oderih Офлайн oderih
    oderih (Алекс) 27 января 2021 18:25
    +3
    Весь газ погнали в Азию.Он там по 1000 баксиков.Из еврохранилищь стали продавать в пик цены зимой.Что тут не понятно.Видно что пацаны деньги считать умеют.
  3. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 27 января 2021 18:29
    +5
    Газпром там газ продает а не колекционирует.
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 27 января 2021 19:14
    +1
    Всё правильно. А СПГ из США скоро совсем не будет. И под кого строили терминалы? Под СПГ из Ямала и Усть Луги. Агент Бидон ведёт Газпром к победе!
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 27 января 2021 19:31
      0
      Точнее, Газпром и Новатэк.
  5. gorenina91 Онлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 27 января 2021 21:02
    -5
    «Газпром» перед этим сезоном закачал в европейские ПХГ дополнительно 9 млрд. куб. м. газа, треть из которых он отобрал в январе 2021 года.

    - Следует ли понимать то , что "европейские ПХГ" находятся на территории Зап Европы ??? - Если это именно так ; то что

    Газпром перед этим сезоном закачал в европейские ПХГ дополнительно 9 млрд. куб. м. газа .

    ..- это ещё понятно... - А вот то ,

    "треть из которых он отобрал в январе 2021 года"

    ... - вот это совсем непонятно... - Как Газпром выкачал из европейских ПХГ закаченный уже газ и как он его "забрал обратно" ??? - В газовой трубе что ... - существует "двух рядное движение" ... - туда и обратно ??? - Или Газпром собрал огромное кол-во газовозов ; организовал им дорогущие "путёвки" в Европу ; чтобы эти газовозы катались туда-сюда и возили бы из Европы газ в Россию... - Так , что ли ???
    - Нет , судя по уровню развития руководителей Газпрома ... - Газпром ещё и не такое "способен"... - ничего удивительно в таких "уникальных" газпромовских "коммерческих операциях" нет... - Но кто будет погашать колоссальные убытки от всего этого ... - последствия таких "коммерческих операций" ???

    Действия «Газпрома» в этом сезоне вполне объяснимы, хоть они и отличаются от прошлых лет. Компания не хочет терять доход, ведь цены в Европе сейчас на пике.

    - И как же они "объяснимы" ??? - Потребность на газ растёт , а этот газ просто так вывозят от покупателя...- и расходуют средства на вывоз газа... - Да и цена на газ уже утверждена в договоре о поставках... - И где же "доход" ???

    Что касается этого сезона, то зима оказалась холодной и огромное количество СПГ «перекочевало» в Азию, так как там цены гораздо выше, чем в Европе. Поэтому у отбора сырья из ПХГ есть объективные причины.

    - А причём здесь СПГ и газ из ПХГ... - это две большие разницы...
    - И в какую это ...конкретно Азию

    «перекочевало» огромное количество СПГ

    - и на чём «перекочевало» ??? - Россия что ... - уже создала сеть доставки СПГ на танкерах-газовозах ??? - Их флот уже построен ???
    - Бедолага танкер «Николай Евгенов», получивший повреждения ... - пока ещё так и не доплыл до Китая... - Да и кипрский «Кристоф де Маржери» тоже ещё не прибыл... - то же самое и второй греческий танкер «Николай Зубов»...
    - Лично Я уже не раз писала о том , что НОВАТЭК ... - это ещё тот мошенник... - Газпром ему в этом деле и в подмётки не годится...
    - И все сегодняшние несуразные действия Газпрома ... - это явная "заслуга" НОВАТЭКа...
    - Да ... - и если уж упомянуть СП-2 ; то...то...то именно НОВАТЭКу этот СП-2 совсем не нужен... - Это его конкурент ; очень слабенький , но всё же - конкурент... - Ну , а тут уж ... - без комментариев...
    1. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 27 января 2021 22:02
      +1
      Что вам непонятно.При закачке при минимуме цены(а это лето) газ закачал.Подождал до пика цены(а это зима) начал сбрасывать в Европе.
    2. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 27 января 2021 22:09
      -1
      У Газпрома есть СПГ на Сахалине.Да и с Ямала потихоньку начали зимой кататься танкеры от Новатек.Вон в Январе этом дошли два танкера СПГ благополучно.Кстати.Зимние проводки начались не в этом году а в прошлом.Правда под ледокольной проводкой атомоходов. Выгодно и так ели пали.
    3. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 27 января 2021 22:23
      -2
      Сейчас год скоро как уже 16 танкеров СПГ работают в Арктике.Оперирует компания Новатэк.Все ледового класса.Причем ARC7-максимальный что есть.Пора бы знать.А следующюю партию из 15 шт газовозов -это уже заказ верьфи Звезда.Это уже проект Ямал СПГ-2.ы со своим подрывным газом в опе сидят.Вникаем
    4. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 27 января 2021 22:29
      +2
      Николай Евгенов дошел. И вы знаете-в срок и без всяких штрафных. Поломка была в программах работы главного дигателя, Ичего. Любое новье требует притирочки. Ну а Россия как всегда-стоит на месте. Кремень!
  6. Kedrovich Офлайн Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 28 января 2021 05:41
    +4
    Читаешь новостной текст и ощущения, что Газпром решил немного над ЕС поглумится. Чтобы те согласились быстрее СП2 достроить. А то уже хранилища опустошают, а по существующей трубе мало газа с РФ идет.
    1. Владест Офлайн Владест
      Владест (Владимир) 28 января 2021 12:51
      -4
      Цитата: Kedrovich
      Читаешь новостной текст и ощущения, что Газпром решил немного над ЕС поглумится.

      Да и к тому же , становится ясно что газ для РФ это все же политическая вещь, как и Сев. поток 2 тогда.
      А Меркель говорит, что это экономика.
      Получается она глупая женщина ?
      1. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
        Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 28 января 2021 15:17
        +3
        говорили,что политическая вещь газ.Говорили -говорили...говорили-говорили.ну и нате вам политику! Как в анекдоте про курицу:"Почем ваш кролик?"-"Какой кролик?!? Это курица!" и так три раза.А потом уже:"Почем ваша курица?"-"Какая курица?!? Это кролик!"
  7. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 28 января 2021 12:47
    -3
    Статья какая то однобокая. Ну почему ГАЗ это Россия ? От этой тупой пропаганды можно устать. Есть другие поставщики этого газа.
    Пример :Катар принял решение увеличить добычу газа более чем на 30% в ближайшие годы. 5я в рейтинге страна .
    1. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
      Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 28 января 2021 15:18
      +3
      Да нам как-то безразличны доходы от продажи газа в других странах.Газпром- наше достояние.)
      1. Владест Офлайн Владест
        Владест (Владимир) 28 января 2021 19:35
        -4
        Цитата: Cherry
        Да нам как-то безразличны доходы от продажи газа в других странах.Газпром- наше достояние.)

        Но доходы и в Газпроме падают.
        «Газпром» получил чистый убыток в 592,15 миллиарда рублей за девять месяцев этого года по РСБУ (российский стандарт отчетности) против 434,94 миллиарда рублей прибыли за аналогичный период прошлого года. Об этом пишет ТАСС со ссылкой на материалы компании.
        Гордитесь !!